Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2013, 03:07 PM   #1
vailr
Diamond Member
 
vailr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 4,242
Default Firefox or Chrome on Kindle Fire: comments?

Have any Kindle Fire (or Fire HD) owners tried running an alternate web browser, such as Firefox or Google Chrome?
Any comments comparing either of those with the native Kindle Fire "Silk" web browser?
TIA

Note: there are YouTube tutorials showing "how to" install either alternative web browser:
Firefox
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4rsaLeGjSoU
Chrome
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XnHMumfi78
__________________




Last edited by vailr; 01-04-2013 at 03:13 PM.
vailr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:14 PM   #2
ChronoReverse
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,919
Default

I'd try Dolphin or Opera Mobile (not Mini) instead. Both Chrome and Firefox for Android aren't quite up to snuff in various ways.
ChronoReverse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:19 PM   #3
Ravynmagi
Platinum Member
 
Ravynmagi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,188
Default

Not sure why, but I had dramatically different experiences with Chrome on the Kindle Fire HD 7 and Fire HD 8.9.

Not sure why, but on the Fire HD 8.9 Chrome was pretty slow and I had to use Dolphin instead. On the 7 inch Fire HD Chrome runs impressively fast and is my main browser. Dolphin runs great on both, but I prefer Chrome because it's what I use on my desktop and all my bookmarks and tabs sync nicely between the devices.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K 4.0GHz, 16GB, ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3, GTX 680, Intel 520 Series 180GB
Seasonic M12 700 watt, Cooler Master Cosmos S, Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fans

Windows: Dell Venue 8 Pro, Nokia Lumia 521
Android: Nexus 5, Nexus 4, Nexus 7 2013, LG G Pad 8.3, Nook HD+
iOS: iPad Mini with Retina, iPhone 5S
Ravynmagi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:04 PM   #4
richierich1212
Golden Member
 
richierich1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vallejo, CA (SF Bay Area)
Posts: 1,928
Default

Boat Browser is the best Android browser
__________________
HEAT
His G840 / Corsair H50 / ASRock Z68 Pro3-M / G. Skill 16GB DDR3 1600 / MSI 4550 / NZXT Hale90 650w
Hers G530 / Stock HSF / ASUS P8H61-I / SuperTalent 2x4GB 1333 CL8 / Antec Neo 520c
Kid's G530 2.4GHz / A70 / ECS H61H2-M2 / OCZ 4GB DDR3 1066 / Antec Neo 620c
HTPC A6-3650 2.9GHz 1.248v / Stock Copper HSF / MSI A75MA-G55 / G. Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 1866 MHz 9-10-9-28-42 / Coolermaster GX450 Bronze
richierich1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:40 PM   #5
Chiropteran
Diamond Member
 
Chiropteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 7,824
Default

I use chrome exclusively on my Kindle Fire HD 7. I hate the default amazon browser.
__________________
http://writeangry.blogspot.com/
Chiropteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:10 AM   #6
lothar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 6,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richierich1212 View Post
Dolphin is the best Android browser
Fixed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnusTheBrewer View Post
If you make it to age 30 and have never been arrested you're either still living in your parents basement, part of the 1% or, both.
lothar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:29 AM   #7
Oyeve
Lifer
 
Oyeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,425
Default

I prefer chrome on my android based devices. Haven't had any issues yet.
__________________
My Heat
Oyeve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:50 AM   #8
dguy6789
Diamond Member
 
dguy6789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 8,316
Default

Chrome's pretty buggy now(it used to be much better) but it's still probably the best Android browser.
dguy6789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:27 AM   #9
ponyo
Lifer
 
ponyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 11,912
Default

I like Chrome because of other devices sync but it has uneven performance on mobile. Dolphin I like but I can't stand all the banner ads on websites, especially Yahoo. Both Chrome and Dolphin lack Flash support so I find myself using AOSP browser the most. It's the fastest and best performing browser and it works with Flash.
ponyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 03:07 PM   #10
clamum
Lifer
 
clamum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 21,269
Default

I use Dolphin just cause it was required to install Flash. Maybe I'll give Chrome a shot.
__________________
\ Battlefield 4 Stats /\ Heat /
clamum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 03:13 PM   #11
ChronoReverse
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,919
Default

Chrome is has improved a bit on Android but it's slower than the Stock browser (which do the syncing Chrome does) and doesn't support flash. Not a huge fan of it because of that.
ChronoReverse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:17 PM   #12
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 36,573
Default

I like Tint2 but it requires ICS+. For all versions I like Zirco. I pretty much stick with libre software, so I don't use Opera or Dolphin, but they're both functionally good browsers. Firefox has been a disappointment. I'm a huge fan on the desktop, but the mobile browser's a real pig. Functions/features are good, but it uses a tremendous amount of ram.
lxskllr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:56 PM   #13
lothar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 6,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxskllr View Post
I like Tint2 but it requires ICS+. For all versions I like Zirco. I pretty much stick with libre software, so I don't use Opera or Dolphin, but they're both functionally good browsers. Firefox has been a disappointment. I'm a huge fan on the desktop, but the mobile browser's a real pig. Functions/features are good, but it uses a tremendous amount of ram.
Firefox on desktop is a memory hog as well.
Not sure how you don't notice this.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnusTheBrewer View Post
If you make it to age 30 and have never been arrested you're either still living in your parents basement, part of the 1% or, both.
lothar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 11:09 PM   #14
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 36,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lothar View Post
Firefox on desktop is a memory hog as well.
Not sure how you don't notice this.
Desktop doesn't use significantly more ram than other major browsers. I'm using 525mb with 20 tabs open. In any case, that's an insignificant fraction of my 8gb installed. I'm more concerned about the 21mb apk size, and a 120mb used with 3 tabs open on my tablet since I only have 1gb on that. It's also a bit laggy. That contrasts with 18mb used on Zirco, which is snappy, but not very pretty.
lxskllr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:06 AM   #15
ChronoReverse
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lothar View Post
Firefox on desktop is a memory hog as well.
Not sure how you don't notice this.
It hasn't been since version 5. We're on version 17 of Firefox. Chrome generally uses more RAM than Firefox (not necessarily a bad thing) nowadays because of the per-tab-process design.

But Firefox on Android is pretty bad.
ChronoReverse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:51 AM   #16
lothar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 6,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChronoReverse View Post
It hasn't been since version 5. We're on version 17 of Firefox. Chrome generally uses more RAM than Firefox (not necessarily a bad thing) nowadays because of the per-tab-process design.

But Firefox on Android is pretty bad.
I left Firefox in version 4.x last year or the year before and never looked back.
How the hell has it reached version 17 already in only 2 years or less?

It is a bad thing when you have to end process or one tab crashes your entire browser. That's what I hated about Firefox.
With Chrome, I get the notification about the offending tab and kill the page and continue browsing as usual.
If it was Firefox, the misbehaving website will make the browser unstable and make the system slow to a crawl and I would have had to press the ctrl-alt-delete button to start task manager and kill Firefox process and notice it eating gigs of ram. The kicker for me was after terminating the Firefox process and launching it again, it goes back to its memory hog ways. Only a system reboot cured the problem.
Since I started using Chrome, I've never had to start task manager for any reason at all so maybe that's why I never noticed.

And yes, I am one of those people who have dozens of tabs open.
On my desktop, I probably have 50+ tabs open right now.

/posting from my Nexus 7 in bed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnusTheBrewer View Post
If you make it to age 30 and have never been arrested you're either still living in your parents basement, part of the 1% or, both.
lothar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:19 AM   #17
ChronoReverse
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,919
Default

Yeah, stuff like that is usually resolved after a while. Misbehaving sites is usually due to javascript or flash. Plugins run in a different thread now so that's just about the same. Meanwhile, long-running scripts bring up the dialog asking whether you want to stop it so that has a partial solution.

In any case, Chrome on the desktop is a great browser, I only wanted to point out that if memory usage really was a problem (rather than being just a number you saw and being worried about it), Chrome would be exacerbating it.
ChronoReverse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 12:03 PM   #18
nasalass
Junior Member
 
nasalass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles Ca
Posts: 1
Default

I am about to download & install the Dolphin on my kf hd 7 / will let you know how it goes
nasalass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 12:51 PM   #19
Ravynmagi
Platinum Member
 
Ravynmagi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,188
Default

Cool, I had been holding my breath for almost 7 months waiting for this.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K 4.0GHz, 16GB, ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3, GTX 680, Intel 520 Series 180GB
Seasonic M12 700 watt, Cooler Master Cosmos S, Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fans

Windows: Dell Venue 8 Pro, Nokia Lumia 521
Android: Nexus 5, Nexus 4, Nexus 7 2013, LG G Pad 8.3, Nook HD+
iOS: iPad Mini with Retina, iPhone 5S
Ravynmagi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.