Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2013, 07:48 PM   #51
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankster55 View Post
If you are still hooked up maybe you can make a screenshot of the device manager/system devices exactly like this:
Device Manager http://imgur.com/1Q6wZ

CPU-Z (Ver 1.62.0 x64) http://imgur.com/AD6qd

From Device Manager, if I try to manually install drivers (i.e., "Have Disk" point it to INF) you can see the only option when "Show compatible hardware" is checked vs. unchecked (everything in INF is an option when unchecked). Tried in and out of Safe Mode. I did not try selecting/forcing 7 Series drivers and clicking Next for fear of BSOD after reboot or some other non-optimal event.
http://imgur.com/seffB
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:12 PM   #52
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

yeah, I see several errors
This might be it - someone over there picked the wrong chipset .inf
I am a bit surprised it went in
And you have the MS generic PCI-PCI bridge instead of Intel MEI
When you install i3770, it needs MEI 8 driver
And if bios is not ME oprom V 8.0 PC wont even boot
MEI V 8.X is backwards compatible with vers 7.XXXX (Sandy bridge) and ME oprom in bios 8.XXXX but ME/MEI vers 7 is not FOWARDS compatible with Ivy Bridge.
And anytime you install a new IvyBr CPU you must do an unplugged PSU CMOS reset so the ME "drops". ( a "CPR" - CPU Parameter Reset))

Do not send in mobo. We can fix this, but I wont have time to tell you what to do right at this moment. Maybe tomorrow.

What ME is showing on MAIN bios page?
Did you install Intel RST 11.5 +?







Edit:
Then again, I'm not supposed to do their work for them.
Was this thing advertised to be ready to go out the door, with O/S loaded and everything?
Maybe best to RMA, under the 1% chance Southbridge is wrong
Cant hurt anything - only lost time
Its your call.
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?


Last edited by bankster55; 01-05-2013 at 08:10 PM.
bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:29 PM   #53
SilentRunning
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
It made me wonder if this was a special, "low-cost" production run, using a cheaper chipset for a newer (but still budget) motherboard, for specific customers to build OEM systems with (therefore they could control the component selection).
This is what I suspect. I know one particular manufacturer who has ASUS build motherboards to their own specs. Of course they don't advertise what motherboard model is in their PC's.
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by: Wreckage

I won't bother clicking it, who knows what else is loading onto your computer from that site.
SilentRunning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:01 PM   #54
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankster55 View Post
What ME is showing on MAIN bios page?
Did you install Intel RST 11.5 +?
Yes, system was supposed to come ready to run from iBuyPower, OS and drivers were preinstalled (drive probably imaged from some master they have?). Maybe they slapped in the mobo CD after image as well.

I was not planning on packing the system up until after the weekend at the earliest (I finally received prepaid shipping label today). Part of me wants to just take off the SB heatsink and get the answers, but i imagine the thing is snapped in with those arrowhead fasteners that you have to clip/mangle to remove.

you've provided great insight to this point and i understand completely if you don't want to mess with this any further. that said, i'm willing to try a few more small tricks to try and get this right.

Yeah, i hope RMA would fix issue, unless the integrator is the problem. i'm actually sending the entire box back not just mobo and the ticket has instructions to check Device Manager for proper chipset family/series info prior to shipping back to me. still risky, i guess.

to answer your questions:
ME in BIOS says NA


Intel RST 11.1.0.1006 installed.

The driver download from ASUS appears to have both 11.1.0.1006 and 11.5.0.1207 in same .zip, but installer gravitates to 11.1.0.1006. ASUS page gives the impression the 11.5 is for Win 8. I can't find the Intel RST driver from the Intel site other than 8.9.0.1023 from 2009.


I tried installing MEI 8.1.0.1263 obtained from ASUS page (no downloads available from Intel site for MEI?), but installer returns error dialogue "This computer does not meet minimum requirements for installing software" *sigh*

edit: fixed image links
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 01:32 AM   #55
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

Yeah, ASUS just started doing something screwey with the RST
The 11.1 package is for Vista/XP
and 11.5 pack is for Win 7/8 (RAID trim)

Normally ME oprom N/A (not avail) means bad flash - bios ME partition corupted or incomplete
And you cant install MEI driver to a mobo with no ME OPROM in bios.
ASUS has an ME OPROM updater utility that sometimes fixes these issues.

However so many things out of whack its going to take a whole start from scratch effort, including wiping HDD, maybe buying a new bios chip from ASUS E-Store $16, since you have no experience with all the flashing methods.
http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?..._detail&p=3885

But its your PC, your money and your decision. I am not going to advise you one way or the other. I can see you slowly getting sucked into building your own after all.

Edit:
Heres all the drivers
http://www.overclock.net/t/1248928/a...ws-updated-1-4

Edit 2:
Hey, I just noticed that your BIOS MAIN page screenie shows B1 Soutbridge stepping
Z77 is C1 stepping only - but even worse, the normal H67 SB is supposed to be B3.
Yours may be some early review sample or a factory reject/overproduction (OEM)
Tell them bozo's you want to see C1 stepping on ASUS bios main page, and an 8.XXXX ME. Warn if they cant do it you want your money back!! (compare with my screenie)
Apparently these guys build a barely functional system and pray their customer doesnt try to "tweak" anything.

__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?


Last edited by bankster55; 01-05-2013 at 12:46 PM.
bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:49 AM   #56
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankster55 View Post
Normally ME oprom N/A (not avail) means bad flash
Will a "standard" BIOS flash fix the issue on the ME partition (in addition to updating overall BIOS)? That is, I should be able to have a go at flashing the BIOS using the tools from the ASUS page (bupdater v1.30 and v1502 BIOS file....BIOS files are .CAP now?)

I saw the link to the thread where only the ME partition could be updated/flashed, but I might get myself in trouble there. not sure.
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:04 AM   #57
cantholdanymore
Senior Member
 
cantholdanymore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 428
Default

I don't know about how safe it is to flash the BIOS in your situation; but if you decide to do it the best way is through the BIOS utility and not from Windows. Clearing the non volatile memory in advance my also be a good idea
__________________
Fractal Design Define Mini using 2 front fans (fractal) and one rear (noctua), Asus Maximus IV gene-z, Intel 2500k, Noctua NH-D14, G.Skill Ripjaws 16GB, Samsung 840 pro 256Gb SSD, NZXT HALE90 750w, Asus R9 280x, Asus BD burner, Seagate Barracude 2T.

Switching between 4.0GHz @ 1.2V and 4.6Ghz @1.30v.

4.9 stable using 1.46
cantholdanymore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:14 PM   #58
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

See, you are slowly sucking yourself into redoing what iBuyPower did.
But after its all over, you still have some mixmash crap.
Heres what I would do -
RMA the machine, tell them you are entitled to a "normal enthusiast mobo"
See what they send you back.
(The fact they didnt even blink when you told them you had wrong chipset on mobo is a dead giveaway)
If its still crap, I would face up to the fact I was screwed and move on - go to Amazon.com and plunk out $130 for a new Z77 V-LX and move on with your life - lesson learned.
But I dont know what your financial situation is, of course.
BTW how much did this thing cost anyway?


Edit:
And your safest way to get a working 1502 bios is to buy a new bios chip - (it comes with it) from ASUS and replace the old.
$15 - five working day turnaround (Indiana)
Bios chip only goes in one way
Must gently straighten 8 legs
Must lay flat - both ends touching socket
After attempting first boot nothing will happen (but do it anyway)
Shut down, unplug PSU >30 seconds, short cmos, unshort cmos, replug PSU, reboot to bios, reset bios options
If you do decide to RMA you will have to put old back chip in.
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?


Last edited by bankster55; 01-05-2013 at 08:03 PM.
bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 01:10 PM   #59
vailr
Diamond Member
 
vailr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 4,397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 512atx View Post
The driver download from ASUS appears to have both 11.1.0.1006 and 11.5.0.1207 in same .zip, but installer gravitates to 11.1.0.1006. ASUS page gives the impression the 11.5 is for Win 8. I can't find the Intel RST driver from the Intel site other than 8.9.0.1023 from 2009.

I tried installing MEI 8.1.0.1263 obtained from ASUS page (no downloads available from Intel site for MEI?), but installer returns error dialogue "This computer does not meet minimum requirements for installing software" *sigh*
This French web site http://www.station-drivers.com
has the most recent Intel RST drivers, that Intel's own public web site probably won't offer until some later point in time.
However: the latest Intel RST version 11.7 errored out during installation on my Gigabyte Z77-UD5H board. Version 11.6 is working fine.
Your motherboard bios needs to be properly updated, which would include a compatible MEI firmware. Only then, can the current version MEI driver also be installed.
__________________



vailr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 01:51 PM   #60
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankster55 View Post
But after its all over, you still have some mixmash crap
Yeah, starting to feel that way.

Thank you bankster55, dave_the_nerd, cantholdanymore, virtuallarry, skipsneaky2, shintaiDK, Torn_Mind, and everyone who put some thought into this. i certainly appreciate your expertise and professionalism.

i'll RMA the system, they claim it will take about two weeks after receipt, then i'm on a trip for work, but i'll get an update back on here with the outcome by mid-Feb hopefully.
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 01:52 PM   #61
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vailr View Post
This French web site http://www.station-drivers.com
has the most recent Intel RST drivers, that Intel's own public web site probably won't offer until some later point in time.
Thanks, Vailr. I'll check it out.
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:27 PM   #62
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

UPDATE!

Got the rig back a little sooner than expected. Checked the serial number on the mobo and it's different than before. So that's good. First three characters of SN are C5M. Close to previous board, but not the same batch I guess.

Checked BIOS first. Like what I see in ME and Stepping fields.


Move on to Device Manager. Again, pleased.


Lastly, plug in the USB 3.0 External Hard drive that started this whole expedition; again, success!

The iBuyPower tech actually called me before they shipped it back to me. I asked if they popped off the heat sink on the bad mobo to get an ID on which chip was on the board. I don't think he understood what I was getting at. He had a thick accent and just kept telling me they replaced the motherboard and it now shows Z77 in Windows.

I suppose we'll never know. Thanks again everyone!
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 03:49 AM   #63
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

What showed with your original mobo simply defies explanation.
With all you went thru you prob could have built your own, and been ahead.
Nice to know they did indeed replace the board wih another new unit.
Thnx for update.
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?

bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.