Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 05:25 PM   #51
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
The AG coating is much less noticeable than on the 3007WFP. It's there, but nowhere near as harsh as it was on the 3007. Colours also seem much better out of the box. As soon as I fired it up I notice a difference. Been playing with the different modes, I find Standard and RGB to be the best.

I guess I am going to RMA it in that case with the overnight deal. Are they going to want a picture or anything, or just go on good faith that the bright pixel is there ? Reason I am on the fence is that I may just get another one with a bad pixel, or maybe more than one. haha not sure I want to wind up in an endless cycle of returns.

Do they give a BNIB in return or a refurb ? That is my other concern. The one I was sent is a REV08 made in November of last year. If I return this I want a 100% new one again.
No pic, nothing. I just requested a new one and had it the next day. It was a bnib, no refurb.
__________________
Video Card Specialist

wtb 9800 XT

Heat 144-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 05:26 PM   #52
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoney1980 View Post
UPS dropped of the monitor at my office, can't wait to take this badboy home! I'll keep you guys posted, and I plan on running additional BF3 benchmarks. I will update OP once I have those stats.

edit: Kudos to Dell for the fast delivery! ordered last Thursday with free "7 day shipping"

I really am considering replacing my U3011 with that 2713
__________________
Video Card Specialist

wtb 9800 XT

Heat 144-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 05:38 PM   #53
blackened23
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,556
Default

The 2713HM is a pretty awesome screen. Still, i'm most anxious for the u3014. It should be released in Feb or March.
blackened23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:40 PM   #54
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
No pic, nothing. I just requested a new one and had it the next day. It was a bnib, no refurb.
Thanks. Called in and it was about a 2 minute call to arrange everything. Hopefully the next one has no defective pixels.
__________________
5960X @ 4.5 | X99 Deluxe | 16GB 2600 GSkill DDR4 | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W G2
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:53 PM   #55
dmoney1980
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,100
Default

so I unwrapped that bad boy, plugged it in and.....3 dead pixels.....lumped together in the middle right hand side. UGH!I'm speaking with Dell support now, they are shipping me a new monitor along with a return label for this one

Last edited by dmoney1980; 01-08-2013 at 10:57 PM.
dmoney1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:28 PM   #56
PBat51
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South of Boston
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
MA guy here too =)

I'm from the Cape

Me 3 in Bridgewater. Mine has no dead or stuck pixels.
PBat51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:37 PM   #57
Skurge
Diamond Member
 
Skurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Namibia
Posts: 4,965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoney1980 View Post
so I unwrapped that bad boy, plugged it in and.....3 dead pixels.....lumped together in the middle right hand side. UGH!I'm speaking with Dell support now, they are shipping me a new monitor along with a return label for this one
What do you guys use to check for dead pixels? I haven't seen any, but I'll like to check just to make sure.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K |Gigabyte Z97N-Gaming 5|16GB DDR3-1600|Sapphire R9 290X Vapor X|Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB|Corsair AX860 PSU|Bitfenix Prodigy|Windows 8.1 Pro|Samsung U28D590D|Logitech G27 Racing Wheel|Nexus 5 32GB
Skurge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 03:04 PM   #58
dmoney1980
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skurge View Post
What do you guys use to check for dead pixels? I haven't seen any, but I'll like to check just to make sure.
I use these sites:
http://jasonfarrell.com/misc/deadpixeltest.php

http://www.gdargaud.net/Hack/DeadPixels.html

http://www.doihaveadeadpixel.com/
dmoney1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:28 AM   #59
dmoney1980
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,100
Default

Updated OP with new benchmarks
dmoney1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 12:10 PM   #60
blackened23
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,556
Default

Did you get the replacement 2713HM yet? Was the 2nd one the charm? I was really impressed by the image quality of this monitor, text is extremely sharp and colors are great. Like you said the AG is nearly completely unnoticeable, unlike the prior model u2711 and u3011.
blackened23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 12:15 PM   #61
dmoney1980
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackened23 View Post
Did you get the replacement 2713HM yet? Was the 2nd one the charm? I was really impressed by the image quality of this monitor, text is extremely sharp and colors are great. Like you said the AG is nearly completely unnoticeable, unlike the prior model u2711 and u3011.
Not yet, I should have it next week. I think it's great that dell shipped a replacement with the return label for the defective monitor. I'm still using it since it works great other than the 3 dead pixels, which I only notice on all white backgrounds.
dmoney1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 12:50 PM   #62
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoney1980 View Post
Not yet, I should have it next week. I think it's great that dell shipped a replacement with the return label for the defective monitor. I'm still using it since it works great other than the 3 dead pixels, which I only notice on all white backgrounds.
Are they dead or stuck on?
__________________
Video Card Specialist

wtb 9800 XT

Heat 144-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 02:46 PM   #63
dmoney1980
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
Are they dead or stuck on?
I would assume dead. I ran some utilities for fixing stuck pixels but that didn't work. At first it looked like dirt under the panel, 3 little grey/black spots. Do you know of any other utilities out there?
dmoney1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 02:57 PM   #64
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 6,551
Default

Those are dead pixels and can't be fixed. Bright pixels are the ones you can possibly fix. Bright pixels show up as a steady colour that doesn't change.

I got my replacement U3011 yesterday and this one is flawless. It also has a more uniform backlight whereas the last one had a couple brighter spots.
__________________
5960X @ 4.5 | X99 Deluxe | 16GB 2600 GSkill DDR4 | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W G2
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 03:51 PM   #65
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,617
Default

nice Groove...

Glad to hear you got a keeper.

Dell's monitor policy is the best in the business and why I am/will continue to be a loyal customer
__________________
Video Card Specialist

wtb 9800 XT

Heat 144-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:04 PM   #66
dagamer34
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,557
Default

I got a U2713HM for $559 + tax off of Amazon a few weeks ago. This thing is glorious. However, after using my Retina display MacBook Pro, I now am wishing for a 27" 4K monitor. That would be amazing. Maybe this year?
__________________
iMac with Retina 5K Display | 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display| Mac mini | iPad Air 2 | iPhone 6 Plus
dagamer34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:11 PM   #67
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,617
Default

I concur..... Higher res can't come soon enough.
__________________
Video Card Specialist

wtb 9800 XT

Heat 144-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:36 PM   #68
Diogenes2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,141
Default

I saw the thread title and was curious about benchmarking a display ..

I still don't understand..
__________________

Diogenes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:44 PM   #69
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11,583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dagamer34 View Post
I got a U2713HM for $559 + tax off of Amazon a few weeks ago. This thing is glorious. However, after using my Retina display MacBook Pro, I now am wishing for a 27" 4K monitor. That would be amazing. Maybe this year?
Not gonna happen for atleast quite some years.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare
Competition is good at driving the pace of innovation, but it is an inefficient mechanism (R&D expenditures summed across a given industry) for generating the innovation.
i5 4670, EVGA z87 Stinger, EVGA GTX980 SC, Ballistix Sport VLP 2x8GB, M500 480GB SSD, SG08B mITX.
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 05:04 PM   #70
blackened23
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShintaiDK View Post
Not gonna happen for atleast quite some years.
Agreed. I'm a big fan of high resolution and want it to happen, but the initial models will cost over 5000$ US and many models will be capped at 30hz at native resolution. On top of this, the models out now actually cost over 17,000$ US -- Obviously that isn't ready for a mass consumer market; The only buyers currently are for scientific / medical / corporate applications.

My best guess is that it will be more widely adopted when there is:

1) 4k media for the Ultra HD TV

and

2) More graphics processing power to actually harness 4k resolution

Maybe 1-2 years? I do hope i'm wrong though, i'd love to get my hands of a 4k screen. Big fan of high res here, as mentioned - the sooner the world is rid of TN 1080p panels, the better.

Last edited by blackened23; 01-12-2013 at 05:15 PM.
blackened23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:15 PM   #71
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7,165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoney1980 View Post
update 1/12/13:So I took some time tonight to record additional benchmarks using my new Dell U2713HM monitor (formerly 27" Auria that I returned to Micro Center). Just like before, these benchmarks were done on 64 player maps with a 5 minute recording using FRAPS. Please take note of the universal and conditional settings used for all benchmarks.

Before we get into the numbers, here's a pic I took tonight of my new monitor standing next to my old 23" Sammy. The image quality on this Dell is insane! I cannot believe how much better it looks when compared to the Auria and my old monitor. I also must add that Dell did a heck of a job with the AG coating, I don't even know it's there!



My test system:
CPU: i5 2500k at 4.3ghz
ASrock z68 pro3m motherboard
8Gb Crucial DDR3 1600 RAM
128GB Crucial m4 OS drive
256GB Liteon OEM SSD Game drive (location of BF3 install)
Corsair 650W PSU
Sapphire Radeon 7950 3GB OC'd @ 950/1300

Universal Settings Used:
Resolution: 2560x1440 @ 60hz
V-Sync: Off
Field of view: 90
Motion blur: Off
Graphics quality: Custom
Texture quality: Ultra
Shadow quality: Ultra
Effects quality: Ultra
Mesh quality: Ultra
Terrain quality: Ultra
Terrain decoration: Ultra
Anisotropic filter: 16x
Ambient Occlusion: HBAO

Conditional Settings Used
Post and Deferred Anitaliasing Off or On, please reference charts.

And here are my results:



Azadi Palace was crazy with 64 players! Enabling AA didn't impact playability in my opinion, and I didn't experience any significant frame rate drop.



I spent the majority of the time in this stage inside a vehicle, figuring that's what the majority of players will do anyways. I did notice some FPS dips here and there when inside a tank, other than that it was ok.



Caspian Border is an oldie but goodie! I mixed it up here: on foot, in a tank / jeep, and sniping. As you can see AA definitely takes it's toll on the framerate at times.



Operation Firestorm is one of my favorite stages in BF3 since it offers everything; space to fly, spaces to snipe, and plenty of space to get sniped! Seeing same results as Caspian here.



Karkand shows more of the same, Framerate dips into the 30's with AA enabled.

That's all I have right now. I would have loved to benchmark a 64 player close quarters map but I couldn't find one tonight! I'll update this post once I do.

I also took some in game screenshots for some of the maps using the conditional settings. This will give you an idea of the differences in image quality. That said, I honestly can't recommend having AA enabled in this game at this resolution. Sure the edges look smoother when looking at the screenshots, but who plays this game standing in place looking at edges!? When playing, I'm too busy running around like a headless chicken to notice the imperfections, and I'll gladly take the smoother framerate any day of the week.

BF3 Game Pic links
Azadi Palace
No AA: http://i1.minus.com/iefUirfmaKJOl.bmp
AA Enabled: http://i2.minus.com/ilSctZ2nGrjLr.bmp

Caspian Border
No AA: http://i3.minus.com/iet5jaDtNWJOI.bmp
AA Enabled: http://i5.minus.com/iY47EVNzRqqZC.bmp


If you guys have any questions, please let me know!
Thanks for putting this thread together. Question for you - are those "No AA" screenshots without any AA at all, or just without MSAA? While I agree that in multiplayer you won't notice it that much while playing, I think there's a pretty huge image quality difference between your screenshots. I use High FXAA and think it looks pretty good, but I've never done back-to-back screenshot comparisons like yours.
__________________
Work: 3770K | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | 290 Tri-X | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 780 Ti SLI | 16GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus VG248QE
HTPC: 4690K@4.0 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | HD7870 | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Looking for holiday tech gifts? Check out The 2014 Holiday Buyer's Guide at The Tech Buyer's Guru!
How does RAM speed affect gaming? Find out in TBG's article Does RAM Speed Matter?

Last edited by Termie; 01-18-2013 at 12:19 PM.
Termie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:18 PM   #72
dmoney1980
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
Thanks for putting this thread together. Question for you - are those "No AA" screenshots without any AA at all, or just without MSAA? While I agree that in multiplayer you won't notice it that much while playing, I think there's a pretty huge image quality difference between your screenshots. I use High FXAA and think it looks pretty good, but I've never done back-to-back screenshot comparisons like yours.
the "No AA" benchmarks and screenshots have both post and deferred AA disabled, so no AA at all.
dmoney1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:20 PM   #73
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7,165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoney1980 View Post
the "No AA" benchmarks and screenshots have both post and deferred AA disabled, so no AA at all.
Have you tried doing your same screenshots or at least playing with FXAA High and no MSAA? The minimums your benchmarked with MSAA are a tad low for intense multiplayer sequences.
__________________
Work: 3770K | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | 290 Tri-X | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 780 Ti SLI | 16GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus VG248QE
HTPC: 4690K@4.0 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | HD7870 | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Looking for holiday tech gifts? Check out The 2014 Holiday Buyer's Guide at The Tech Buyer's Guru!
How does RAM speed affect gaming? Find out in TBG's article Does RAM Speed Matter?
Termie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:21 PM   #74
dmoney1980
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
Have you tried doing your same screenshots or at least playing with FXAA High and no MSAA?
Not yet, but I can! My wife is sick so we'll stay in this weekend, now I have something to do!
dmoney1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:24 PM   #75
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7,165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoney1980 View Post
Not yet, but I can! My wife is sick so we'll stay in this weekend, now I have something to do!
It will interesting to see if you find it a good compromise at this resolution.
__________________
Work: 3770K | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | 290 Tri-X | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 780 Ti SLI | 16GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus VG248QE
HTPC: 4690K@4.0 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | HD7870 | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Looking for holiday tech gifts? Check out The 2014 Holiday Buyer's Guide at The Tech Buyer's Guru!
How does RAM speed affect gaming? Find out in TBG's article Does RAM Speed Matter?
Termie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.