Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2012, 11:37 AM   #1176
OCNewbie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 6,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barfo View Post
You can do both. I strip mine to gather materials for my big construction projects, but take a break exploring a cave system every time I find one.
That might work; maybe I'll give that approach a shot.
__________________
Q9550 @ 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P | 2 x 2GB DDR2
EVGA GTX 460 SSC+ @ Default | 180GB Intel 330 SSD - OS
1.5TB Hitachi 7K3000 | BFG ES-800 PSU | Asus VH236H LCD
OCNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 12:38 PM   #1177
diesbudt
Diamond Member
 
diesbudt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barfo View Post
You can do both. I strip mine to gather materials for my big construction projects, but take a break exploring a cave system every time I find one.

I do that too, I have found 2 caves underground just digging around in areas, and once I do I explore it as I gather materials from it,
diesbudt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 05:40 PM   #1178
OCNewbie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 6,941
Default

So there is one change to the new Minecraft, at least it exists in the current snapshots, anyway, that I do NOT like, and that is apparently even when in single player mode, you're still running a server. This has created single-player lag! UGH! So annoying to have delayed sounds, delayed block response to your pick actions, among other things. I'm annoyed enough with Diablo 3's single player lag, but now Minecraft? Nooooo!! I only play single player (at this point) so this is very disappointing to me.
__________________
Q9550 @ 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P | 2 x 2GB DDR2
EVGA GTX 460 SSC+ @ Default | 180GB Intel 330 SSD - OS
1.5TB Hitachi 7K3000 | BFG ES-800 PSU | Asus VH236H LCD
OCNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:01 PM   #1179
Barfo
Lifer
 
Barfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: in your mom
Posts: 27,176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OCNewbie View Post
So there is one change to the new Minecraft, at least it exists in the current snapshots, anyway, that I do NOT like, and that is apparently even when in single player mode, you're still running a server. This has created single-player lag! UGH! So annoying to have delayed sounds, delayed block response to your pick actions, among other things. I'm annoyed enough with Diablo 3's single player lag, but now Minecraft? Nooooo!! I only play single player (at this point) so this is very disappointing to me.
What? really? thanks for the info, I won't update until I research it more.
__________________
3570K | ASUS P8Z77-V |16 GB | Sapphire 7950 w/ boost | HAF 922| Seasonic 550W |Win7 x64

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/21/7yjuny7a.jpg
Barfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:05 PM   #1180
OCNewbie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 6,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barfo View Post
What? really? thanks for the info, I won't update until I research it more.
I did some research, and apparently it's been around since Snapshot 12w18a

Quote:
Separated server logic and client. Singleplayer is now a local server.
__________________
Q9550 @ 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P | 2 x 2GB DDR2
EVGA GTX 460 SSC+ @ Default | 180GB Intel 330 SSD - OS
1.5TB Hitachi 7K3000 | BFG ES-800 PSU | Asus VH236H LCD
OCNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:43 PM   #1181
Jodell88
Diamond Member
 
Jodell88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sweet T&T
Posts: 6,926
Default

Buildcraft + Forestry + Industrialcraft 2 + Red Power 2 + Mo Creatures + Isabella texture pack =
__________________
“Defend the weak, protect both young and old, never desert your friends. Give justice to all, be fearless in battle and always ready to defend the right." - The law of Badger Lords
Jodell88 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 07:23 PM   #1182
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OCNewbie View Post
I did some research, and apparently it's been around since Snapshot 12w18a
In the long run it makes more sense to do it that way. Now they can focus on just MP and improve the experience for everyone.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 07:32 PM   #1183
OCNewbie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 6,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViRGE View Post
In the long run it makes more sense to do it that way. Now they can focus on just MP and improve the experience for everyone.
Everyone including those who only wish to play single player?
__________________
Q9550 @ 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P | 2 x 2GB DDR2
EVGA GTX 460 SSC+ @ Default | 180GB Intel 330 SSD - OS
1.5TB Hitachi 7K3000 | BFG ES-800 PSU | Asus VH236H LCD
OCNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 08:10 AM   #1184
Magusigne
Golden Member
 
Magusigne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: QuasiSpace
Posts: 1,527
Default

Bump: Hosting minecraft server- PM for information if your interested in joining..don't want to invite too many people to jack stuff up!
__________________
Download Ur-Quan Master's Do yourself a favor and give it a try!
"Arilou can *slide*. Also Taalo. Many can *slide*, but Orz are better of course."
Magusigne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 02:46 PM   #1185
clamum
Lifer
 
clamum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 21,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViRGE View Post
In the long run it makes more sense to do it that way. Now they can focus on just MP and improve the experience for everyone.
Yeah from a developer standpoint it would seem to make much more sense. But I'm not privvy to their architecture and whatnot, just a .NET dev.

I should get into this game again and see what's changed, and try out some mods which I've not done before. Probably won't even recognize it (I think the last I played was 1.0.0? And that was only for a few days or something) now, haha.
__________________
\ Battlefield 4 Stats /\ Heat /
clamum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:02 AM   #1186
OCNewbie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 6,941
Default

Tons of cool things have been added to vanilla MC lately. If you haven't checked it out recently, you should. Check out the latest snapshot changes:

http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/...e-for-testing/

Note that the current snapshot is 13w01b (with many bug fixes), but the above link details all the newest additions.
__________________
Q9550 @ 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P | 2 x 2GB DDR2
EVGA GTX 460 SSC+ @ Default | 180GB Intel 330 SSD - OS
1.5TB Hitachi 7K3000 | BFG ES-800 PSU | Asus VH236H LCD
OCNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 05:10 AM   #1187
Jodell88
Diamond Member
 
Jodell88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sweet T&T
Posts: 6,926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OCNewbie View Post
Tons of cool things have been added to vanilla MC lately. If you haven't checked it out recently, you should. Check out the latest snapshot changes:

http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/...e-for-testing/

Note that the current snapshot is 13w01b (with many bug fixes), but the above link details all the newest additions.
Nothing new if you've been playing with tech mods for a while.
__________________
“Defend the weak, protect both young and old, never desert your friends. Give justice to all, be fearless in battle and always ready to defend the right." - The law of Badger Lords
Jodell88 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 04:05 PM   #1188
sourceninja
Diamond Member
 
sourceninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jodell88 View Post
Buildcraft + Forestry + Industrialcraft 2 + Red Power 2 + Mo Creatures + Isabella texture pack =
I was thinking of updating my server to run tekkit lite or FTB. Wasn't really sure which was best.
sourceninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 05:07 PM   #1189
Jodell88
Diamond Member
 
Jodell88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sweet T&T
Posts: 6,926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sourceninja View Post
I was thinking of updating my server to run tekkit lite or FTB. Wasn't really sure which was best.
Use FTB. The mod authors don't really like tekkit.
__________________
“Defend the weak, protect both young and old, never desert your friends. Give justice to all, be fearless in battle and always ready to defend the right." - The law of Badger Lords
Jodell88 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 08:59 PM   #1190
sourceninja
Diamond Member
 
sourceninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jodell88 View Post
Use FTB. The mod authors don't really like tekkit.
I'm not going to base my decision on what I run for a private server on what a mod dev likes. I just want a solid experience for my friends. If there are technical reasons or better mod choices in FTB I'll use it, but honestly right now I'm leaning to tekkit lite.
sourceninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:03 PM   #1191
DigDog
Platinum Member
 
DigDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Scotland The Brave
Posts: 2,733
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jodell88 View Post
Buildcraft + Forestry + Industrialcraft 2 + Red Power 2 + Mo Creatures + Isabella texture pack =
+1

gimme dat quantum armor
__________________
I drank the NVidia kool-aid, and now i am happy. ASIC 77.9% on Gigabyte 770 OC
DigDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:20 AM   #1192
power_hour
Senior Member
 
power_hour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: nowhere important
Posts: 789
Default

We need an official *cough* Anand Minecraft server *cough*
power_hour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 05:40 AM   #1193
rockyct
Diamond Member
 
rockyct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 6,480
Default

I'm kind of disappointed that these mods can't run Bukkit anymore. I'm sure there will be a lot of plugin replacements for the new system but still, it's not going to be as good as bukkit. On the plus side, it does look like they are updating quicker to the latest mc version.
rockyct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 11:58 AM   #1194
mizzou
Diamond Member
 
mizzou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,829
Default

Ugh, i just can't get into it anymore. I think if I had a server of mature people it could be fun to just build some crazy things
mizzou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 12:01 PM   #1195
sourceninja
Diamond Member
 
sourceninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,966
Default

We are leaning to FTB now after a lot of testing, we want to go with as few mods as possible and FTB seems a little better put together with it's launcher.
sourceninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:12 PM   #1196
Wyndru
Diamond Member
 
Wyndru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 7,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyct View Post
I'm kind of disappointed that these mods can't run Bukkit anymore. I'm sure there will be a lot of plugin replacements for the new system but still, it's not going to be as good as bukkit. On the plus side, it does look like they are updating quicker to the latest mc version.
What new system or mod don't work with bukkit anymore? All of my servers are running bukkit with 1.4.7 without any issues, granted I'm only running essentials, borderguard, dynmap, remote toolkit and a few other minor plugins, but I haven't heard anyone complaining of issues with any of them.

--Oh nvm, I see the discussion was about tekkit and ftb. I don't have either of those running.

Last edited by Wyndru; 01-11-2013 at 11:14 PM.
Wyndru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:42 PM   #1197
rockyct
Diamond Member
 
rockyct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 6,480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sourceninja View Post
We are leaning to FTB now after a lot of testing, we want to go with as few mods as possible and FTB seems a little better put together with it's launcher.
It seems like even more of a massive mod compared to something like Tekkit Lite or the new Voltz.
rockyct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 11:13 PM   #1198
Jodell88
Diamond Member
 
Jodell88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sweet T&T
Posts: 6,926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyct View Post
It seems like even more of a massive mod compared to something like Tekkit Lite or the new Voltz.
Mods can be disabled with the click of a mouse.
__________________
“Defend the weak, protect both young and old, never desert your friends. Give justice to all, be fearless in battle and always ready to defend the right." - The law of Badger Lords
Jodell88 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:40 AM   #1199
sourceninja
Diamond Member
 
sourceninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,966
Default

We have actually decided to just build our own 'pack' for use on our server. There were mods we wanted not in FTB and mods we didn't want that FTB provided. Right now we are at about 17 mods.
sourceninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:39 PM   #1200
rockyct
Diamond Member
 
rockyct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 6,480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jodell88 View Post
Mods can be disabled with the click of a mouse.
Of course, but it's a bit silly to start with a giant mod pack and then only use a few of them. Unless, there's no other way to make a launcher you can link to for friends.

It's interesting though that Minecraft is moving towards small servers for groups of friends rather than large public servers. I guess this is mainly due to the removal of Bukkit from mods but Mojang itself seems to encourage small multiplayer setups with the Xbox and the sort of removal of a true SP Minecraft.
rockyct is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.