Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 07:03 AM   #1
yaro137
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default Problems with ASUS P8P67 Pro

I'm having some problems with the motherboard where the OS will start only when I set the BIOS to 2 or 3 cores of the i7 2700k CPU. Cpu tested fine using Intel utility. I tried updating the BIOS but I can only flush it to 2303 which is 3 generations old. Any newer shows as "image invalid". Possibly it's because the BIOS is for rev.3 of that mobo but then apparently when the mobo is labeled as mine as 1.01 it doesn't necessarily means it's not the 3.0. Anyway Asus's website doesn't have a link for 1.01 so I'm not sure what to do. Tried contacting ASUS but so far no call back as you cannot talk to their support direct. On-line chat doesn't work either.
yaro137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 08:02 AM   #2
mrpiggy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 148
Default

I had an earlier version too and ran into the same types of WTF!!?? version BIOS issues too. Couldn't get any of the newer BIOS versions to work either. Didn't run into the exact same turn-off-cores issue you had, but ended up getting another MB after getting pissed with this MB. Asus support was useless.
mrpiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 08:45 AM   #3
yaro137
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

I'm still waiting for Asus to get back to me. Yes, it's not the best support experience you can get especially when you try live chat just to either see the same page again or to get kicked out from the queue after a couple of seconds. Very annoying. They could well start giving lifetime warranties on their product as chances are this is how long you going to need to get anywhere with them
yaro137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:30 AM   #4
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,403
Default

yaro137 welcome to the forum

Been a long time but I once had that MB. I don't remember clearly but I think there was some trick to get the bios updated. The " image invalid " I remember running into when updating the bios.

How are you trying to update the bios? From within bios? The dos utility on the website?
__________________
HeatWare
Email

Last edited by Kenmitch; 01-08-2013 at 10:44 AM.
Kenmitch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:36 AM   #5
naveedk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Latest is :
P8P67 PRO BIOS 3602

for
P8P67 PRO BIOS 3207

*Please update Bios twice when update from previous Bios version, then need CLRTC.

Try to Update using USB Flash Drive with FAT32 Formatted,
Rename the file name to 8+3 character
P8P67-PRO-ASUS-3602
P8P67-PR.ROM

Hopefully it will work
naveedk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:46 AM   #6
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveedk View Post
Latest is :
P8P67 PRO BIOS 3602

for
P8P67 PRO BIOS 3207

*Please update Bios twice when update from previous Bios version, then need CLRTC.

Try to Update using USB Flash Drive with FAT32 Formatted,
Rename the file name to 8+3 character
P8P67-PRO-ASUS-3602
P8P67-PR.ROM

Hopefully it will work
Welcome to the forum

I think this is the fix. Does somewhat ring a bell.
__________________
HeatWare
Email
Kenmitch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:23 PM   #7
yaro137
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

I was updating within BIOS. I'll try what you suggest. Hopefully this will resolve the problem with the CPU. Thanks for your help
yaro137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:51 PM   #8
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

there is a motherboard revision and a chipset revision (B2 B3)
Also a P8P67 Pro and P8P67 Pro 3.1 (separate bios images)
CPUID will tell you everything you need to know in mobo tab
If your box doesnt say B3 revision in big letters on it and you didnt return it for exchange, you will never update to latest.
And since its getting on to 2 years since B2 was introduced (Jan 2011) its around time your Intel SATA 6G ports should start failing
If you have pro B3 chipset, it will have NEC USB oprom, If you have B3 chipset 3.1 pro it will have ASMedia USB Oprom in bios

Edit:
http://vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx...Language=en-us
http://vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx...Language=en-us
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?


Last edited by bankster55; 01-08-2013 at 04:23 PM.
bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 04:22 PM   #9
yaro137
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Excellent news. Not. The system wasn't built by myself so no box. For what I know the mobo is still under warranty. The only trouble is to contact the support

Last edited by yaro137; 01-08-2013 at 04:34 PM.
yaro137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 04:57 PM   #10
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

ASUS support has been down for a week for some reason
However, you will just get scripted help unless you ask for level 2 tech
You ignored the points in my post
I said look in CPUID mobo tab to see what you have
You apparently also did not read some of the ASUS posts in the links I gave

Since the earlier SandyBridge P8P67 series bios offerings, subsequent updating to IvyBridge ready 3XXX bios is the most screwed up flash ever, with thousands of endusers bricking their bios, I always advise people seeking help on this to just buy a new offline programmed chip - Its only $16 and comes ready to go with 3602 - unless, that is, you really know what you are doing.
http://stores.ebay.com/SysElectronic..._sid=995003230

Fwiw:
Bios chips only go in one way
Never install when PSU still plugged in or mobo lights still on (+5VSB is active)
Must gently straighten 8 legs to vertical
Must do Unplugged PSU CMOS reset greater than 10 seconds after insertion
Then do the press F1 to enter bios setup to reset your config

Of course you should very carefully figure out with CPUID EXACTLY what mobo, mobo revision and chipset vers you have involved. Its extremely confusing. And since 3XXX bios are Ivy Bridge compatible - immediately after loading new bios chip you should run Intel chipset utility 9.3.XXXX, reboot, then update Intel MEI in dev manager in dev man/system devices to 8.xxxx something. You cant properly run an IB CPU with Vers 8 ME oprom in bios and Vers 7 drivers in Dev Man.
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?


Last edited by bankster55; 01-09-2013 at 07:08 AM.
bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 05:13 PM   #11
yaro137
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Sorry but at the moment I have no access to that PC. I'll check with CPUID first thing tomorrow morning although I must admit your description of what needs doing scare me Just for the off chance it's the CPU to blame I organized an i7 3370k for testing for tomorrow as well.
yaro137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 05:23 AM   #12
yaro137
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

It turns up it's B2 Sandy Bridge rev. 09 so I guess I'm hosed especially that the 3370 I wanted to use for testing is Ivy Bridge or maybe not since it's LGA 1155

Last edited by yaro137; 01-09-2013 at 06:42 AM.
yaro137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 03:41 PM   #13
yaro137
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Works fine with the 3370k. I'm ordering one now
yaro137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:02 PM   #14
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

On bios MAIN page - what ME (oprom) vers showing?
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?

bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 03:08 AM   #15
yaro137
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the help again. Wish I had another mobo to test that 2700k again as it seeme strange that it looks like it failed for no obvious reasons
yaro137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.