Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2013, 07:42 PM   #1
Evleos
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 32
Default AMD HD8xxx specs

Vithren over at Semiaccurate seems to have found the HD8xxx specs, c.f. http://semiaccurate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6859

Specs: http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...desktop.aspx#2

I'm having a hard time spotting what's new. You?

Last edited by Evleos; 01-07-2013 at 07:55 PM. Reason: I was wrong, the ROP ratio is still the same, color ROP and stencil ROP confused me.
Evleos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:45 PM   #2
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,227
Default

With it being on AMD's site, probably legit.




Quote:
Originally Posted by pdf

Detailed Features Listing
AMD Radeon™ HD 8970 GHz Edition GPU Feature Summary (OEM)
1GHz Engine Clock (up to 1.05GHz with boost)
 3GB GDDR5 Memory
 1500MHz Memory Clock (6.0 Gbps GDDR5)
 288GB/s memory bandwidth
 4.3 TFLOPS Single Precision compute power
 1.07 TFLOPS Double Precision compute power
 GCN Architecture
1
o 32 Compute Units (2048 Stream Processors)
o 128 Texture Units
o 128 Z/Stencil ROP Units
o 32 Color ROP Units
o Dual geometry units
o Dual Asynchronous Compute Engines (ACE)
 PCI Express 3.0 x16 bus interface
2
 DirectX® 11.1-capable graphics
o 9th generation programmable hardware tessellation units
o Shader Model 5.0
o DirectCompute 11
o Accelerated multi-threading
o HDR texture compression
o Order-independent transparency
 OpenGL 4.2 support
o Partially Resident Textures (PRT)
Ultra-high resolution texture streaming technology
 Image quality enhancement technology
o Up to 24x multi-sample and super-sample anti-aliasing modes
o Adaptive anti-aliasing
o Morphological Anti-Aliasing (MLAA) 2.0
o DirectX® 9/10/11 Super Sample Anti-Aliasing (SSAA)
Automatic LOD adjustment (Requires AMD Catalyst™12.4 or higher)
o 16x angle independent anisotropic texture filtering
o 128-bit floating point HDR rendering
 AMD Eyefinity multi-display technology
3
o Up to 6 displays supported with DisplayPort 1.2 Multi-Stream Transport
o Independent resolutions, refresh rates, color controls, and video overlays
o Display grouping
Combine multiple displays to behave like a single large display
 AMD App Acceleration
4
o OpenCL 1.2 Support
o Microsoft C++ AMP
o DirectCompute 11
o Double Precision Floating Point
o Unified Video Decoder (UVD)
H.264
VC-1
MPEG-2 (SD & HD)
MVC (Blu-ray 3D)
MPEG-4 Part 2 (DivX/Xvid)
Adobe Flash
DXVA 1.0 & 2.0 support
o Video Codec Engine (VCE)
Multi-stream hardware H.264 encoder
Full-fixed mode: 1080p @ 60 FPS encoding
Hybrid mode: Stream Processor-assisted encoding
o Enhanced Video Quality features
Advanced post-processing and scaling
 Deblocking
 Denoising
AMD Radeon™HD 8970 Graphics [OEM ONLY] 2

Last edited by Ferzerp; 01-07-2013 at 07:51 PM.
Ferzerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:51 PM   #3
AnandThenMan
Platinum Member
 
AnandThenMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,560
Default

Specs look really lame.
AnandThenMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:52 PM   #4
notty22
Diamond Member
 
notty22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beantown
Posts: 3,304
Default

Click on the 8950 link, and brings up a PDF
it shows.

GCN Architecture1
o 28 Compute Units (1792 Stream Processors)
o 112 Texture Units
o 128 Z/Stencil ROP Units
o 32 Color ROP Units
o Dual geometry units
o Dual Asynchronous Compute Engines (ACE)

8970 PDF
http://www.amd.com/us/Documents/AMD_...re_Summary.pdf
Detailed Features Listing
AMD Radeon™ HD 8970 GHz Edition GPU Feature Summary (OEM)
 1GHz Engine Clock (up to 1.05GHz with boost)
 3GB GDDR5 Memory
 1500MHz Memory Clock (6.0 Gbps GDDR5)
 288GB/s memory bandwidth
 4.3 TFLOPS Single Precision compute power
 1.07 TFLOPS Double Precision compute power
 GCN Architecture1
o 32 Compute Units (2048 Stream Processors)
o 128 Texture Units
o 128 Z/Stencil ROP Units
o 32 Color ROP Units
o Dual geometry units
o Dual Asynchronous Compute Engines (ACE)
__________________
I5 750@3940mhz , Gigabyte p55 ud4p
1600mhz ddr3 4GB
GTX 660 2gb SC
Let's make sure history never forgets... the name... 'Enterprise'. Picard out.

Last edited by notty22; 01-07-2013 at 07:54 PM.
notty22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:56 PM   #5
wand3r3r
Platinum Member
 
wand3r3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,736
Default

I need to refresh my memory on the 7900 series but it doesn't appear to be a huge bump in specs.
wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:56 PM   #6
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 6,117
Default

Specs are the same as a 7970GHZ, ROPS, Shaders, throughput, memory speed etc.

I think those specs are place holders until it gets updated with the correct information.
__________________
5960X @ 4.5 | X99 Deluxe | 16GB 2400 GSkill DDR4 | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | Corsair AX1200i
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:06 PM   #7
Tempered81
Diamond Member
 
Tempered81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,358
Default

128 rops is 4x the rops

edit. Oh nvm it's z-stencil
Tempered81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:10 PM   #8
iMacmatician
Member
 
iMacmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States of America
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
I think those specs are place holders until it gets updated with the correct information.
Ahh. Good point. Hopefully that's the case.
iMacmatician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:20 PM   #9
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
Specs are the same as a 7970GHZ, ROPS, Shaders, throughput, memory speed etc.

I think those specs are place holders until it gets updated with the correct information.
Or they're pulling some weird OEM rebrand crap (like nvidia's done with low end stuff), but yeah, those don't look like new specs.
Ferzerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:21 PM   #10
HurleyBird
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
Specs are the same as a 7970GHZ, ROPS, Shaders, throughput, memory speed etc.

I think those specs are place holders until it gets updated with the correct information.
Yeah, looks almost certainly to be a typo. I'll be very disappointed if it isn't.
HurleyBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:26 PM   #11
f1sherman
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,875
Default

You better believe it. It's true.

HD8000 is NOT Sea Island.

D. Bauman said that himself few days ago.
f1sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:26 PM   #12
StinkyPinky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A sandpit with casinos
Posts: 4,840
Default

If that's not a typo then it's going to be the most boring launch ever.
__________________
Intel i7 4790K, GIGABYTE Z97X-UD5H, 16GB G.SKILL Ares DDR3 1866MHz , ASUS R9 280X DirectCU II TOP 3GB, Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB + 3 x 1TB Samsung F3, 1 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda. Windows 8.1 Pro

Late 2013 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4258U 2.4Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 256GB SSD
StinkyPinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:09 PM   #13
badb0y
Diamond Member
 
badb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,784
Default

Failure. GTX 780 will roflstomp this junk.
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.4 ghz with NH-D14 - GTX 780 SLI (Stock) - 12GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Ripjaws RAM - SilverStone SG10 - NZXT Hale90 750W PSU -ASUS Maximus V Gene - Crucial MX100 512GB
Heatware: badboydiablo 23-0-0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil deGrasse Tyson
God is an ever-receding pocket of scientific ignorance.
badb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:17 PM   #14
chimaxi83
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,548
Default

Uhh, if true,

Do not want.
__________________
Mine: 3770K - MSI Z77 MPower - Gigabyte 290 CF - 16GB Samsung - M4 256GB/Caviar Black 1TB - XFX Core Pro 1050W - NZXT Switch 810 - Auria IPS 27" 2560x1440 - Custom loop
Kiddo: 3770K - MSI Z77A-G43 - 7870 Tahiti LE - 8GB Samsung - M4 64GB/Caviar Black 1TB - Antec Neo Eco 620W - HAF 922
chimaxi83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:17 PM   #15
Haserath
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 729
Default

Difference between HD7k and HD 8k is drivers fixing the memory issues.
Haserath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:24 PM   #16
ShadowOfMyself
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badb0y View Post
Failure. GTX 780 will roflstomp this junk.
You mean like how the 680 roflstomped the 7970?

Either way, no way these specs are true since this is basically the same card but with 384bit bandwidth
__________________
Let's say we're advanced enough in few thousands years. And we simply build a stick that's 2.5 LY long. And then simply move it 5 inches forward. It is fully testable.
ShadowOfMyself is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:40 PM   #17
badb0y
Diamond Member
 
badb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowOfMyself View Post
You mean like how the 680 roflstomped the 7970?

Either way, no way these specs are true since this is basically the same card but with 384bit bandwidth
Not sure what your going on about, we already know that the GTX 780 will probably be based on GK110 which nVidia has already released(http://www.anandtech.com/show/6446/n...rrives-at-last). I am expecting at least a 20%-30% performance increase over a GTX 680 for the GTX 780.

Also the 7970 has 384-bit memory interface.
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.4 ghz with NH-D14 - GTX 780 SLI (Stock) - 12GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Ripjaws RAM - SilverStone SG10 - NZXT Hale90 750W PSU -ASUS Maximus V Gene - Crucial MX100 512GB
Heatware: badboydiablo 23-0-0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil deGrasse Tyson
God is an ever-receding pocket of scientific ignorance.
badb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:41 PM   #18
Ryan Smith
The New Boss
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 190
Default

These specs are real, gang. Just like 2012, AMD is launching a number of rebadges as OEM-only cards. You won't see these cards in retail, but OEMs demand products with higher part numbers for 2013 so AMD gives OEMs what they want. I have no clue what AMD's proper refresh parts will be named, but these aren't it. For the answer to that you're waiting until at least Q2 of this year.

And don't be surprised if NVIDIA does something similar here in the near future. They play the same game (and work for the same OEMs) as AMD.
Ryan Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:43 PM   #19
badb0y
Diamond Member
 
badb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Smith View Post
These specs are real, gang. Just like 2012, AMD is launching a number of rebadges as OEM-only cards. You won't see these cards in retail, but OEMs demand products with higher part numbers for 2013 so AMD gives OEMs what they want. I have no clue what AMD's proper refresh parts will be named, but these aren't it. For the answer to that you're waiting until at least Q2 of this year.

And don't be surprised if NVIDIA does something similar here in the near future. They play the same game (and work for the same OEMs) as AMD.
Thanks for clearing that up.

FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU AMD
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.4 ghz with NH-D14 - GTX 780 SLI (Stock) - 12GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Ripjaws RAM - SilverStone SG10 - NZXT Hale90 750W PSU -ASUS Maximus V Gene - Crucial MX100 512GB
Heatware: badboydiablo 23-0-0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil deGrasse Tyson
God is an ever-receding pocket of scientific ignorance.
badb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:47 PM   #20
AnandThenMan
Platinum Member
 
AnandThenMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Smith View Post
These specs are real, gang. Just like 2012, AMD is launching a number of rebadges as OEM-only cards. You won't see these cards in retail, but OEMs demand products with higher part numbers for 2013 so AMD gives OEMs what they want. I have no clue what AMD's proper refresh parts will be named, but these aren't it. For the answer to that you're waiting until at least Q2 of this year.

And don't be surprised if NVIDIA does something similar here in the near future. They play the same game (and work for the same OEMs) as AMD.
Doesn't make sense. The 8970 won't be a retail product? Then what will the 7970 replacement be called?
AnandThenMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:00 PM   #21
3DVagabond
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 8,299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnandThenMan View Post
Doesn't make sense. The 8970 won't be a retail product? Then what will the 7970 replacement be called?
They could skip a series, like Fermi. nVidia went straight from GTX-200 to 400 with the 300 parts being OEM only.
3DVagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:06 PM   #22
HurleyBird
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,047
Default

I really wish AMD and Nvidia would stop with this garbage designed to intentionally confuse consumers. Hopefully Nvidia takes the high road this time.
HurleyBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:10 PM   #23
3DVagabond
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 8,299
Default

Unfortunately it's one of those things that when one does it the other has to to be competitive.
3DVagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:27 PM   #24
Ryan Smith
The New Boss
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 190
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/show/6570
Ryan Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:39 PM   #25
georgec84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 234
Default

It seems like AMD has lost some significant ground in laptop GPUs to nVidia the past year or two. I hope they can make it up a bit.
georgec84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.