Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2013, 11:07 PM   #1
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,287
Default Windows 7 - Why does my CPU usage spike when my monitor goes to sleep?

This behavior has been bugging me for a while.

When I leave my computer alone for a few minutes and my monitor goes to sleep, some process starts consuming a bunch of CPU time. I can tell that my CPU is being used, because my CPU's temps rise and the CPU fan speed increases to compensate.

I've tried using perfmon to track down the process using the CPU usage, but Windows' performance logging is worthless and I wasn't able to find anything conclusive.

Does anybody have any ideas what's causing this behavior? This has happened across multiple machines, so I'm pretty sure this is something internal to Windows, and not something caused by 3rd party software. When my monitor goes to sleep, my hard drives start going nuts as well, so I'm guessing this might be either the search indexer doing its thing, a quick defragmenting process, or the Windows memory manager paging out to disk.
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 06:59 AM   #2
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Did you try running perfmon from another PC? It's most likely some scheduled task, I believe you can set a trigger for something to run when a PC sleeps/resumes.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 08:34 AM   #3
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,287
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothinman View Post
Did you try running perfmon from another PC? It's most likely some scheduled task, I believe you can set a trigger for something to run when a PC sleeps/resumes.
Perfmon shows that something is spiking. Unfortunately, that "something" is running within svchost, as are about half the processes on my PC. Since perfmon doesn't track the PID of a process (only the name), I have no way of knowing which svchost instance is misbehaving without interacting with the computer. Unfortunately, the instant I do, the behavior stops.

I also tried using Process Explorer, but for some reason, it doesn't graph the CPU usage of individual processes other than the System Idle Process.
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:40 AM   #4
paul878
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 802
Default

Indexing?
turn it off and see.
paul878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:03 AM   #5
Randum
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,438
Default

Did you ever get this fixed? Looks like I have a similar thing going on...
__________________
i7 3820 @4.6ghz
16GB Ram DDR3
Radeon R9 290
Asus P9X79 Pro
Randum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 01:33 PM   #6
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,638
Default

I prefer Sysinternals Process Explorer v15.3 since it specifically identifies each process PID and shows you information about which handles and DLLs processes have opened or loaded.
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.