Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 12:48 PM   #1
KeithP
Diamond Member
 
KeithP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 4,236
Default Cell phone only, no land line question

I have used a cell phone without a landline for awhile now. One problem that I am still working on is convenient access while I am at home.

To make sure I don't miss calls, I have to make sure the ringer is on and carry the cell phone from room to room so I can hear it and have it accessible. Not the ideal situation especially since when I leave the house I almost always have it set to silent.

Has anyone used this Panasonic Bluetooth cordless phone system?
http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-KX-T.../dp/B0073W729K

The reviews on Amazon seem reasonable. I would be using it with a HTC DNA.

-KeithP
__________________
Heat 64-0-0

Hoodies don't have zippers, chili doesn't have beans, the plane won't take off...deal with it.
KeithP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:15 PM   #2
Ashenor
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,227
Default

Ever think about just getting Magic Jack service or something at home?

I had it for awhile when my parents would come down so they had a landline to use, super cheap and actually decent to use.

Never heard anyone using that phone or anything like it though.
Ashenor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:24 PM   #3
compman25
Diamond Member
 
compman25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 3,742
Default

I use it and it works fine with SG3 and iphones. This is in a 2 story house and I have handsets upstairs and downstairs. I just leave my cellphone next to the base station when I'm home.
compman25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:24 PM   #4
Dulanic
Diamond Member
 
Dulanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: IL
Posts: 8,892
Default

OBi110 for a backup at all times. I do this myself. Cell Service is never 100%... a tower near me has been flaky for a week and I miss calls all the time right now.

http://www.amazon.com/OBi110-Service...eywords=OBi110
Dulanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 02:42 PM   #5
RockinZ28
Golden Member
 
RockinZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,516
Default

Damn another one of those tech goodies I didn't know existed lol.

Definitely need this. I'm on call 24/7, and often leave my work cellphone by the bed or whatever when I'm downstairs, have missed a few important calls.
RockinZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 02:58 PM   #6
railer
Golden Member
 
railer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: where it rains......upstate NY
Posts: 1,292
Default

What's the difference between the OBi110, OOma, and magic jack?

I think we'll be ditching our landline phone service here in a few months as well, but as the OP states, the convenience of having multiple phones throughout the house is going to be the biggest PITA in doing so.
railer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:43 PM   #7
Dulanic
Diamond Member
 
Dulanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: IL
Posts: 8,892
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by railer View Post
What's the difference between the OBi110, OOma, and magic jack?

I think we'll be ditching our landline phone service here in a few months as well, but as the OP states, the convenience of having multiple phones throughout the house is going to be the biggest PITA in doing so.
OBi110 runs off google voice. So if you use GV it is even better. My home phone rings and my cell phone all ring together. No monthly fee rocks. I think OOma has no monthly fee but charges taxes? And Magic jack is a joke... rip off for shitty service.
Dulanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:53 PM   #8
KeithP
Diamond Member
 
KeithP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 4,236
Default

In the interest of keeping the OP brief I left out some info.

I use Google Voice on my phone, it is the number I give people. I have tried MagicJack, an OBi box and VOIP from two different ISPs for use with my home cordless phone system. I have been experimenting for awhile, all of these solutions work most of the time but I experienced enough problems with them that I am looking for something else. Keep in mind these problems have occurred with different hardware, in two different cities (Huntington Beach first, now living in Sacramento area) and 3 different ISPs (Verizon FIOS in HB, Surewest and Comcast in Sacramento).

For instance, with the OBi device (currently using it) it sometimes refuses to ring and if I had the Google Talk plug-in running on my computer I couldn't make calls reliably from it. From my research on the OBi, it seems the best solution is to get a SIP number, and get that set up on the OBi and have GV point to that (a possibility).

I have talked to some people that have no problems with GV and others that have experiences closer to mine, it seems GV doesn't always work reliably with VOIP unless the service in question uses SIP. As I understand it, Ooma is a SIP system with "custom extensions" so it might be a solution.

Frys carries the Ooma and generally has good return policies so I might give that a shot before the Panasonic system.

-KeithP
__________________
Heat 64-0-0

Hoodies don't have zippers, chili doesn't have beans, the plane won't take off...deal with it.
KeithP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:32 PM   #9
compman25
Diamond Member
 
compman25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 3,742
Default

The Panasonic system I use will also allow for more than 1 cell phone to be tied to it at a time if that matters. I can set different ring tones for the different lines so my wife and I know who the call is for before answering.
compman25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:35 PM   #10
AlexAL
Senior Member
 
AlexAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 638
Default

Now that I've managed to go without a hard line it turns out that ADT security (for the house) requires a hard line otherwise the house system will not connected with their HQ. Is there a way to not have a hard line and have ADT? If not, what is the cheapest, featureless hard line phone service that I can purchase?
__________________
Clevo w355st, Win 8 Pro x64, i7 4700MQ, Nvidia 765M, m4 256Gb+2x 1Tb HDD, G.Skill 3x8Gb 1600 1.35v
AlexAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 12:03 PM   #11
compman25
Diamond Member
 
compman25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 3,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexAL View Post
Now that I've managed to go without a hard line it turns out that ADT security (for the house) requires a hard line otherwise the house system will not connected with their HQ. Is there a way to not have a hard line and have ADT? If not, what is the cheapest, featureless hard line phone service that I can purchase?
Maybe dump ADT for SimpliSafe
compman25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 12:27 PM   #12
AlexAL
Senior Member
 
AlexAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by compman25 View Post
Maybe dump ADT for SimpliSafe
Looks good. Wish I had known earlier.
__________________
Clevo w355st, Win 8 Pro x64, i7 4700MQ, Nvidia 765M, m4 256Gb+2x 1Tb HDD, G.Skill 3x8Gb 1600 1.35v
AlexAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 12:33 PM   #13
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,128
Default

ADT can now provide that link to a wireless system. Check out ADT Pulse Select.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola

Last edited by corkyg; 01-10-2013 at 12:37 PM.
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 12:37 PM   #14
AlexAL
Senior Member
 
AlexAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corkyg View Post
ADT can now provide that link to a wireless system. BTW, ADT has now been acquired by Tyco.
Thank you. I had a representative come over yesterday, and he did not mention this. I also ran across http://info.nextalarm.com/, who will monitor an existing alarm system via broadband.

I feel like I've derailed this thread now, but now I know two useful new things.
__________________
Clevo w355st, Win 8 Pro x64, i7 4700MQ, Nvidia 765M, m4 256Gb+2x 1Tb HDD, G.Skill 3x8Gb 1600 1.35v
AlexAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.