Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2013, 05:17 AM   #1
sonoferu
Senior Member
 
sonoferu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 205
Default Complete rookie question - streaming netflix on an old TV

My wife has had a mail-order netflix account for a long time and now is really wanting to do the streaming thing to the TV. The thing is I know almost nothing about what is needed, and never cared about that stuff so my first question is - will it work if I get the hardware for it and try to run it with our rather old TV.

We had a digital TV till it died last fall, and we got a free replacement from her sister - they had an old one in the garage. 27 inch GE, the picture is ok, but I havent been able to figure out how to get our DVD player to work with it. It works with a VCR, but not our DVD. I actually suspect it's so old it doesnt work with DVD's and may well not work with streaming netflix

We have a wireless home network so I hope streaming can go through that. I hate to think of running a cat 5 cable to the TV.

See how rookie my questions are?

I see stuff online about Roku - is that the way to go?
sonoferu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:41 AM   #2
Cpus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 345
Default

You need a streaming box. Roku is probably the cheapest.
Cpus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:50 AM   #3
Brainonska511
Lifer
 
Brainonska511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpus View Post
Roku is probably the cheapest.
This. If you don't need 1080p, a Roku LT is ~$50.

Is the tv an old CRT tv? Does it have composite video connections available (red/white/yellow)? Does your VCR also have any inputs available that you could use to hook stuff into the tv?
__________________
Desktop: Core i3-2100 | CM Hyper TX3 | AMD HD5770 | MSI H67MA-E45 (B3) | Intel 520 120GB | 8GB DDR3 1333
HTPC: SilverStone ML03 | Pentium G3240 | Gigabyte GA-H81M-H | 8GB DDR3 1600 | Corsair Force LS 60GB SSD | Antec EarthWatts 380W
Laptop: T420i | Core i3-2310M | 8GB DDR3 | Intel 525 120GB mSATA | 500GB HDD
Heatware My Flickr
Brainonska511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:42 AM   #4
sonoferu
Senior Member
 
sonoferu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 205
Default

Its a GE 27GT622. I guess its a CRT - it's fat and sticks out the back like an older TV

I got the VCR to work by trying things, and the solution was to feed the incoming cable into the VCR and then a coax cable to the TV. There also are red/yellow/white input jacks on back of the VCR - an old panasonic

On back of the tv there are 2 sets of input jacks - one red/yellow/white labeled "IN" and one pair of inputs labeled "S-VIDEO". thats it. The previous TV of ours had more stuff in the back.

I've thought of going to Craigslist and find a newer TV, that I would expect to be able to work with a Roku.

One of my biggest questions is will the whole thing work anyway? I worry that maybe the wireless router wont give the throughput I need [is throughput the word?] I really dont want to run a cable to the TV. I did my own home network years ago and it was a real task
sonoferu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:48 AM   #5
Brainonska511
Lifer
 
Brainonska511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,610
Default

If you have a red/yellow/white input available on the tv, you can hook up a Roku (the Roku LT has red/yellow/white output).

As for the wireless, you can probably test that using a laptop. If you can stream with a laptop near that tv, then the Roku should be just fine, especially if you're doing web-streaming.
__________________
Desktop: Core i3-2100 | CM Hyper TX3 | AMD HD5770 | MSI H67MA-E45 (B3) | Intel 520 120GB | 8GB DDR3 1333
HTPC: SilverStone ML03 | Pentium G3240 | Gigabyte GA-H81M-H | 8GB DDR3 1600 | Corsair Force LS 60GB SSD | Antec EarthWatts 380W
Laptop: T420i | Core i3-2310M | 8GB DDR3 | Intel 525 120GB mSATA | 500GB HDD
Heatware My Flickr
Brainonska511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:53 PM   #6
sonoferu
Senior Member
 
sonoferu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
If you can stream with a laptop near that tv, then the Roku should be just fine, especially if you're doing web-streaming.
Meaning streaming a Netflix movie or just general streaming of anything, like a youtube or a PBS video or some such? My wife likes to watch Jon Stewart, does that count?
sonoferu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:01 PM   #7
sonoferu
Senior Member
 
sonoferu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 205
Default

Actually I guess I could go on and get the Roku. try it and if it doesnt work with this old TV then a new one would be inevitable anyway
sonoferu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.