Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2012, 07:37 PM   #1
talon39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default Does my laptop need a new screen?

I have a Toshiba Satellite C675 Laptop. Everything on the screen has a strange vertical shadow or ghost.. For example, if I open a window partially minimized, it displays a ghost or shadow extending above and below the window. If I move the window, the ghost follows it..
I have made a screencast that can be viewed here: http://www.screencast.com/t/gz6ye7rFiqRo
This seems like the screen is actually getting a bad signal, so I removed the bezel and checked the connections, but the ghost is still there, no change.. I connected an external monitor to see if its the video card.. However the external monitor looks clean. No ghosts or shadows.. So I think it has to be the screen or some problem with the cable between the video board and the screen. Has anyone else seen a problem like this? What do you think is causing it? I dont want to buy a new screen just to have the same problem.
talon39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:26 PM   #2
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Not sure what your problem is but I actually have an extra 1600 by 900 17.3" screen if you need it.

My laptop came with a glossy screen which I don't care for so I swapped it out for a matte screen. Nothing wrong with the glossy screen, I just don't prefer it.
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 01:27 AM   #3
talon39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

What did your screen come out of? Im not sure the connections will be the same.

This is what I need (if it is the screen).



Last edited by talon39; 12-25-2012 at 01:31 AM. Reason: Added images
talon39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 02:12 AM   #4
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Acer AS7741G-3647

The new screen came with an extension cable so it would work regardless of if the computer needs a left or right connection.

I didn't need the cable so I have the old glossy screen and the cable available.


Last edited by lakedude; 12-25-2012 at 02:19 AM.
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 02:27 AM   #5
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Figure out if you need it before we go any further.
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 04:10 AM   #6
talon39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

That's a good question.. Nobody has seen this kind of problem before. I tried safe mode to rule out the drivers.. Same problem in safe mode.. Send me a private message with your contact info, if I need it, I will let you know. The connection appears to be in the right place..
talon39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 06:51 PM   #7
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,187
Default

You might try it with an external monitor if possible. If the error transfers there, it is not likely to be a screen problem.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

... Lack of transparency is a huge political advantage. And basically, call it the stupidity of the American voter or whatever, but basically that was really really critical for the thing to pass...... Dr. J. Gruber, ACA Architectural Consultant
corkyg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 09:17 PM   #8
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corkyg View Post
You might try it with an external monitor if possible. If the error transfers there, it is not likely to be a screen problem.
OP already did that:
Quote:
Originally Posted by talon39 View Post
I connected an external monitor to see if its the video card.. However the external monitor looks clean..
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 01:01 PM   #9
talon39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Hi Lakedude.. Looks like I will need a new screen.. I am unable to send private messages due to my low post count.. Can you send me a private message with your contact info, and how much you need to get for that screen?
talon39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:16 PM   #10
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Sure!

I don't need anything except maybe you cover shipping. It will take a couple days for me to find it and ship it (I ain't NewEgg).
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 05:36 PM   #11
talon39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks alot.. Youre a lifesaver!
talon39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 06:25 AM   #12
talon39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Did you get my email lakedude? I sent it a few days ago.
talon39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 09:07 PM   #13
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Yeah, check your PM

Sent display today USPS Priority Mail.
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 01:39 AM   #14
talon39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks.. I sent a reply via email (still cant reply to PMs). Thanks again for your help. I'll let you know if that fixes it.. Even if this doesnt fix it, at least I can rule out the display. It has to be either the display or the inverter.
talon39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:10 PM   #15
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talon39 View Post
Thanks.. I sent a reply via email (still cant reply to PMs). Thanks again for your help. I'll let you know if that fixes it.. Even if this doesnt fix it, at least I can rule out the display. It has to be either the display or the inverter.
You are welcome.

It is not the inverter BTW.

An inverter is basically just a ballast for fluorescent backlights. When an inverter goes bad the screen goes dark. You might be able to see a little going on with just the right lighting but the screen will be very dark.

The screen I sent has LED lighting (not fluorescent) so it does not have an inverter.

I assume your old screen was LED as well?
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:27 PM   #16
talon39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Im new to this, but I thought I saw in inverter board when I had it open, but I could be wrong. I learned about the inverter after I put it back together.. But I thought I remember a long narrow board near the base with a separate connection.
talon39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:38 PM   #17
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

That does sound like an inverter board...

However the part that comes up when you type in Toshiba C675 is LED backlit just like the one I sent.

Well we will know in a couple days if it works.

Sorry if it does not help you.

Last edited by lakedude; 01-03-2013 at 09:40 PM.
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:12 PM   #18
talon39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Dont worry about it. I'm truly grateful for your help. I'll post some pictures of the process. Maybe it can help somebody else..
talon39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:00 PM   #19
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Does it works? Delivery confirmation is showing that the package is delivered...
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:11 AM   #20
talon39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

The screen arrived today. I took a few pictures of the replacement process and results.
Here is the problem. Display has a washed out look. There are vertical shadows around the icons and windows.



Here's the new screen. Looks like it will fit.



Start by removing the battery.. Then Remove the bezel.. Pretty simple.. Just remove the little caps over the screws. Remove the screws and carefully pop off the bezel. Once the bezel is off, remove the screen. There were 6 small screws holding the old screen in place (3 on each side of the bracket).



Comparing the old screen (top) to the new screen (bottom). The connectors are the same.



Attaching the cable is pretty simple.. Just make sure its seated securely.



Problem solved!! Display looks perfect!!

talon39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:42 AM   #21
rsutoratosu
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,353
Default

awesome!
rsutoratosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:24 AM   #22
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

You are welcome. Glad it worked out.
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
laptop display, screen problem

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.