Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2013, 03:16 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default Core i7 870 , support for 1600mhz 8gb ddr3 modules


I want to run 2 x 8gb 1600 mhz ram with my Core i7 870 & Gigabyte GA-P55 UD6 , can any 870 users confirm if this cpu supports 8gb ram sticks?

The ram that i am going to buy runs at 1.5v @ 1600mhz but to run it at 1600mhz with 870 i will have to enable XMP , XMP runs the ram at 1.65v in the 870 so will there be any issues?
JD111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:43 PM   #2
Diamond Member
RaistlinZ's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 7,386

I think it's more of a motherboard support issue than a CPU support issue.
i7-5820K @ 4.4GHz l ASUS X99-PRO l MSI Gaming GTX 980Ti l 16GB PC2800 l 500GB Saumsung 850 EVO l Corsair HX750 l Corsair H110 l Jonsbo W2 Case l Dell U3011
RaistlinZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:02 AM   #3
Diamond Member
_Rick_'s Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,600

A friend of mine runs 3x8 gb on a 920.
I suspect that the 870 should therefore also be capable of this.
On the other hand, nothing can be guaranteed.
If you find away to try before you buy, then I would strongly suggest this .
_Rick_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 03:22 PM   #4
Golden Member
Deders's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,695

So long as the Ram itself is programmed to run at 1.65v with XMP there should be no problems with the on chip memory controller as this was the standard voltage for DDR3 for these chips at the time.
i7 6700K - Asus Z170 Deluxe - Noctua NH-D15 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 16GB Gskill RipjawsV DDR4 @3200 - Corsair HX850i - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM Ultrawide - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Sony STR-DN1050 Receiver - Q Acoustics 2000i 5.1 speakers.
Deders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:31 PM   #5
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18

Thanks for the replies, according to this http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=112673 the motherboard / chipset does not support 8gb modules .
JD111 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.