Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2012, 09:32 PM   #1
Sonikku
Diamond Member
 
Sonikku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,160
Default Good low cost router?

I've been looking at neweggs 48 hour sale and I saw some routers in the $20-30 range in their sub $50 deals.

http://promotions.newegg.com/NEemail...NDER50#UNDER50

Would any of them do the job for a studio apartment with 1 pc and 1 xbox 360? It is growing tiresome having to unplug the ethernet cable from the pc to xbox in addition to unplugging the ac adaptor from the time warner cable modem every time I want to swap between the two.
Sonikku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 10:09 PM   #2
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

cant go wrong with this one- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...33124419-L020B

i flashed mine to ddwrt and ran an overclocking script. it runs as good as the wndr3700!
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 11:54 PM   #3
Muse
Lifer
 
Muse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the rainbow over Berkeley
Posts: 14,446
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirednuts View Post
cant go wrong with this one- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...33124419-L020B

i flashed mine to ddwrt and ran an overclocking script. it runs as good as the wndr3700!
I've been reading the reviews (3 of 5 eggs). Seems that you can go wrong. It can be YMMV. There's some support from Cisco rep on the thread but it's not at all impressive: "We're sorry to hear... go to this forum."
__________________
Quotations on happiness!
Muse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 12:29 AM   #4
kornphlake
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,548
Default

This one looks like it's got decent reviews, it's probably what I'd get if I were looking for an inexpensive router. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833320066
kornphlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:48 AM   #5
cmetz
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sophitia View Post
Would any of them do the job for a studio apartment with 1 pc and 1 xbox 360? It is growing tiresome having to unplug the ethernet cable from the pc to xbox in addition to unplugging the ac adaptor from the time warner cable modem every time I want to swap between the two.
Nearly any SOHO router will do the job just fine. Search on this forum for past threads and you'll find lots of specific SOHO router advice, but the good news for you is that your situation is easy, so you don't need to buy the biggest and best (unless you want to).
cmetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 01:50 PM   #6
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,814
Default

Just get the E3000. If your unit is bad RMA it.

Otherwise, the best sub-$50 is the refurb E2500. That doesn't have gigabit... though you won't notice for your applications. Or, if you are willing to flash Tomato, there's a $25 Belkin at Amazon that may or may not have gigabit (depends which model they send you) but doesn't have dual-band. Again, you probably won't notice the absent features.

EDIT -- this $19 one was *no* gigabit

For $46 you can get the dual-band Belkin with gigabit. (Note that you always want the *older* squarish Belkin models, since the new ones aren't custom-flashable.) Radios not as strong as some of the Linksys ones, but that won't matter in your use case, and it will be stable as hell if you flash Tomato.

Last edited by s44; 12-22-2012 at 04:16 PM.
s44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:23 PM   #7
CA19100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 465
Default

[disregard; item I linked wasn't a router]
CA19100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:00 PM   #8
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muse View Post
I've been reading the reviews (3 of 5 eggs). Seems that you can go wrong. It can be YMMV. There's some support from Cisco rep on the thread but it's not at all impressive: "We're sorry to hear... go to this forum."
sorry i didnt gauge user error into my conclusion
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:03 PM   #9
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,638
Default

http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Rou...VVviewprod.htm

This is the router I'm using (actually, several in a 5Ghz WDS config). Works really nicely with Tomato 104. I didn't bother to even test the stock firmware because I needed WDS support from the get-go.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:00 AM   #10
Sonikku
Diamond Member
 
Sonikku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,160
Default

Would this do the job?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833166064
__________________
Quote:
"Not everything on the internet is true."
-Abraham Lincoln
Sonikku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 12:51 PM   #11
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,814
Default

No. Nothing cheaper than the $25 Belkin is even worth looking at.
s44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:43 PM   #12
kmmatney
Diamond Member
 
kmmatney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,223
Default

I would highly recommend a refurbished NetGear WNR2000, which was on sale for $19.99 shipped. I've had one for 2 years, running hard with the following devices attached to it:

8 computers
1 WHS Server Running a public Minecraft server
Ooma VOIP device (my main phone line!)
Wii
Roku streaming Netflix
Blue-ray player
WD Live Player
2 iPads
3 Smartphones

So it will handle what you have no problem!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&SID=u00000687
__________________
Main Rig - Gigabyte Z77-DS3H
i5-3570K @ 4.2
Sapphire HD6850
Soyo Topaz 24" MVA LCD
Corsair TX650W PSU / Antec P182
256GB M4 SSD
kmmatney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:29 PM   #13
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,360
Default

It is "silly" to pay anything for a Single Radio Wireless Router when a good Dual band cost $35.

http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Rou...VVviewprod.htm


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 07:57 PM   #14
GullyFoyle
Diamond Member
 
GullyFoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Steeler Country
Posts: 4,282
Default

If you can avoid wireless, do so. Just buy a cheap switch, such as this, or this.
__________________
Go to he11, OPEC!
Heatware 54-0-0
BF2 Stats | BFBC2 Stats | BF3 Stats

My Rig: Intel core i5 3570k@4.2GHz | asrock z77 extreme4 | Noctua NH-D14 cpu Cooler | eVGA GTX 760 2 Gb w/ACX cooling | 8 GB Ram | Samsung 840 EVO 120GB ssd | 3.5 TB HD online., antec true power new 550W PS

Last edited by GullyFoyle; 01-01-2013 at 08:47 PM.
GullyFoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:35 PM   #15
Sonikku
Diamond Member
 
Sonikku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,160
Default

I went with the Belkin one a week ago, sadly. I couldn't wait forever.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...K?tag=at055-20

I was under the impression a Switch wouldn't work with just a cable modem. Shows what I know about networking. In any event, I need to get this one up to speed if possible. Where can I find the tomato open source firmware? My apologies, this is my first router and I'm learning everything from scratch.
__________________
Quote:
"Not everything on the internet is true."
-Abraham Lincoln
Sonikku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:20 PM   #16
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,814
Default

Did you get delivered the 7301 or 7302?

In either case, you want to flash a smaller build first, as explained here. That guide uses a mini DD-WRT for the first flash, which is fine. But for the second flash I'd use the *latest* Shibby K26 MIPSR2 Big-VPN build, which you should download from here.
s44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:31 PM   #17
Sonikku
Diamond Member
 
Sonikku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,160
Default

Where on the unit would I look to find the 4 digit number?
__________________
Quote:
"Not everything on the internet is true."
-Abraham Lincoln
Sonikku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:52 PM   #18
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,814
Default

By the serial #?

The model number will start with F7D and finish with the four-digit number.
s44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 06:48 AM   #19
bearxor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 6,470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sophitia View Post
I went with the Belkin one a week ago, sadly. I couldn't wait forever.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...K?tag=at055-20

I was under the impression a Switch wouldn't work with just a cable modem. Shows what I know about networking. In any event, I need to get this one up to speed if possible. Where can I find the tomato open source firmware? My apologies, this is my first router and I'm learning everything from scratch.
A switch wouldn't work for your situation. Your ISP is only going to give you 1 IP address, and a switch would make the PC and the XBox fight over it. You'd still only have 1 device online at a time. That's what a router solves. It gives every device in your house a private IP address and shuttles all the traffic out so it looks like its coming from one IP.

Also, judging from your description of your set up, one PC and one XBox with no other clients, you really could have bought just about any router and been perfectly happy. I really don't see a reason at all for you to flash firmware as well. The router would most likely be perfectly serviceable for you out of the box.

Now, if you want to learn about routing, that's a different story. But the networking forum here is pretty dead. Better off trying smallnetbuilder or hardocp. Just read all the threads. You'll learn a lot by just reading through everything. Go through your routers options and do searches in them so that you'll learn what they all mean. I don't think trying to jump head first in to flashing a custom firmware is the best choice when you'll probably be overwhelmed with the choices after you're done.
__________________
This post paid for by the committee to re-invade Vietnam.
bearxor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 01:23 PM   #20
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearxor View Post
I don't think trying to jump head first in to flashing a custom firmware is the best choice when you'll probably be overwhelmed with the choices after you're done.
Kind of like learning to drive, on an Indy car.

OP, almost any router would work for you. If you bought the Belkin off of Amazon, then great. They come pre-configured for security right off the bat.

I wouldn't bother flashing any 3rd-party firmware, unless you have a specific need (like I do). It is more likely to be confusing than helpful.

Stock firmware, although limited in features, generally works.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 01-05-2013 at 01:26 PM.
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:20 PM   #21
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Stock firmware, although limited in features, generally works.
You didn't read any of the Amazon reviews of this unit, did you?

Stock Asus or Linksys firmware is decent. Others... Don't expect stability, esp. over wireless.
s44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:01 PM   #22
Sonikku
Diamond Member
 
Sonikku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,160
Default

Thanks guys! I got the router hooked up and now have my PC and 360 wired directly into the router and can play soul calibur and stuff without having to swap ethernet cables and unplugging my cable modems AC adapter every time I want to do it. The performance has been fine in fighting games where precision is essential, so I may not hack the firmware. (I'm SO terrible with electronics sometimes... >.>) But I'll certainly consider it for the future if it ceases it's current level of reliability.
__________________
Quote:
"Not everything on the internet is true."
-Abraham Lincoln
Sonikku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.