Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 04:06 AM   #1
g1981c
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 123
Default ram upgrade question

hi i have this motherboard:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...pk=z77a%20gd65

and this ram ( 2 sticks, total of 8 gb )

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231445

and i want to add two more 8 gb crucial sticks for a total of 24gb ( for use with Vegas Pro 11 editing HD videos ).

now crucial says this one is compatible:

http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartsp...DC29C3A5CA7304

but i want to do a light overclock on my 3770K ( to about 4.2 ghz ) and i never overclocked before so i don't know if getting this model ram would interfere with my ability to overclock ?

i can't get ram with heat spreaders because my noctua NH-U9B cooler is blocking the ram slot closest to CPU - or rather it will only allow a ram stick in there that is without a heatsink.

i hope my question is clear ? if not please let me know.

Last edited by g1981c; 01-08-2013 at 04:08 AM.
g1981c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 04:12 PM   #2
g1981c
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 123
Default

bump ?
g1981c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 05:24 PM   #3
kbp
Senior Member
 
kbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Lower Peninsula
Posts: 575
Default

I personally would match the RAM even if one had to buy all new. Can you remove the heat speaders? I am sure they are not really needed.
__________________

kbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:36 PM   #4
g1981c
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbp View Post
I personally would match the RAM even if one had to buy all new. Can you remove the heat speaders? I am sure they are not really needed.
i wouldn't want to remove the heat spreaders.

if i get different ram and it causes a conflict with old one - i can always remove or replace old one, and either way i would have at least double the ram.

my question is - what, if any, special considerations are there for ram for overclocking ? for example - will i need faster than 1,600 mhz ram ?
g1981c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:20 PM   #5
bryanl
Senior Member
 
bryanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 990
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g1981c View Post
i wouldn't want to remove the heat spreaders.
Is this the reason?

bryanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:24 PM   #6
g1981c
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanl View Post
Is this the reason?

hahaha ! ! !
g1981c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:26 PM   #7
g1981c
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 123
Default

anyway i did some research, as well as overclocked to 4.2 ghz for a test, and i consider this question resolved. since i have a K series CPU i don't need any special ram.

i ordered this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231560

even though it won't fit under the heatsink fan i will just move the fan to the other side of the heatsink.

hope it doesn't cause problems with the ram i already have installed.
g1981c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.