Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 11:11 AM   #1
Olys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Default New gaming pc.

hey u,
first of all i need some feedback and a lot of help :p
going to buy my new pc but i'm not sure if i'm going to do the right choices.
I should take a pc like this or a better one with 2-300more Euro and OC it(never OCed a pc )

http://uptiki.altervista.org/viewer....n7rrzeeodc.jpg

tnxu
Olys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:50 AM   #2
Ken g6
Elite Member
 
Ken g6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,319
Default

We can give more precise suggestions if you answer some questions. But overall:

1. You don't need a 3770k for gaming. Get a 3570k.
2. You probably don't need an 80plus gold 750W PSU. Your system with a 7970 would be hard-pressed to exceed 450W without overclocking. With overclocking, a 550-650W PSU should be sufficient, unless you want to crossfire later.
3. Speaking of which, an H77 board allows neither overclocking nor crossfire. Look for Z77 boards for overclocking.

Your RAM is good, your SSD is good, and your heat sink should be very good if it fits in the case. (It probably will, but I didn't check.)
__________________
Look for really BIG primes with TeAm AnandTech PrimeGrid!
Next race: April 20-23

vBulletin looking run down? Get your script fix here.
Ken g6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:51 AM   #3
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,633
Default

Sticky: NOTICE - PC builders, when asking for input on YOUR projects Please Tell us...
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:52 PM   #4
Olys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Default

k sorry about that
1. used for. Play. Autocad (not render)

2. budget is. 1300-1700 Euro

3. What country . Italy

4. post a link to the vendor www.e-key.it/

5. brand preference. no

6. current parts. no

7. overclocking. I don't have any experience on it. i prefer to don't

8. What resolution.1920x1080

9. WHEN 1 week:/ my gf needs a new pc and i have to give her mine (not the new one naturally)

X. Win7 64bit maybe not sure about that

After some feedback sent me from fiends today this is the last setup. now i need the ''expert'' point of view.Thanks you in advance

http://i50.tinypic.com/1607g43.jpg
Olys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:15 PM   #5
Olys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Default

or is better to place this
Dissipatore CPU Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 Intel 1155/1156/2011 Retail
this
RAM DDR3 Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 1600MHz 8GB (2x4GB) CL9
and this
SSD Samsung 840 Series 128GB Pro Basic 2.5" Lettura 520MB/s Scrittura 390MB/s SATA3 Retail

waiting suggestions
thanks!!!!!

Last edited by Olys; 01-08-2013 at 01:20 PM.
Olys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:17 PM   #6
Akorth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Can't comment on all ( actually not on most ) but I do have a few comments / thoughts since I've just been GPU shopping and use "big" screens.

Depending on what type of games you play and the monitor you buy ( does it support 2560x1600 - the one u posted doesn't ) i.e u'd run 1920x1200 then ya GPU might be overkill for current scenarios.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/6159/t...0-ti-review/10

If you look at that one u'd see what the 9790 pulls in framerates at max settings and 16 AA - if you look at the other games u'd see u in most if not all cases can go w something cheaper/smaller.
Personally I ended up w a Gigabyte Nvidia 660 OC because the OC ed has 2 fans and very good noise vs temp and pretty good performance - Gigabyte also has ATI ed's w that look for Windforce mark on their website ( the ti ed is there in the link but there's also a regular 660 reviewed somewhere on Anandtech ).
ATI or Nvidia? depends on prices in your country and what u feel fits your needs the best --- I go back and forth between them. ( and you can always SLI later on if performance becomes an issue...the GPU will be rather cheap then to pick up a 2nd ed of if the mobo can handle it...did not check! )

Personally I'd also go for a bigger monitor - I have a 27inch HP 2710 - 3 years old and out of stock...but personally I'd rather spend 100 euro less on a GPU ( than overkilling it ) and get more screenspace

Especially if you also need to do autocad, if you program or other cases where screen space is nice. ( unless you go dual monitor ).
Akorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:39 PM   #7
Olys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akorth View Post
....
oh thanks mate. btw my mistake. the monitor is just for my GF for watch films, it is in the order list but nothign to do with my pc anyway rly nice info about monitor thanks, i need a new one aswellXD

what about this setup mates? it is better?
http://i48.tinypic.com/j9lu15.jpg

or is better with this SSD http://www.e-key.it/prod-ssd-corsair...tail-19834.htm

Last edited by Olys; 01-08-2013 at 01:43 PM.
Olys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:29 PM   #8
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olys View Post
oh thanks mate. btw my mistake. the monitor is just for my GF for watch films, it is in the order list but nothign to do with my pc anyway rly nice info about monitor thanks, i need a new one aswellXD

what about this setup mates? it is better?
http://i48.tinypic.com/j9lu15.jpg

or is better with this SSD http://www.e-key.it/prod-ssd-corsair...tail-19834.htm
I was going to make some concrete suggestions, but then e-key.it went down. I would say to spend less on the PSU and case (especially case). You don't need some monstrous full tower for a normal build like this. Maybe something like the Corsair 300R or 400R.

As for the monitor, you might have enough for a 27" 2560x1440 panel. You can certainly get a 27" 1080p panel.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 03:02 AM   #9
Olys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
but then e-key.it went down.
What do you expect we are not in America!

btw thanks for your answer. i choose this case cause i wanted to do a big pc. then when i said i won't OC it i had to totally change my setup and yes now i've to change case aswellXD

For the monitor, you gor reason the one i choose is rly bad, i'm going to delete it from the list and going check around on web some, then i will ask for feedback again thanks u

Ps: 1)what about RAM? i wanted the 16GB ram g.skill but there are only 4x4GB Ares 1600 999 low profile(i think g.skill is way better than others,true?), or i've to take the Vengeance 16 GB 2x8GB 1600 999. which are the difference between 4x4GB and 2x8GB?
2) About SSD? i'm not loooking at money but at quality. i need a 128GB memory with good performance on games. i think i choose the best one but i need experts feedback:/SSD Samsung 840 Series 128GB Pro Basic 2.5" Lettura 520MB/s Scrittura 390MB/s SATA3 Retail.
Olys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:10 PM   #10
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19,857
Default

I don't really see the point in making a big PC just to be big. You're buying a big heavy mostly empty box.

I'd get the following:
Corsair TX650 89e
Corsair 300R 73e
Crucial M4 128GB 100e

Monitor:
You have the budget for this beauty (Dell U2713HM 551e), but I'm not sure what Non Disponsibile means. I'm guessing "out of stock", but I'm not sure.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.