Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2012, 04:43 PM   #226
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,188
Default

Have any of you found a solution to the CPU bottleneck? I'm experiencing it as well. Here are my settings/rig:

1080p
2500k @ 4.4ghz
7850 crossfire at 1180mhz
BF3 set to ultra mode with 4xAA

*edit* it turns out that by disabling crossfire I'm now pegged at 60fps even on large multiplayer maps.

*edit #2* I updated to the 12.9 beta cats and it's fixed. One of my GPUs might have been clocked at 525mhz as well which I have also fixed. I'm now getting excellent performance.
__________________
Asus X53E l i3-2350M l 16gb DDR3 l OCZ Agility 4

Last edited by SickBeast; 09-29-2012 at 06:34 PM.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 08:12 PM   #227
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,110
Default

I'm not sure why, but I have absolutely zero performance issues with BF3 @ 1920x1200 w/2500K @ 4.5

I can hit 4.8-5.0 with higher voltage, but it doesn't seem worth it to me.

Rest :

16GB DDR3-1866, 2GB 670 FTW, 256GB Vertex 4, Asus Z68 Pro, etc.

The only things I turn down I believe are shadows a notch, and AA a little bit. Leave HBAO on, everything else maxed, solid ~60FPS with Vsync on (I freaking hate tearing). All together works well, good enough to maintain a 3+ KDR at least, which is decent enough for a non-flier.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:03 PM   #228
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,188
Default

It must be the glasses.
__________________
Asus X53E l i3-2350M l 16gb DDR3 l OCZ Agility 4
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:40 PM   #229
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickBeast View Post
It must be the glasses.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:47 PM   #230
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkaign View Post
I'm not sure why, but I have absolutely zero performance issues with BF3 @ 1920x1200 w/2500K @ 4.5

I can hit 4.8-5.0 with higher voltage, but it doesn't seem worth it to me.

Rest :

16GB DDR3-1866, 2GB 670 FTW, 256GB Vertex 4, Asus Z68 Pro, etc.

The only things I turn down I believe are shadows a notch, and AA a little bit. Leave HBAO on, everything else maxed, solid ~60FPS with Vsync on (I freaking hate tearing). All together works well, good enough to maintain a 3+ KDR at least, which is decent enough for a non-flier.
There really never was an "issue". It was more of an annoyance that people were seeing their dual card setups not getting full usage. It is due to a CPU bottleneck. Performance is great anyways.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:15 PM   #231
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,370
Default

Back from the dead this thread goes.

While back,my 3770k system was stolen and just this week i have configured basically the finishing touchs on this new build with some interesting numbers.

System has a i5 2500 non k,a evga gtx670 8gb of ram and a 180 ssd.

Tried out a empty Gulf of Oman server using a 17'' 144x900 monitor,settings all maxed as well as vsync enabled with interesting results.....

I have found on top of the towers and big buildings,gpu usage would be in the 80-96% range but for the most part i was holding 60fps .

I actually had to enable vsync cause my cpu kept loading well over 80% usage on all the cores and it caused some major stuttering for some reason only killing msaa would fix,or enabling vsync would fix.....
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 01:01 PM   #232
TheUnk
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipsneeky2 View Post
I actually had to enable vsync cause my cpu kept loading well over 80% usage on all the cores and it caused some major stuttering for some reason only killing msaa would fix,or enabling vsync would fix.....
VSync in an FPS? ewww

~
GameTime.MaxVariableFPS 60
TheUnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 01:41 PM   #233
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,098
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUnk View Post
VSync in an FPS? ewww

~
GameTime.MaxVariableFPS 60
Hmm yes not everyone likes playing with image tearing.

Don't be like that other guy I talked to in CS go who told me he was getting 300fps with vsnyc off and was not getting any image tearing and he actually expected me to believe him.

I understand in some games it not as noticeable but on a fps with fast movement that is where I see image tearing the most.
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | 7970 Ghz Twin Frozr 3GB | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | D-link DGL-4500 | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:05 PM   #234
TheUnk
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post
Hmm yes not everyone likes playing with image tearing.

Don't be like that other guy I talked to in CS go who told me he was getting 300fps with vsnyc off and was not getting any image tearing and he actually expected me to believe him.

I understand in some games it not as noticeable but on a fps with fast movement that is where I see image tearing the most.
Doesn't the tearing mostly occur when FPS is above your display Hz? So at a solid 60fps there is rarely any tearing to be seen?
TheUnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:18 PM   #235
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
SPBHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post
Hmm yes not everyone likes playing with image tearing.

Don't be like that other guy I talked to in CS go who told me he was getting 300fps with vsnyc off and was not getting any image tearing and he actually expected me to believe him.

I understand in some games it not as noticeable but on a fps with fast movement that is where I see image tearing the most.
tearing vs lower input latency,
I prefer lower input latency...
also there are a lot of variables, I play without vsync and in many games tearing is far less noticeable
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:17 PM   #236
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,098
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUnk View Post
Doesn't the tearing mostly occur when FPS is above your display Hz? So at a solid 60fps there is rarely any tearing to be seen?
yes it does occur when your fps is above your hz.

But how many new games do you get 60fps solid across all of the maps.

So that would be 60fps avg,max,minimum.

When I start playing borderlands 2 with vsync off I notice image tearing right away.

ON CS its not as obvious but I still see it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SPBHM View Post
tearing vs lower input latency,
I prefer lower input latency...
also there are a lot of variables, I play without vsync and in many games tearing is far less noticeable
It was never a question about input latency vs tearing. Most people would take tearing over input lag!

And I agree it seems to vary on a game to game basis.
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | 7970 Ghz Twin Frozr 3GB | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | D-link DGL-4500 | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750

Last edited by Makaveli; 11-07-2012 at 04:34 PM.
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:52 PM   #237
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,370
Default

I only enabled vsync cause when it was not enabled i was dipping into the 40fps range at some random points,despite low gpu usage which indicated a cpu bottleneck.

Enabling vsync in my case dropped cpu load,turned the stuttering mess into silky smooth gameplay but i have found some situations where a gtx670 at 1440x900 can still dip as low as 54fps....when this happens theres a much higher cpu load,low gpu usage and the apparent stutter suggesting i need more cpu power.

Will be jumping ship and getting a 1080p monitor when my gf gets this monitor after her tower is built in a few months,but damn i'm blown away by the experience still i am seeing at 1440x900 with such high end hardware.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:00 PM   #238
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUnk View Post
VSync in an FPS? ewww

~
GameTime.MaxVariableFPS 60
Will try this option out,see if there is any difference between nvidia vsync and this command.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:33 PM   #239
AdamK47
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 10,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUnk View Post
VSync in an FPS? ewww

~
GameTime.MaxVariableFPS 60
Screen tearing in an FPS? ewww

~
RenderDevice.VSyncEnable true
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:43 PM   #240
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,370
Default

I tried both the mentioned options,no difference from what i saw.

On another note,i toyed around a bit on the gulf of oman map again,same settings as before and i saw it dip into the 40s still on a 64 player server.

I decided to drop the settings all the way to low 1024x768 and i saw basically the same results as i did at 1440x900 ultra indicating and proving the evidence of a bottleneck.

Might just believe pulling a minimum of 60 fps in this game is impossible right now with current generation hardware at basically any resolution under the sun.

Two gtx670s can hit into the 50s still with a oced 3930k at 1080p, i will assume that would be the case with a single gtx670 even as low as 1024x768.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:02 PM   #241
Rvenger
VC&G Moderator
 
Rvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 4,876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipsneeky2 View Post
I tried both the mentioned options,no difference from what i saw.

On another note,i toyed around a bit on the gulf of oman map again,same settings as before and i saw it dip into the 40s still on a 64 player server.

I decided to drop the settings all the way to low 1024x768 and i saw basically the same results as i did at 1440x900 ultra indicating and proving the evidence of a bottleneck.

Might just believe pulling a minimum of 60 fps in this game is impossible right now with current generation hardware at basically any resolution under the sun.

Two gtx670s can hit into the 50s still with a oced 3930k at 1080p, i will assume that would be the case with a single gtx670 even as low as 1024x768.

My OC'd 2500k would dip in the mid 50's on gulf of omen at any resolution.
__________________
i7-4770k @ 4ghz - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H - 16gb GSkill 2133mhz - Powercolor R9 290x - 128gb Sandisk Ultra Plus - 256gb Adata SP900 - 2tb WD Green - NZXT 850w Modular PSU - CM Storm Stryker
Rvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 03:01 PM   #242
fugtigkost
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Default

http://www.twitch.tv/nicz_dk

and he is using these settings https://dl.dropbox.com/u/62958880/Untitled.png

his hardware is in the twitch info, look it out, the fps he is recording with is over 100 all the time
fugtigkost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 04:27 PM   #243
UaVaj
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,096
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Karnage View Post
Whats with the joke graph? Medium settings?
medium setting gives me headache from all the jagged edges.

lol.
UaVaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:04 PM   #244
Fx1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fugtigkost View Post
http://www.twitch.tv/nicz_dk

and he is using these settings https://dl.dropbox.com/u/62958880/Untitled.png

his hardware is in the twitch info, look it out, the fps he is recording with is over 100 all the time
thats cus those settings suck.
Fx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:22 PM   #245
bunnyfubbles
Lifer
 
bunnyfubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 11,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamK47 View Post
Screen tearing in an FPS? ewww

~
RenderDevice.VSyncEnable true
input lag far worse than any sort of screen tearing

vsync is for casuals
__________________
i7 3930K @ 4.7GHz + XSPC Raystorm/EX280/D5 | ASUS Sabertooth X79 | EVGA GeForce GTX780 | 4x4GB Samsung Green DDR3 @ 1866 CAS9 1.5v | 2x256GB Samsung 830 RAID-0 | 3 x 1.5TB Hitachi 7K3000 RAID-0 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Creative X-Fi Titanium HD | Seasonic Platinum-1000 | Silverstone FT02 | BenQ XL2420T | Dell U2711 | Filco Majestouch-2 Tenkeyless Cherry MX Red | Razer Abyssus + Goliathus Speed | Beyerdynamic MMX300 / Astro A40 2013
bunnyfubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 11:28 PM   #246
InsaneAdam
Junior Member
 
InsaneAdam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pensacola, florida
Posts: 15
Default

I'm getting a 3820 sb-e in the mail today or tomorrow. Plan on overclocking to 4.7- 4.8 maybe more if it's stable. Will this be enough cpu power to handle bf3 64 player?


Posted from Anandtech.com App for Android
InsaneAdam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 11:38 PM   #247
2is
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InsaneAdam View Post
I'm getting a 3820 sb-e in the mail today or tomorrow. Plan on overclocking to 4.7- 4.8 maybe more if it's stable. Will this be enough cpu power to handle bf3 64 player?


Posted from Anandtech.com App for Android
What do you think?
__________________
Intel i7 3770K|240GB Intel SSD 520|Asus P8Z77-V Pro|2x GTX 680 SLI (2GB)|180GB Corsair Force SSD|Corsair TX750|2x8GB DDR3 1600 (1.35v)
2is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:00 AM   #248
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InsaneAdam View Post
I'm getting a 3820 sb-e in the mail today or tomorrow. Plan on overclocking to 4.7- 4.8 maybe more if it's stable. Will this be enough cpu power to handle bf3 64 player?


Posted from Anandtech.com App for Android
My old h61+i5 2500 non k could handle this game with a single gtx670,going to a 3930k@4ghz only netted me a much faster loading time,tad bit smoother gameplay but not enough to warrant suggesting as a must have for the game.

You could leave that 3820 at stock and i bet with a single gpu,you won't even notice a difference besides a slightly faster loading time.

Honestly was thinking today that by the time people can max this game out hardware wise all the way and sustain 60fps at all times,that most people will be playing BF4 struggling as much as they did prior with BF3.

Last edited by skipsneeky2; 01-08-2013 at 12:09 AM.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:05 AM   #249
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamK47 View Post
Screen tearing in an FPS? ewww

~
RenderDevice.VSyncEnable true
This^

V-sync is only off for benchmarks.
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:15 AM   #250
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lakedude View Post
This^

V-sync is only off for benchmarks.
Hell,i have a stuttering fest with my Evga gtx670 ftw if adaptive vsync is not enabled,have tried basically every driver ,a reformat and reinstall of my os and still adaptive vsync is the only fix for me.

Notice the stutter even more if i enable MSAA,it just stutters something awful,like i am getting 15fps.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.