Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2012, 06:13 PM   #1
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 24,520
Default Don't buy Cisco E2500 for dual-band DD-WRT (yet)

I see Jack recommending the refurbished E2500-RM routers at the Cisco homestore for only $35, and mentioning dual-band support, and DD-WRT support.

Well, color me surprised to find out, upon purchasing four of them, and flashing one of them with DD-WRT (according to the version listed in the wiki), that DD-WRT DOES NOT support the dual-band aspect of this router!

That's right, no 5Ghz WDS mode, nor any other kind of 5Ghz support, with DD-WRT (yet).

Someone commented on the DD-WRT forums that "Tomato" DOES support 5Ghz on this hardware.

So I'm off to find some DD-WRT-to-Tomato flashing guides, and some recommendations on Tomato versions for the E2500-RM.

And, unfortunately, a big thumbs-down to Jack's recommendations, because they don't have a disclaimer that DD-WRT doesn't support 5Ghz yet. (Sorry Jack, gotta tell it like it is.)

Edit: I guess I owe an apology to Jack. I looked over a few threads that I had participated in, and while he did recommend that router, I don't see where he ever recommended it with DD-WRT in the same sentence.

I did, however, find this gem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s44 View Post
(btw, Shibby's Tomato should work on the E2500 refurb)
Off to search the Interwebs.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtop...=724027#724027

Looks like that version isn't quite finished either. Guess I'll just store these routers for now, and hope in the next six months they get 5Ghz support worked out.

Edit: Seems well-supported in Tomato. Check here for more info:
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2289966
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 12-16-2012 at 10:55 AM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:35 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,067
Default

Thanks Larry

While I am using the more expensive Router with both stock and DD-WRT (when specifically needed). I did not flashed the few 2500 that I used, so I was aware of this specific issue.

On the other hand that does not mean that One should Not buy the 2500, they work very well as Duals.

While in the past many Wireless Routers were sort of "Duds" without DD-WRT, most current Wireless Routers work well with the stock firmware and there is No point to flash with DD-WRT unless a specific configuration (like WDS is needed).


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.

Last edited by JackMDS; 11-27-2012 at 06:40 PM.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:54 PM   #3
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,139
Default

Eh? The thread indicates that the Tomato build DOES work.

It's a cleaner code base too. Would always pick it over DD-WRT absent some specific feature.
s44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:03 PM   #4
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 24,520
Default

That's the unfortunate problem Jack, I DO need 5Ghz WDS support, something that the stock firmware doesn't support.

It is somewhat strange that Linksys/Cisco doesn't yet support WDS in their default firmware. I once used a Motorola WGR850 or something like that, it was Moto's version of the WRT54G, and a WRT54G, in WDS mode. The beta firmware for the moto supported it, and the factory firmware for the Linksys already had "lazy WDS" mode built-in! So in reality, the WRT54G supported WDS, they just didn't expose any UI for the user to make use of it. But it was present in the wireless drivers from Broadcom.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:26 PM   #5
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
It is somewhat strange that Linksys/Cisco doesn't yet support WDS in their default firmware.
WDS is Chipset sensitive. Since most manufacturer using variety of chipsets in their Wirelles products they can face a situation that a consumer will buy their products and WDS will not work as expected.

As a result, it is rather rare that any of the Wireless brands offer WDS with the stock firmware.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 10:56 AM   #6
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 24,520
Default

WDS at 5Ghz works great with Tomato 104.

Edit: Perhaps I spoke too soon. Seems to be limited to 22-23Mbit/sec, or possibly 30Mbit/sec, over the WDS link, even though my link rate is 130Mbit/sec.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 01-02-2013 at 05:28 PM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 12:38 AM   #7
lettcco
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

I have flashed v104 tomato by shibby as well, and while I like the general feel of tomato over stock, I found the following problem:

1) The UI is in polish. Sure I can have google translate it with chrome, but I wish I can choose.
2) The device list keep adjusting in sizes back and forth every second or so. Not a dealbreaker, but hard to read sometimes as it expand and contract.
3) port forwarding is broken. I opened a port for my webcam and another port for RDP, it can be reached internally, but failed to open externally. I tried using the actual IP so it's not the DDNS. This one is a dealbreaker for me.
lettcco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 05:54 AM   #8
Engineer
Elite Member
 
Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 35,605
Default

If you guys can't get the Shibby version to work as well as expected, you should try Toastman's version or even the new VicTek versions (see the forums at www.linksysinfo.org). VicTek is known more for stability than all out features and has just released a new version for the first time in quite some time.

Edit: I'm not sure whether VicTek supports 5GHz band on WDS though....and for that matter, I'm not 100% sure that the E2500 is supported (yet) as his site is down currently.
__________________
University of Kentucky Wildcats!

Go Big Blue...Go Big Blue...Go Big Blue!!!

"Opportunities look a lot like work" - Ashton Kutcher

Last edited by Engineer; 01-03-2013 at 05:58 AM.
Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 01:29 PM   #9
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,139
Default

Victek is awesome, but he supports a limited number of routers... Asus, of course, but the most recent Linksys is I think the E3000.
s44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:52 AM   #10
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 24,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lettcco View Post
I have flashed v104 tomato by shibby as well, and while I like the general feel of tomato over stock, I found the following problem:

1) The UI is in polish. Sure I can have google translate it with chrome, but I wish I can choose.
You picked the wrong firmware file then. I got the "EN", not the "PL" firmware. Shibby 1.28 104 E2500 Max.

Edit: Link to firmware in this thread:
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2289966
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 01-04-2013 at 11:57 AM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.