Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2013, 11:14 AM   #1
ramj70
Senior Member
 
ramj70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery Village, Maryland
Posts: 726
Default Noob question Re: SSD for OS & HDD for data

Okay I just purchased a new Intel CPU and new motherboard, RAM, 256GB Plextor SSD for the OS and a couple games I always play and a WD 1TB black for data storage.

I've never done this so I just download the OS to the SSD drive and hook up my HDD to store data. I don't have to do anything to the HDD drive? I just hook up the SATA cable and that's it?
__________________
heatware under ramj70
http://www.heatware.comeval.php?id=20093________________________________________________
Case: NZXT Phantom full tower/PSU: XFX 750W modular/Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H/CPU: I5 3570K/RAM: 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600/Video: Gigabyte GTX 770 OC 4GB/Sound Card: Asus Xonar/Monitor: Asus VX279Q/HDD 1TB Western Digital black
SSd Plextor M5P 256GB/Windows 7 home premium 64 bit
ramj70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:08 PM   #2
aviator78
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 49
Default

There are several things to check while installing an OS on an SSD. There are several guides for this. One of the best I know is this one: http://www.overclock.net/t/1156654/s...-for-ssds-hdds
There is also one for optimizing Win8
http://www.overclock.net/t/1240779/s...-for-ssds-hdds
If you have more questions after reading this, please come back and ask.
aviator78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 01:19 PM   #3
Elixer
Diamond Member
 
Elixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,371
Default

If the HD has been already formatted, then yeah, just hook it up, and you can start using it.
__________________
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.

The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.
Elixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:06 PM   #4
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 23,845
Default

If you have a 256 GB or larger SSD, the OS and programs are a good fit. Data on a secondary HDD. That's what I have and it works great.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:55 PM   #5
ramj70
Senior Member
 
ramj70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery Village, Maryland
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviator78 View Post
There are several things to check while installing an OS on an SSD. There are several guides for this. One of the best I know is this one: http://www.overclock.net/t/1156654/s...-for-ssds-hdds
There is also one for optimizing Win8
http://www.overclock.net/t/1240779/s...-for-ssds-hdds
If you have more questions after reading this, please come back and ask.
Thanks, I'll check out the article.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elixer View Post
If the HD has been already formatted, then yeah, just hook it up, and you can start using it.
It's a brand new drive so I guess I will have to format it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by corkyg View Post
If you have a 256 GB or larger SSD, the OS and programs are a good fit. Data on a secondary HDD. That's what I have and it works great.
Yeah I can't wait to get everything set up and see how it runs.
__________________
heatware under ramj70
http://www.heatware.comeval.php?id=20093________________________________________________
Case: NZXT Phantom full tower/PSU: XFX 750W modular/Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H/CPU: I5 3570K/RAM: 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600/Video: Gigabyte GTX 770 OC 4GB/Sound Card: Asus Xonar/Monitor: Asus VX279Q/HDD 1TB Western Digital black
SSd Plextor M5P 256GB/Windows 7 home premium 64 bit
ramj70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:04 PM   #6
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,523
Default

Make sure to unplug all HDD/SSDs except the one you are installing windows on during the OS installation process.
Windows installer tends to split your bootloader between multiple drives if you don't with no discernable reasoning (bios boot order and device order on the mobo don't seem to matter to it, it will still split it, its crazy).

Once you finish installing windows then plug the extra drives (which will then be detected and made available)
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:55 AM   #7
ramj70
Senior Member
 
ramj70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery Village, Maryland
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taltamir View Post
Make sure to unplug all HDD/SSDs except the one you are installing windows on during the OS installation process.
Windows installer tends to split your bootloader between multiple drives if you don't with no discernable reasoning (bios boot order and device order on the mobo don't seem to matter to it, it will still split it, its crazy).

Once you finish installing windows then plug the extra drives (which will then be detected and made available)
Ah good to know, thanks!
__________________
heatware under ramj70
http://www.heatware.comeval.php?id=20093________________________________________________
Case: NZXT Phantom full tower/PSU: XFX 750W modular/Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H/CPU: I5 3570K/RAM: 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600/Video: Gigabyte GTX 770 OC 4GB/Sound Card: Asus Xonar/Monitor: Asus VX279Q/HDD 1TB Western Digital black
SSd Plextor M5P 256GB/Windows 7 home premium 64 bit
ramj70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 03:48 PM   #8
ramj70
Senior Member
 
ramj70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery Village, Maryland
Posts: 726
Default

Well I installed my SSD and wow why did I wait so long to get one. I can't believe how fast Windows installed and now boots up. Money well spent.
__________________
heatware under ramj70
http://www.heatware.comeval.php?id=20093________________________________________________
Case: NZXT Phantom full tower/PSU: XFX 750W modular/Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H/CPU: I5 3570K/RAM: 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600/Video: Gigabyte GTX 770 OC 4GB/Sound Card: Asus Xonar/Monitor: Asus VX279Q/HDD 1TB Western Digital black
SSd Plextor M5P 256GB/Windows 7 home premium 64 bit
ramj70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.