Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2013, 03:38 AM   #476
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,964
Default

First off, this thread is just for discussing mfenn's mid-range build - for other queries make a new thread.

Do you need ECC RAM? If so you need a Supermicro X79 workstation board and a Xeon E5-1600 or E5-2600 series CPU. If not, any consumer X79 board with 8 DIMM slots will do, plus an i7-3820 or better. i5's are out since they're for LGA1155 which doesn't support more than 32GB of RAM.

As for the video card, what are inputs do your monitors have?
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 01-03-2013 at 03:45 AM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 03:47 AM   #477
Paul Ma
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 717
Default

Thanks for your response- I don't need ECC, so I'll take a look at the X79. The most common input I have is DVI. I would in fact prefer all DVIs, but some miniDPs are also acceptable. HDMI is my least preferred.
Paul Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:11 AM   #478
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,964
Default

OK. This'll do the trick: MSI 7770 $125 AR. DVI + HDMI + dual mini-DP. As far as I know, only the first two monitors can be connected with DVI and HDMI, the rest have to be Displayport for Eyefinity to work.

If you didn't know, HDMI signal is identical to DVI.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:28 AM   #479
Paul Ma
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 717
Default

Thanks, this is perfect! I didn't know HDMI was identical to DVI. I had some problems with HDMI outputting beyond 1080p on my U3011 (perhaps I have a non 1.4 version cable)
Paul Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 05:14 AM   #480
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,964
Default

Firstly, I don't think U3011 supports 2560x1600 over HDMI, only via DVI and DP. Are all your monitors U3011's? If not, what monitors do you have exactly?

Also, HDMI signal is identical to DVI (can be converted using a passive adapter) but the bandwidth isn't necessarily the same. DVI comes in single link and dual link, and only the latter has the full pin arrangement to support 2560 wide resolutions. Dual link connectors on both ends and a dual link cable are required. HDMI 1.3 and later support 2560 wide but it may not work when using an adapter and it may depend on the monitor.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 02:23 PM   #481
Paul Ma
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 717
Default

Thanks lehtv for your time btw. I have 2 2009FPs with my U3011, but yes I think you're right, the U3011 handicapped the HDMI.

I also took a look at prices between the X79 and the Z77?? and it appears that I am going to be paying a premium to have those 8 dimm slots. In terms of timing of purchase I can hold off for a few months or even til the end of 2013 if you think something in the horizon may come, for example Ivy Bridge E?
Paul Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:15 PM   #482
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,964
Default

You have three monitors then? It seems the 2009FP's only have DVI and VGA so it'd be ideal to have a card with 2x DVI + Displayport for the U3011. That way you wouldn't need a HDMI->DVI adapter or a HDMI-DVI cable for one of the 2009FP's. Sapphire 7770 Vapor-X has 2x DVI, 1x DP (not mini) and an additional HDMI for backup or a fourth monitor.

Yeah, 8 DIMM slots are going to cost you some extra, but X79 boards are more expensive than Z77 to begin with, even the ones with only 4 DIMM slots. That's just because it's an enthusiast platform. I would get Asrock X79 Extreme6, i7-3820 and Corsair XMS 64GB 1333MHz.

Ivy Bridge-E is going to take at least another 6 months and I wouldn't expect any price drops in LGA2011 prices in the near future.
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 01-03-2013 at 04:21 PM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:03 PM   #483
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Ma View Post
I also took a look at prices between the X79 and the Z77?? and it appears that I am going to be paying a premium to have those 8 dimm slots. In terms of timing of purchase I can hold off for a few months or even til the end of 2013 if you think something in the horizon may come, for example Ivy Bridge E?
You're going to be paying a premium for 8 DIMM slots well into the forseeable future. It is not likely that Intel's future mainstream/performance sockets (ie. 1155 descendents) are going to support more than 4 DIMM slots. You will always have to buy the more expensive enthusiast/server socket if you go with Intel. And Intel is pretty much the only way to go until AMD gets its act together again.

Market segmentation!
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 07:34 PM   #484
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,192
Default

New build up. I did the usual SSD, PSU, case shuffle. Since the 2TB drive is only $10 more than the 1TB, I decided to throw that in as well. Obviously you could grab the 1TB to save the money.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:13 PM   #485
Kyle
Diamond Member
 
Kyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,834
Default

Thanks! FYI, link still going to 1tb drive for me at least.
__________________
Heatware
Kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:09 PM   #486
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle View Post
Thanks! FYI, link still going to 1tb drive for me at least.
Right you are! Fixed.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 06:33 PM   #487
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,192
Default

New build. There are no really good SSD deals at Newegg today, so I put in the Corsair Neutron 128GB for $120. It's a LAMD controller, which is pretty decent, I'm just sad that it is $120. Everything is is the usual price shuffling.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:18 AM   #488
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,964
Default

Why not Samsung 840 120GB $100?
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:23 PM   #489
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Why not Samsung 840 120GB $100?
I considered it, but the TLC NAND kind of worries me. Not because of any endurance concerns, but because of the inconsistent program times. It's certainly a viable alternative for anybody looking to shave $20 off the build though.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 03:36 PM   #490
DSF
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,876
Default

It doesn't look like the 1TB HDD deal is still active.
DSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 01:26 PM   #491
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSF View Post
It doesn't look like the 1TB HDD deal is still active.
Yeah, deals come and go throughout the week. I will update it on Sunday
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:43 PM   #492
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,192
Default

New build, just the normal shuffling. This is not a great week for deals, SSD and RAM pricing continues to be tough and not 7000 series GPUs are starting to dry up.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:21 AM   #493
brallen1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 60
Default performance

If I built this computer (1/20/13 update) and played games on a monitor that has 2560x1600, what kind of performance can we get with this set up? Games such as Max Payne 3, Battlefield 3, Assassins Creed 3, Call of Duty, Bioshock, Far Cry 3, etc. Thanks!
brallen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:29 PM   #494
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,964
Default

You can run any game on 2560x1600 with a single 7970, it just depends on how low settings you're willing to play with. Typically demanding games will require low-medium for 60fps

If you haven't bought the monitor yet though, then reconsider. I would much rather pay less for a 2560x1440 monitor and get a dual GPU setup or upgrade some other parts in the rig like the cooler, the motherboard, the PSU, bigger SSD...
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 04:10 PM   #495
brallen1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 60
Default

does anybody have any suggestions for monitors that are as good as this for less money? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824176242
This hp is number 1 on my list so far. Thanks
brallen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 04:42 PM   #496
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,964
Default

The only 27" 1440p IPS monitors that are less expensive, that I know of:

Asus PB278Q $648 - no idea how good this, but Asus generally is pretty good. According to specs, the response time is 5ms versus HP's 14ms. But take it with a grain of salt.

Auria EQ276W $400 - more likely dead pixels, no height adjustment or other 'frills', generally just cheaper quality

Overlord Tempest X270 $370-530 - all three out of stock. The X270OC can reportedly overclock pretty well to 110-120Hz
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:27 PM   #497
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
You can run any game on 2560x1600 with a single 7970, it just depends on how low settings you're willing to play with. Typically demanding games will require low-medium for 60fps

If you haven't bought the monitor yet though, then reconsider. I would much rather pay less for a 2560x1440 monitor and get a dual GPU setup or upgrade some other parts in the rig like the cooler, the motherboard, the PSU, bigger SSD...
Agree. The rig will give you great performance in 1920-wide resolutions (pretty much max everything out), and will handle 2560-wide resolutions decently well, but you really need dual GPUs to max everything at 2560.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:05 PM   #498
brallen1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 60
Default

A second GPU can be added down the road if wanted with this set up?
brallen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:07 PM   #499
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brallen1 View Post
A second GPU can be added down the road if wanted with this set up?
Not as listed, no. It would require changing the mobo and PSU out. Check out the build that I posted in your other thread to get an idea.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:12 PM   #500
brallen1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 60
Default

Ok, Thank you
brallen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.