Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2012, 06:12 PM   #1
NestorPR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Unhappy Have to disable/enable wifi adapter at startup

Hi, new member here! This may have been answered before but I couldn't find it by using search.

I have a new Gigabyte GA-F2A85X-UP4 with an AMD A10-5800K, 32G Corsair Vengeance memory, XFX Radeon R7770 1G HD GPU, 128G OCZ Vertex4 SSD, Gigabyte GA-WB300D WiFi/BT adapter and Windows 7/64 Ultimate (FYI to help diagnose my issue).

MY problem is that, right after startup the internet is very slow (I have 18M service), less than 1M throughput even though my signal reception is excellent. When I disable and then enable the adapter the throughput jumps to 15-16M as it should be. As long as I don't reboot the internet performance stays excellent but if I reboot then I have to disable/enable the adapter again. I have tried a Trendnet and an Asus PCE-N15 adapter prior to the Gigabyte and I had the same issue with all of them so I think it's a Windows problem but have no idea where to look. I already checked the Systems menu and found no conflicts, what could be happening?
NestorPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 06:57 PM   #2
zCypher
Diamond Member
 
zCypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,635
Default

Sounds like you could have some traffic saturating your connection? Do you run any cloud sync utilities for google drive, dropbox, etc? Torrents running in the background? If you can monitor your traffic over that interface you'd get an idea if that's the cause.
__________________
1100T, Biostar TA870U3+, 16GB DDR3, 240GB Mushkin Chronos Deluxe, 2x1TB Black, 2x3TB Green, 3GB XFX 7970, Antec 650W, CM690, Dell U2713HM & Samsung 2343BWX
zCypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 11:52 PM   #3
NestorPR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for answering, no, nothing like that, I don't use the cloud or such things as of yet. I have monitored the applications and usage but it's not the internet that's at fault, apparently when the pc first boots up, the adapter is started at a very low throughput, but when I disable and then enable it, it shoots up to almost the maximum. And it stays like that as long as I don't reboot or shut down the pc, so apparently internet traffic is not the cause.
NestorPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 01:45 AM   #4
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,406
Default

Delete your connection and uninstall your adapter drivers. Install the latest drivers (download them first!), then setup your connection again.

If it still acts the same you may have a problem with your router. Test on another network/router, if possible.
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco ISIL Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric ISIS Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State Liberation Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock
AnonymouseUser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:56 PM   #5
NestorPR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the suggestion, I tried that and still have the issue. The problem is not a deal breaker but it's annoying, any other ideas?
NestorPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:50 PM   #6
Smoove910
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 1,128
Default

does it happen regardless of how long you let it sit? I'm wondering if from initial startup the router is assigning IP address to your adapter from the DHCP, which might take a few moments before things are fully initialized?
__________________
Mobo: Biostar TA880GU3+ uATX
Proc: AMD Phenom II 960T unlocked/6 cores @ 3.5ghz
Ram: (4) 4gb GSkill 1600mhz (16gb total)
HDDs: (2) 640GB WD AAKS, (1) 750GB Seagate Ext
Vid: Sapphire 6870 1gb DDR5 1000mhz core, 1100 mhz mem
Camera: Pentax K5, I'm not a Canikon fanboy.
Smoove910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 08:22 PM   #7
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,406
Default

I wonder if the USB 3.0 ports are causing interference, loading after the wifi adapter on boot. Are you using any USB 3.0 devices? Can you disable USB 3.0 in the BIOS to test this theory?
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco ISIL Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric ISIS Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State Liberation Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock
AnonymouseUser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 08:33 PM   #8
Lemon law
Lifer
 
Lemon law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20,991
Default

Its a mystery to me too but far less an annoyance for me that our OP reports. As what our OP reports also happen to me, but at at only the frequency of 5% of time.
Lemon law is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:30 AM   #9
NestorPR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoove910 View Post
does it happen regardless of how long you let it sit? I'm wondering if from initial startup the router is assigning IP address to your adapter from the DHCP, which might take a few moments before things are fully initialized?
It only happens at first boot and I then enable-disable the adapter, then, even if it goes to sleep, when it wakes up, it´s OK, I don´t have to repeat the procedure until after I shut the pc down. I thought the same thing, maybe there´s a conflict when the pc first comes on but how do I test that?
NestorPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:31 AM   #10
NestorPR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnonymouseUser View Post
I wonder if the USB 3.0 ports are causing interference, loading after the wifi adapter on boot. Are you using any USB 3.0 devices? Can you disable USB 3.0 in the BIOS to test this theory?
I am using USB 3.0 devices, I'll try that and let you know.
NestorPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.