Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2013, 10:51 PM   #101
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 29,100
Default

Was there ever a server variant of Core2 family that had six real cores? Kind of like the Core2 equivalent of Thuban? That would really be something to own.

Dunnington or something?

Edit: Yes, according to Wikipedia, it wasn't just my imagination.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xeon#7...2Dunnington.22
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff7 View Post
Set an otherwise adequately-intelligent person in front of a computer and some act like every incorrect mouse click will cause a child to be dumped into an industrial blender.

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 01-04-2013 at 10:54 PM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:11 PM   #102
crashtech
Diamond Member
 
crashtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southern Idaho
Posts: 4,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Was there ever a server variant of Core2 family that had six real cores? Kind of like the Core2 equivalent of Thuban? That would really be something to own.

Dunnington or something?

Edit: Yes, according to Wikipedia, it wasn't just my imagination.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xeon#7...2Dunnington.22
They do seem pretty cool, but I never found a board for them that would work for a practical workstation app, the criteria being ATX or EATX, and at least one PCI-e x16 slot. There are a lot of quad CPU boards for them in proprietary from factors.

Last edited by crashtech; 01-04-2013 at 11:21 PM.
crashtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:06 AM   #103
infoiltrator
Senior Member
 
infoiltrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 703
Default

The value of a computer is : "does it do what I want."
You can find a refurbished Dell OptiPlex 745 with E6600 no operating system 160 GB HDD for $129.99 plus shipping.
From the easy to find Benchmarks E6750 beats Athlon II 255 which is a good basic computer.
I wonder, could a Dell OptiPlex 745 use Windows 8?
__________________
Damn the cost, full build ahead! I wish.
infoiltrator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:17 AM   #104
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by infoiltrator View Post
The value of a computer is : "does it do what I want."
You can find a refurbished Dell OptiPlex 745 with E6600 no operating system 160 GB HDD for $129.99 plus shipping.
From the easy to find Benchmarks E6750 beats Athlon II 255 which is a good basic computer.
I wonder, could a Dell OptiPlex 745 use Windows 8?
Eh, many Optiplex 745s suffer from mobos that have bad caps. Sure, they'll work, but then suddenly freeze or shut down.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:29 AM   #105
infoiltrator
Senior Member
 
infoiltrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 703
Default

Thank you, good to know. Another avoid list notation. I thought these were better
__________________
Damn the cost, full build ahead! I wish.
infoiltrator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:53 PM   #106
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torn Mind View Post
Eh, many Optiplex 745s suffer from mobos that have bad caps. Sure, they'll work, but then suddenly freeze or shut down.
I just worked on a Optiplex 320 for a client that went down due to a bad mobo. Worked one day, the next day it wouldn't post. Visually the caps looked fine but not all caps bulge and leak when they go. I kept getting beep codes pointing to the memory, the memory is fine the mobo is defective. I recall seeing several of these machines back in 06/07 that would do flakey shit like that.
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:07 AM   #107
wpcoe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 476
Default

Nice to see so many Core 2 Duos/Quads are still active!

I just (literally) dusted off an old e6750 system that I haven't used in years. I'm thinking of giving it to my 94-year old mother who uses her computer (an Athlon 2800 XP) mainly to check e-mail, order yarn samples online and sell things on Etsy with my sisters. Her WinXP Athlon with 768MB RAM takes several minutes to boot up.

I just tweaked the system with 4GB RAM by adding an old Kingston 64GB SSD to supplement the 500GB HDD and installed Win8.

Win8 goes from a cold start to a working Win8 desktop in about 35 seconds. Using BootRacer to time just Windows starting on a restart (by default a Win8 cold boot hibernates the kernel to speed things up) and it shows Win8 itself takes ~23 seconds.

Right now, the system is in a large, heavy LianLi case, and I want to down size that for her home. Probably a ~$30 uATX case, but I'm not sure what size power supply to get.

It seems to run just fine with the Core2Duo integrated graphics, so about the only power draws would be:

- Asus P5KPL-AM/PS mobo,
- the (stock-speed) e6750 & Intel HSF,
- 2 x 2GB RAM,
- a 64GB SSD and a 500GB WD HDD,
- an IDE/PATA DVD writer,
- floppy disk drive. and
- a couple case fans.

If, for any reason, we add a discrete graphics card, it would be some sub-$100 variant. However, for my family's use, I can't see the IGP not being adequate.

What would be an adequate power supply? Is 300w too small? I see some discount case/PSU units with those. Or, would 400w be needed? 500w?
wpcoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:23 AM   #108
2is
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,447
Default

300 watts is more than enough. As is 250 watts
__________________
Intel i7 3770K|240GB Intel SSD 520|Asus P8Z77-V Pro|2x GTX 680 SLI (2GB)|180GB Corsair Force SSD|Corsair TX750|2x8GB DDR3 1600 (1.35v)
2is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:31 PM   #109
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 29,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wpcoe View Post
It seems to run just fine with the Core2Duo integrated graphics, so about the only power draws would be:

- Asus P5KPL-AM/PS mobo,
for my family's use, I can't see the IGP not being adequate.
The Core2 chips do not have an IGP. That is a feature in some mobo chipsets.

Edit: That's a G31 chipset. Should be adequate for non-gaming tasks. If she wants to watch 1080P videos, throw in a GT610/620.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff7 View Post
Set an otherwise adequately-intelligent person in front of a computer and some act like every incorrect mouse click will cause a child to be dumped into an industrial blender.

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 01-09-2013 at 12:33 PM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:13 PM   #110
shady28
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torn Mind View Post
Eh, many Optiplex 745s suffer from mobos that have bad caps. Sure, they'll work, but then suddenly freeze or shut down.
755s and 960s are much better. 960s in particular had the e8400 3ghz 6MB L2 cache C2D in them.
__________________
2010 MacBook Pro 13.3 8GB / 120GB SSD
Dell XPS 8700 / i7-4790 3.6 Ghz / 16GB / 2TB + 120GB SSD / MSI GTX 960 4GB / Win 8.1 / Acer 272HUL 1440p
Dell E5410 / i5 2.6Ghz
shady28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 05:51 PM   #111
Scholzpdx
Diamond Member
 
Scholzpdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Was there ever a server variant of Core2 family that had six real cores? Kind of like the Core2 equivalent of Thuban? That would really be something to own.

Dunnington or something?

Edit: Yes, according to Wikipedia, it wasn't just my imagination.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xeon#7...2Dunnington.22
If only they made them for s775... Ugh!
__________________
Desktop: FX-8350 @ 4.2Ghz - 8GB DDR3 PC-14900 - Radeon R9 270 OC 2GB - 2x 1680x1050 22" - X-Fi Titanium SB0880 - ATI TV Wonder 650 - 128GB Crucial SSD - 2.6TB on 3x HDD
Laptop: Dell Studio 1737 - P8700 @ 2.5Ghz - 4GB DDR2 PC-6400 - Radeon Mobility HD 3650 256MB - 17" 1440x900 - 80GB OCZ SSD - Dual Band N
Official Member of the ATOT Night Crew
Scholzpdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:56 PM   #112
wpcoe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
The Core2 chips do not have an IGP. That is a feature in some mobo chipsets.

Edit: That's a G31 chipset. Should be adequate for non-gaming tasks. If she wants to watch 1080P videos, throw in a GT610/620.
Thanks for the correction. As I was reading the motherboard manual, I realized it was motherboard-integrated video. How quickly we forget!

I downloaded some 1080p YouTube videos and they played smoothly, so I think the integrated video is good enough for her use.
wpcoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:46 PM   #113
SPBHM
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wpcoe View Post
Thanks for the correction. As I was reading the motherboard manual, I realized it was motherboard-integrated video. How quickly we forget!

I downloaded some 1080p YouTube videos and they played smoothly, so I think the integrated video is good enough for her use.
the IGP doesn't really do much, but a core 2 is normally good enough for software 1080p playback...
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.