Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2013, 08:09 PM   #1
Baasha
Golden Member
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,723
Arrow 30 Minutes of GTA IV!

What do you get when you have 30 minutes of GTA IV modded (iCEnhancer 2.1, texture mods, and a ton of custom cars) on 3 30" monitors (5160x2560)?

Pure awesomeness! - http://youtu.be/8X5Ftz_FEXU

I made a couple of other videos of GTA IV and some other games as well. Check them out and let me know what you guys think!

Link: http://www.youtube.com/user/ThirtyIR
__________________
4K Surround Gaming: ThirtyIR

Exotic Car Madness: UberExotica

For Sale: Corsair ForceGT 120GB
Baasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:14 PM   #2
HeXen
Diamond Member
 
HeXen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,891
Default

I wouldn't like having those 2 bezels splitting up the view.
Ever try the first person mod? Makes for a different experience.
__________________
Some words that more American's need to learn so as not to become a burden onto others nor ones self.

"Moderation" "Self discipline" "Willpower" "Responsibility" "Think ahead" "Independent"
HeXen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:16 PM   #3
sandorski
No Lifer
 
sandorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: coquitlam, bc
Posts: 57,197
Default

Not to be a dick, but it would be better if you actually recorded in game footage rather than the Cam shot.

It is a cool setup though.
__________________

FX 8320@4ghz||Zalman LQ310||AsusM5A99X EVO R2
||XFX 5870 1gb||16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3||Seasonic M12 II 500watts||Zalman Z9 Plus||Asus MS238H

Science inspires us towards a better tomorrow, Fundamentalism wants us to die.
sandorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:16 PM   #4
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,181
Default

The bezels! They ruin everything!
Ferzerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:45 PM   #5
lupi
Lifer
 
lupi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: duh, winning!
Posts: 25,037
Default

wow that looks like crap.
__________________
Rift Free Trial:

http://www.riftgame.com/en/products/...=ascend_invite
lupi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:45 PM   #6
Baasha
Golden Member
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandorski View Post
Not to be a dick, but it would be better if you actually recorded in game footage rather than the Cam shot.

It is a cool setup though.
I'm not sure how one can even record "in game footage" at this resolution(?). It would require gobs of VRAM that probably only Hollywood studios or research facilities have. Even the 4GB of VRAM on the GTX-680 Classified is almost used up just playing the game. Trying to "record" gameplay @ 13.2M pixels is near impossible.

I should, however, probably invest in a better camcorder - maybe a "4K" camera since the one I'm using is a bit old (but gets the job done).

There are some vids on the channel of Crysis 2 recorded at 1600P (2560x1600) or using one 30" monitor but doing nVidia Surround with 3 30" monitors is hard to 'capture'.

Maybe in the not too distant future, they will have GPUs with 32GB VRAM! LOL.
__________________
4K Surround Gaming: ThirtyIR

Exotic Car Madness: UberExotica

For Sale: Corsair ForceGT 120GB
Baasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:47 PM   #7
Baasha
Golden Member
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,723
Default

And it's funny how almost everyone is fixated on the "bezels".

Your eyes actually learn to ignore them (that is if you're playing the games). I guess it can be annoying to the uninitiated but who gives a shit? It's my system and I love it.
__________________
4K Surround Gaming: ThirtyIR

Exotic Car Madness: UberExotica

For Sale: Corsair ForceGT 120GB
Baasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:54 PM   #8
Bman123
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bottom of the map
Posts: 2,733
Default

I couldn't do it the bezels are too much for me too handle.
__________________
Xbox one GT- Cmonv1deogame
Psn id- Comeonvideogame
Galaxy Mega
Vizio E60LI-A3 tv
Bman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:20 PM   #9
power_hour
Senior Member
 
power_hour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: nowhere important
Posts: 789
Default

Not bad. You need to work on your driving skills...haha
power_hour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:29 PM   #10
sandorski
No Lifer
 
sandorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: coquitlam, bc
Posts: 57,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baasha View Post
I'm not sure how one can even record "in game footage" at this resolution(?). It would require gobs of VRAM that probably only Hollywood studios or research facilities have. Even the 4GB of VRAM on the GTX-680 Classified is almost used up just playing the game. Trying to "record" gameplay @ 13.2M pixels is near impossible.

I should, however, probably invest in a better camcorder - maybe a "4K" camera since the one I'm using is a bit old (but gets the job done).

There are some vids on the channel of Crysis 2 recorded at 1600P (2560x1600) or using one 30" monitor but doing nVidia Surround with 3 30" monitors is hard to 'capture'.

Maybe in the not too distant future, they will have GPUs with 32GB VRAM! LOL.
Record at 1080p
__________________

FX 8320@4ghz||Zalman LQ310||AsusM5A99X EVO R2
||XFX 5870 1gb||16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3||Seasonic M12 II 500watts||Zalman Z9 Plus||Asus MS238H

Science inspires us towards a better tomorrow, Fundamentalism wants us to die.
sandorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:31 PM   #11
Dankk
Diamond Member
 
Dankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mormonville, Utah
Posts: 5,067
Default

Is there a reason you used an off-screen camera to record, rather than FRAPS?

Was it to show off your three monitors?
__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.4GHz | MSI TwinFrozr 7870 1050/1200
MSI 990FXA-GD80 V2 | G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 1600
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD | Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB HD

Steam
Dankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:37 PM   #12
Baasha
Golden Member
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by power_hour View Post
Not bad. You need to work on your driving skills...haha
LOL.. I just saw the video again.. and you're right.. my driving is absolute shite!

I flew through the windshield about a dozen times.. It's not me.. It's the retard behind the wheel (Niko). XD
__________________
4K Surround Gaming: ThirtyIR

Exotic Car Madness: UberExotica

For Sale: Corsair ForceGT 120GB
Baasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:38 PM   #13
Baasha
Golden Member
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandorski View Post
Record at 1080p
I don't quite get what you mean.. FRAPS has two settings for capturing video: Full resolution and "half" resolution. Full resolution @ 5160x2560 is impossible as I explained earlier. Half resolution looks like ass. Is there some other setting that I can make it record @ 1080P?

I hope you watched the video @ 1080P.
__________________
4K Surround Gaming: ThirtyIR

Exotic Car Madness: UberExotica

For Sale: Corsair ForceGT 120GB
Baasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:39 PM   #14
Baasha
Golden Member
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessThanDan View Post
Is there a reason you used an off-screen camera to record, rather than FRAPS?

Was it to show off your three monitors?
haha.. no it's because you cannot record gameplay using FRAPS at the resolution I'm playing at. The game would crash instantly (due to lack of VRAM).
__________________
4K Surround Gaming: ThirtyIR

Exotic Car Madness: UberExotica

For Sale: Corsair ForceGT 120GB
Baasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:55 PM   #15
sandorski
No Lifer
 
sandorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: coquitlam, bc
Posts: 57,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baasha View Post
I don't quite get what you mean.. FRAPS has two settings for capturing video: Full resolution and "half" resolution. Full resolution @ 5160x2560 is impossible as I explained earlier. Half resolution looks like ass. Is there some other setting that I can make it record @ 1080P?

I hope you watched the video @ 1080P.
Ok, my bad. That said, the current vids fail to show the enhancements. So, though it is impressive performance for the Resolution/Enhancements involved, from a Gameplay viewing perspective it is not compelling to watch.

IMO
__________________

FX 8320@4ghz||Zalman LQ310||AsusM5A99X EVO R2
||XFX 5870 1gb||16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3||Seasonic M12 II 500watts||Zalman Z9 Plus||Asus MS238H

Science inspires us towards a better tomorrow, Fundamentalism wants us to die.
sandorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:02 PM   #16
Face2Face
Diamond Member
 
Face2Face's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Anand's Backyard
Posts: 3,009
Default

Sweet setup - Awesome rig!! I have been meaning to try iceEnhancer again. Is there a link or place you can recommend for me to go to try these mods out. Would it be too much to list the mods you are using?

Thanks
__________________
3570K @ 4.8GHz - Z77X-UD4H - 16GB Samsung 1866MHz - GTX 780 Lightning + NZXT Kraken G10 - QX2710 1440p @ 96Hz
Face2Face is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:06 PM   #17
mizzou
Diamond Member
 
mizzou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,575
Default

I like large 4:3 monitors better when it comes to eyefinity setups, it combines better horizontal and vertical space without going to extremes on either end
mizzou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 02:41 PM   #18
Baasha
Golden Member
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 1,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Face2Face View Post
Sweet setup - Awesome rig!! I have been meaning to try iceEnhancer again. Is there a link or place you can recommend for me to go to try these mods out. Would it be too much to list the mods you are using?

Thanks
Sure.. most of the mods I have are from gta4-mods.com

In terms of listing the mods I'm using, the main one is of course iCEnhancer 2.1. Other than that, it's an assortment of mods for textures and a ton of custom cars (mostly from that site) - these are too many to list individually though.

Good luck!
__________________
4K Surround Gaming: ThirtyIR

Exotic Car Madness: UberExotica

For Sale: Corsair ForceGT 120GB
Baasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gameplay, gta 4, thirtyir

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.