Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2012, 08:42 PM   #1
Diamond Member
zCypher's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,767
Default Is it enough?

System details are in my sig. I have a 7970 on the way to replace my 460. Given the existing devices in the system, should I still be ok with this power supply? I think so, but you guys might have some more insight in case I am mistaken.

zCypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:30 PM   #2
Elite Member
Zap's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378

Yes it will be fine.
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:31 PM   #3
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
Torn Mind's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,447

Should be plenty. Single GPU systems won't go over 400 watts in total system power consumption.
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
Torn Mind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:39 PM   #4
Diamond Member
zCypher's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,767

Ok, thanks for confirming this. Hopefully will have it tomorrow, yay!
zCypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 11:14 AM   #5
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: romford essex, united kingdom
Posts: 4

plenty you have a 650 watt psu, most modern graphics cards are well over-emphasized, in other words they hardly use half what the manufacturer recommends you will be fine providing you don't add other card or crossfire as this adds quite a bit to power consumption.
leej1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 12:00 PM   #6
Golden Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,522

Should be good.

Running the setup in my sig with 2 X 7970 OCed to GHZ speeds,CPU Oced to 4.7Ghz @1.295V and a 3rd GT 650 as a Physx and encoding card and I average about 720 Watts so you should be more than fine with your PSU provided you don't add another 7970 in there.
Space for sale!
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.