Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2013, 12:59 PM   #1
ArJuN
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,815
Default Video card won't display start screen after memory upgrade

I just added memory to a Dell Inspiron 620 and am having weird results in regards to the video card. I have a GT 430 in there. When the video card is removed, the computer displays normally through the onboard HDMI port. But when I add the video card into the mix, the bios screen shows, and the loading screen for the Windows OS shows. After that it's still black. My display is getting a video signal because it doesn't go to sleep. The computer is clearly running normally aside from the video. It's CPU is running, there is HDD activity, and I can access files over the LAN. Any thoughts? I have the latest BIOS and drivers on it.
ArJuN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:24 PM   #2
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,322
Default

Windows can be incredibly stupid in the way it handles multiple displays. You would think that if you only have one display connected to all your various ports, then that is the one it would use! But it is not always so!

Is there any way you can connect a 2nd monitor to your onboard vga/hdmi port, so that you can configure it to turn it off? Or maybe you can turn off your onboard (integrated) video in the bios. I would try the bios option first. Most likely what happened is that when you upgraded your memory, somehow the bios settings reverted back to default settings. This would have enabled the integrated gpu, whilst windows still thinks you're using the discrete. Leading to a level of confusion that these two billion dollar companies simply could not, and probably never will figure out.
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4770k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4770k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 05:08 PM   #3
ArJuN
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,815
Default

I tried connecting three different monitors at the same time (2 HDMI and 1 VGA). All of the on board video outs said that the output is disabled and to connect to the video card. But the video card outputs still showed nothing. Right now I'm actually getting zero video output, so I'm going to try swapping the RAM back to the original and see what it does.
ArJuN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.