Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Distributed Computing

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2012, 01:01 PM   #1
Bradtech519
Senior Member
 
Bradtech519's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 316
Default Giving nvidia serious consideration

Now that my 5850 is done for. I've been looking into 6900s/7900s and now some Nvidia cards. They seem to be strong for SETI and other projects. SETI is showing the 660ti as the top card right now. I've always done milkyway and SIMAP.. SIMAP is CPU only.. Einstein looks like it does Nvidia also. Anyone have any preferences on Nvidia or ATI cards?
__________________
Rig 1. AMD FX 8350, Zalman CNPS9900ALED, MSI 990FXA-GD80, MSI R9 290 4GB, Corsair Pro HX 750, Antec 300 Illusion, G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (DDR3 2133) Win 8.1 Pro x64,
Bradtech519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 01:06 PM   #2
Fullmetal Chocobo
Moderator
Distributed Computing
 
Fullmetal Chocobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13,684
Default

I refuse to do ATI, and have for a very long time now, simply due to their drivers. The drivers can be such a pain, it isn't worth it to me to mess with them. YMMV
__________________
Official member of the ATOT NightCrew
Official member of Team Anandtech
My crunching stats
TeAm Anandtech Blog
You have too much time on your hands Fullmetal Chocobo.
AnandTech Moderator
Fullmetal Chocobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:12 PM   #3
Bradtech519
Senior Member
 
Bradtech519's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 316
Default

I've heard a lot about the driver issues in the past. I haven't really had any problems with Windows and ATI/AMD drivers. My buddy who is a big linux guy won't do ATI/Linux. I remember back in the early to mid 2000s they had bad Windows drivers too. I'm mainly weighing the options right now in which projects I want to throw more support behind with a new GPU purchase.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullmetal Chocobo View Post
I refuse to do ATI, and have for a very long time now, simply due to their drivers. The drivers can be such a pain, it isn't worth it to me to mess with them. YMMV
__________________
Rig 1. AMD FX 8350, Zalman CNPS9900ALED, MSI 990FXA-GD80, MSI R9 290 4GB, Corsair Pro HX 750, Antec 300 Illusion, G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (DDR3 2133) Win 8.1 Pro x64,
Bradtech519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:24 PM   #4
Kiska
Member
 
Kiska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 135
Default

I readily refuse to do either since I am a Linux and ATI/AMD drivers are well terrible and nVidia deliberately reduced our computational power on alot of the projects. I still have a couple but really slow. I have a 9300M GS and GTX 525M
Kiska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:53 PM   #5
lane42
Diamond Member
 
lane42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Jermyn, P.A.
Posts: 4,815
Default

if you don't mind rebates, mircocenter has Zotac GTX 570 for 169.00. I
just picked up 2 of them and so far so good, nice little gpu's for the price.
__________________
-------------------------------



Crunching Seti 15 Years strong.......... 5-17-99
lane42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:18 PM   #6
zzuupp
Lifer
 
zzuupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tidewater, va
Posts: 12,018
Default

Generically:

NVIDIA gives you more options.
ATI has fewer, but is substantially better at some of those.

I was never bitten by the bad driver bug when I had a 4850. However, I've always delayed, and let others get bitten.
This holds true on the green side as well. (The 295ish driver sleep bug comes to mind)
zzuupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:46 AM   #7
Brazos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 10
Default With AMD, you lose 1 core

I'm going to Nvidia next time I upgrade. You have to give up 1 core on your SMP to keep AMD card working. Nvidia doesn't have that issue. Maybe AMD will get that fixed sometime in future but it's a known issue.
Brazos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:09 AM   #8
BrightCandle
Diamond Member
 
BrightCandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,763
Default

The potential for problems exists on both sides. Distributed compute often has problems with particular models so its important to understand which programs you intend to use and look at the speed differences and potential problems.

I would never go as far as to say one company produces a better more reliable product than another, I simply have too much counter evidence to tell that assertion is false. Instead its about choosing the trade off and avoiding the bugs that exist in both platforms.
__________________
I no longer frequent these forums.
BrightCandle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:10 PM   #9
Ken g6
Elite Member
 
Ken g6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,842
Default

I'm considering ATI next time just so I can develop for it. But I haven't really planned when next time will be. And last time I developed for ATI (without actually having a card) I found the drivers to be a problem. (Their OpenCL compiler appeared to have a bug.)
__________________
Look for really BIG primes with TeAm AnandTech PrimeGrid!
Next race: November 19-24
Ken g6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:40 PM   #10
StitchExperimen
Senior Member
 
StitchExperimen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, Ut
Posts: 286
Default

When you look from a different perspective you come up that the top "compute" cards for AMD and Nvidia cost $3,000. Then you look at the cores. Then you look at the consumer end and here is what you find, "AMD gives away the farm" (there are more cores in the consumer card than in its top $3,000 card).
Now what about Nvidia and cuda cores? The consumer card has 1/3 if not closer to 1/4 the cores than Nvidias pro card.
Brute numbers favor AMD and best hardware 3770K and two 7950, 70, 70 GHZ pull 200,000 to 250,000 PPD
__________________
Heatware

Last edited by StitchExperimen; 01-04-2013 at 08:06 PM.
StitchExperimen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:40 AM   #11
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,246
Default

I considered purchasing an AMD card recently but I went with nvidia again because my 2 favorite gpu projects, sciencewise, are GPUGrid and F@H. AMD cards are not an option for GPUGrid and have horrible performance on F@H. As for drivers on linux, I've had issues with both over the years.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:46 AM   #12
Kiska
Member
 
Kiska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 135
Default

Well I have Nvidia cards because they are in the laptops I buy. So I have to have them in them, though I hate them and their terrible FP64 performance means I don't get maximum performance on PrimeGrid Generalized Fermat Nvidia Workunits because they use the FP64 portion of the card and not the single precision/binary32. So FP64 operates at 1/32th of the cards single precision so example 140 GFLOPS of the 525M that means that FP64 gets 4.3 GFLOPS of compute power. And now you see why I need to code a OpenCL program for AMD cards on PrimeGrid.
Kiska is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.