Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2012, 09:37 AM   #26
Spike
Diamond Member
 
Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 6,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plugers View Post
Klipsch Energy RC Micro 5.0 just popped up for $99 shipped also.
I saw that, this was just a few hours after I panic purchased an AK meaning now I'm well and truly broke.

Though come to think of it, whats another $100 when I'm this far in debt? ugh...

*EDIT pulled the trigger. Now I just hope those amazon giftcards come through for Christmas so I can get the Yamaha receiver and the Polk sub to go with the energy micros.
__________________
Main - i5 2500k @ 4.4 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB | Antec 902 v3
HTPC - e8400 | ECS GF7050VT-M | 4GB DDR2-800 | 5870
| NZXT H2
LAN - i3 2120| Asrock Z68 Pro3-M | 8GB DDR3-1600 | XFX 6970 2GB
| Antec 300
WHS 11 Server - e5200 | Asus P5KPL-CM | 4GB DDR-800 | P180
Mobile - Lenovo Y580 | i7-3610 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | 660M 2GB

Last edited by Spike; 12-21-2012 at 09:42 AM.
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:31 AM   #27
Spike
Diamond Member
 
Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 6,671
Default

Alright, got my Yamaha 373, Energy Micros, and Polk PSW10 all hooked up and so far they sound great, though I need to setup that little microphone thingee to get them dialed in.

What I want to know now is how the heck to get all 5 speakers working when playing games? I have the pc hooked up to the received via coax and when playing bluray I get all channels and it sounds nice. However, when playing games I'm only getting 2.1 and thats with the in game settings set to surround. Any ideas how to get surround working? If I can't do surround in games then all of this was for nothing...

Thanks!!
__________________
Main - i5 2500k @ 4.4 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB | Antec 902 v3
HTPC - e8400 | ECS GF7050VT-M | 4GB DDR2-800 | 5870
| NZXT H2
LAN - i3 2120| Asrock Z68 Pro3-M | 8GB DDR3-1600 | XFX 6970 2GB
| Antec 300
WHS 11 Server - e5200 | Asus P5KPL-CM | 4GB DDR-800 | P180
Mobile - Lenovo Y580 | i7-3610 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | 660M 2GB
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 06:23 AM   #28
fralexandr
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,362
Default

maybe a better way?: you might be able to connect the gfx card via HDMI to the receiver and have it count as a more or less phantom display by sending only audio. http://www.overclock.net/t/1212983/e...-hdmi-receiver
I wasn't aware that one could actually do this o.O, but I guess it's possible now.
Assuming you have an extra HDMI output and 1 HDMI cable, you can get uncompressed 5.1 audio this way <3.


Otherwise, you can't send uncompressed 5.1 over optical, so you will need to compress it to DD 5.1 or DTS.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/30...l-spdif-output
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/34...audio-receiver
the game needs to support dolby DTS/DD 5.1, or you need some way to encode it into that format. Otherwise the game's probably just outputting PCM and clipping the extra channels. Some of the newer games are going the dolby route, but i'm not sure if it's that common (derp: I can't believe I forgot to realize that many games don't do dolby audio).


http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1708835
Your realtek alc892 should have an option to encode sound as Dolby Digital Live before outputting it via optical [see hardforum link for pictures]. You might be able to find it in windows, though I doubt it [playback devices > device > advanced]
Link to the asrock z68 extreme4 download site, if you need to download the realtek HD audio manager (win 7 64-bit)
http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.as...Z68%20Extreme4

otherwise if the above doesn't work, creative happens to have software that can do this on specific cards (note the xtremeAUDIO is not included since it technically uses audigy chipsets)
http://us.store.creative.com/Dolby-D...B006GK76QE.htm
the cards supported are:
Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Sound Blaster X-Fi
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty Champion Series
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1tyŽ Pro
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional Series
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series

x-fi xtremegamer sb0770 $28 (the half height xtremegamers don't have optical hah)
http://www.amazon.com/Genuine-Creati.../dp/B0093L6SCG

Last edited by fralexandr; 01-05-2013 at 08:14 AM. Reason: mulling over lots of stuff
fralexandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:53 PM   #29
Spike
Diamond Member
 
Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 6,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fralexandr View Post
maybe a better way?: you might be able to connect the gfx card via HDMI to the receiver and have it count as a more or less phantom display by sending only audio. http://www.overclock.net/t/1212983/e...-hdmi-receiver
I wasn't aware that one could actually do this o.O, but I guess it's possible now.
Assuming you have an extra HDMI output and 1 HDMI cable, you can get uncompressed 5.1 audio this way <3.


Otherwise, you can't send uncompressed 5.1 over optical, so you will need to compress it to DD 5.1 or DTS.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/30...l-spdif-output
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/34...audio-receiver
the game needs to support dolby DTS/DD 5.1, or you need some way to encode it into that format. Otherwise the game's probably just outputting PCM and clipping the extra channels. Some of the newer games are going the dolby route, but i'm not sure if it's that common (derp: I can't believe I forgot to realize that many games don't do dolby audio).


http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1708835
Your realtek alc892 should have an option to encode sound as Dolby Digital Live before outputting it via optical [see hardforum link for pictures]. You might be able to find it in windows, though I doubt it [playback devices > device > advanced]
Link to the asrock z68 extreme4 download site, if you need to download the realtek HD audio manager (win 7 64-bit)
http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.as...Z68%20Extreme4

otherwise if the above doesn't work, creative happens to have software that can do this on specific cards (note the xtremeAUDIO is not included since it technically uses audigy chipsets)
http://us.store.creative.com/Dolby-D...B006GK76QE.htm
the cards supported are:
Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Sound Blaster X-Fi
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty Champion Series
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1tyŽ Pro
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional Series
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series

x-fi xtremegamer sb0770 $28 (the half height xtremegamers don't have optical hah)
http://www.amazon.com/Genuine-Creati.../dp/B0093L6SCG
Thanks for all the info!

In my case HDMI is probably not the way to go since I am running triple LCD's so am using both DVI's (means the HDMI is not available) and one displayport. I could get another displayport to DVI adapter though and free up the HDMI...

I'll try it the software way first, if that does not work then the adapter for the 6970 would be the next cheapest route, assuming I can send 3 video signals and 1 audio signal from the card. If that does not work i guess I'll have to look at a new sound card... ugh.

Just surfing amazon and noticed this, would this work for a somewhat cheap solution? It says it supports DD live as long as your receiver does.

http://www.amazon.com/Creative-Sound...=creative+x-fi
__________________
Main - i5 2500k @ 4.4 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB | Antec 902 v3
HTPC - e8400 | ECS GF7050VT-M | 4GB DDR2-800 | 5870
| NZXT H2
LAN - i3 2120| Asrock Z68 Pro3-M | 8GB DDR3-1600 | XFX 6970 2GB
| Antec 300
WHS 11 Server - e5200 | Asus P5KPL-CM | 4GB DDR-800 | P180
Mobile - Lenovo Y580 | i7-3610 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | 660M 2GB

Last edited by Spike; 01-05-2013 at 05:04 PM.
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 06:57 PM   #30
fralexandr
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,362
Default

yep that should work, the x-fi i linked to is cheaper (~$33 w/ software) but I guess the USB option would be good if you don't have an extra PCI slot.

your onboard sound should work though.
fralexandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:14 PM   #31
Spike
Diamond Member
 
Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 6,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fralexandr View Post
yep that should work, the x-fi i linked to is cheaper (~$33 w/ software) but I guess the USB option would be good if you don't have an extra PCI slot.

your onboard sound should work though.
I did some more digging and it appears that ALC892 does not support DD so it won't sent out 5.1 via the coax though the lower numbered ALC889 does... go figure.

I do have a spare PCI slot, I just figured USB might work better so it could be moved around if needed easier.
__________________
Main - i5 2500k @ 4.4 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB | Antec 902 v3
HTPC - e8400 | ECS GF7050VT-M | 4GB DDR2-800 | 5870
| NZXT H2
LAN - i3 2120| Asrock Z68 Pro3-M | 8GB DDR3-1600 | XFX 6970 2GB
| Antec 300
WHS 11 Server - e5200 | Asus P5KPL-CM | 4GB DDR-800 | P180
Mobile - Lenovo Y580 | i7-3610 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | 660M 2GB
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 02:44 PM   #32
Spike
Diamond Member
 
Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 6,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rany View Post
Thanks for the link though I'm glad I did not look at that site first, their surround recommendation is the Logitech Z906. While these speakers are not terrible they are a step down from the previous Z5500's who themselves were a step down from a self assembled HT setup in the same price range, except for maybe the sub.

Either way I made my orders and am fairly happy now, though once my SB Z arrives I'll be much happier as I can get 5.1 in games again! Total cost for the entire system, including cables, was about $580. More than I originally wanted to spend, and almost double the Z906 cost, but in the end it will sound much better and last a lot longer. Plus I can now upgrade it piecemeal later on if I want.

Thanks everyone who helped out!
__________________
Main - i5 2500k @ 4.4 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB | Antec 902 v3
HTPC - e8400 | ECS GF7050VT-M | 4GB DDR2-800 | 5870
| NZXT H2
LAN - i3 2120| Asrock Z68 Pro3-M | 8GB DDR3-1600 | XFX 6970 2GB
| Antec 300
WHS 11 Server - e5200 | Asus P5KPL-CM | 4GB DDR-800 | P180
Mobile - Lenovo Y580 | i7-3610 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | 660M 2GB
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:12 PM   #33
gus6464
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rany View Post
Any site that puts Bose in the recommended list is just not to be trusted.
gus6464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:23 AM   #34
Spike
Diamond Member
 
Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 6,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gus6464 View Post
Any site that puts Bose in the recommended list is just not to be trusted.
Yeah, there's that too. From what I've seen (heard actually) Bose speakers put out some decent sound but they are never worth the price. And even when you finally find one that is almost worth what they charge I can't bring myself to buy it based on principle
__________________
Main - i5 2500k @ 4.4 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB | Antec 902 v3
HTPC - e8400 | ECS GF7050VT-M | 4GB DDR2-800 | 5870
| NZXT H2
LAN - i3 2120| Asrock Z68 Pro3-M | 8GB DDR3-1600 | XFX 6970 2GB
| Antec 300
WHS 11 Server - e5200 | Asus P5KPL-CM | 4GB DDR-800 | P180
Mobile - Lenovo Y580 | i7-3610 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | 660M 2GB
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.