Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2013, 09:51 AM   #1
Fx1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,207
Default Ga-z77x-ud3h-wb wifi

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H-WB WIFI

Anyone have any experience with this mobo?

i have the x58 version and its been fine but i want to see if anyone has used this version?

Seems great for the price including the BT and WIFI
Fx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:04 AM   #2
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,901
Default

Review: http://www.hardwareluxx.com/index.ph...h-wb-wifi.html
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:13 AM   #3
Fx1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Damn thats a good review for a mobo thats 137

Looks to be a deal.
Fx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 02:32 PM   #4
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,515
Default

I had the non WIFI version and it was a good board. Only reason I sold it was because if you populate all the PCIe 16 slots it disables the PCIe x1 slots. That posed to be a problem since it meant I couldn't use my wifi card with all my GPU's installed.

Not sure if this is true for other Z77 Mobo's as well, so I went with the X79 platform.
__________________
Space for sale!
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:19 PM   #5
Fx1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UNhooked View Post
I had the non WIFI version and it was a good board. Only reason I sold it was because if you populate all the PCIe 16 slots it disables the PCIe x1 slots. That posed to be a problem since it meant I couldn't use my wifi card with all my GPU's installed.

Not sure if this is true for other Z77 Mobo's as well, so I went with the X79 platform.
There is a wifi version i guess would have been good for you
Fx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 07:30 PM   #6
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fx1 View Post
There is a wifi version i guess would have been good for you
Not really, it would have halved my bandwith. PCE X16 would run at x8 speed and the x8 slot would run at x4 speed. So I would have still gone the X79 route

http://www.gigabyte.us/products/prod...px?pid=4167#sp
__________________
Space for sale!
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:03 AM   #7
Fx1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UNhooked View Post
Not really, it would have halved my bandwith. PCE X16 would run at x8 speed and the x8 slot would run at x4 speed. So I would have still gone the X79 route

http://www.gigabyte.us/products/prod...px?pid=4167#sp
The wifi module fits in the Msata slot doesnt it which would leave your SLI at 8x and 8x?
Fx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:20 AM   #8
coffeejunkee
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UNhooked View Post
Not really, it would have halved my bandwith. PCE X16 would run at x8 speed and the x8 slot would run at x4 speed. So I would have still gone the X79 route

http://www.gigabyte.us/products/prod...px?pid=4167#sp
Why not just use a pci-e x1 slot?
coffeejunkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:59 AM   #9
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,515
Default

Duplicate
__________________
Space for sale!

Last edited by UNhooked; 01-07-2013 at 10:02 AM.
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:00 AM   #10
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fx1 View Post
The wifi module fits in the Msata slot doesnt it which would leave your SLI at 8x and 8x?

Got 3 GPUs hence the issue. 2 GPU's wouldn't have posed the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeejunkee View Post
Why not just use a pci-e x1 slot?
GPU won't fit in a PCIe X1 slot

The issue with my NON Wifi version was if I had my 3rd GPU installed in the PCI x16 @4x Speed, it would disable the PCIe X1 slots hence disabling my Wifi card.

With the Wifi version, it doesn't disable the PCIe x1 slots but halves the bandwith of the PCIe x16 slots to 8x and 4x respectively. So essentially with 3 GPU's it will run at 8x/4x/4x speeds.

Hope that helps

Now I guess a mSATA wifi module with the NON Wi fi version would have fixed my problem but I would have been out of expansion slots
__________________
Space for sale!
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:14 AM   #11
coffeejunkee
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
Default

I'm obviously talking about the wifi-module, not a graphics card.

You can clearly see it's a pci-e x1 card and the specs mention nothing about pci-e slots being disabled, either for the normal model or the wifi one. The only slots that share bandwidth are the pci-e x16 slots. It doesn't make any sense either, the pci-e x1 slots run from the southbridge, the pci-e x16 slots from the cpu itself.
coffeejunkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:25 AM   #12
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeejunkee View Post
I'm obviously talking about the wifi-module, not a graphics card.

You can clearly see it's a pci-e x1 card and the specs mention nothing about pci-e slots being disabled, either for the normal model or the wifi one. The only slots that share bandwidth are the pci-e x16 slots. It doesn't make any sense either, the pci-e x1 slots run from the southbridge, the pci-e x16 slots from the cpu itself.
This is the one I had NON Wifi Version

http://www.gigabyte.us/products/prod...px?pid=4153#sp

3) 1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4)
* The PCIEX4 slot shares bandwidth with all PCI Express x1 slots. All PCI Express x1 slots will become unavailable when a PCIe x4 expansion card is installed.

This is for the WIFI version

http://www.gigabyte.us/products/prod...px?pid=4167#sp

3) 1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4)
* The PCIEX4 slot is available only when an Intel 22nm (Ivy Bridge) CPU is installed.
* The PCIEX4 slot shares bandwidth with the PCIEX8 and PCIEX16 slots. When the PCIEX4 slot is populated, the PCIEX16 slot will operate at up to x8 mode and the PCIEX8 will operate at up to x4 mode.


UPDATE:

My mistake the WIFI model I was looking at was the UD5H version. The GA-Z77X-UD3H-WB WIFI is the same phyisical board as the NON WIFI version and hence the PCIe X1 do get disabled once you populate the PCIe x4 slot. This makes more sense.

Sorry for the confusion. However my original statement about the PCIe X1 slots getting disabled still stands true.

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...px?pid=4166#sp

3)1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4)
* The PCIEX4 slot shares bandwidth with all PCI Express x1 slots. All PCI Express x1 slots will become unavailable when a PCIe x4 expansion card is installed.


Now what I don't know is if this is true for all Z77 chipsets? Since 16 lanes come from CPU but I thought 8 lanes comes from the chipset itself so technically there shouldn't be a need to disable the PCie X1 slots. Guess there must be some other stuff running of the other 4 lanes.
__________________
Space for sale!

Last edited by UNhooked; 01-07-2013 at 10:45 AM.
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 11:14 AM   #13
coffeejunkee
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
Default

My mistake too I guess, the UD5H model is indeed different from the UD3H in this department.

Technically the UD3H isn't a 'real' Z77 board since this chipset should offer x8/x4/x4 pci-e 3.0 lanes for triple gpu's. Z75 is limited to x8/x8. Looks like some costs were cut by just using the southbrige's pci lanes.

So if you actually use the included wifi-module you lose the pci-e x4 slot, probably not that relevant for most users but still a bit of a bummer.
coffeejunkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 12:34 PM   #14
Fx1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,207
Default

I wont be using 3 GPU''s so i guess thats not a problem. its clearly a 2 way SLI/CF board and not a Tri SLI one.
Fx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 12:40 PM   #15
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fx1 View Post
I wont be using 3 GPU''s so i guess thats not a problem. its clearly a 2 way SLI/CF board and not a Tri SLI one.
Running a CF setup. I just use the Nvidia card for Physx and Encoding. I would still however get the UD5H since you can still use all expansion slots as opposed to UD3H where it just disables the PCIe x1 slots with the last PCIe x16 @4x populated.

Other than that it really is a nice board.

Just my 2 cents
__________________
Space for sale!
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 12:51 PM   #16
Fx1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UNhooked View Post
Running a CF setup. I just use the Nvidia card for Physx and Encoding. I would still however get the UD5H since you can still use all expansion slots as opposed to UD3H where it just disables the PCIe x1 slots with the last PCIe x16 @4x populated.

Other than that it really is a nice board.

Just my 2 cents
Most i will ever use is the included wifi and a 2 way CF or SLI
Fx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.