Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2013, 10:21 PM   #26
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

If CPUID 1.62 says H67, then thats what the SB is. (v 1.61 had a few bugs)
I have 5 dif ASUS Z77 on my desk at the moment and they all say Z77 Southbridge - of course.

Easy to find out - 2 phillips screws, or just push pins on backside of mobo to remove SouthBridge heatsink

BTW the Z77 is not a chipset, its a southbridge only with no northbridge

Pegatron has completely severed its relationship with ASUS as of Sept. 2012 for both OEM products and motherboards, and I have been wondering if we would be running into situations like this. There have been some reports already about mobo out of the box with bent socket pins from very experienced builders. I hope this isnt a trend.

ASUS doesnt manufacture its own mobo.
Has been with Pegatron for 9 years
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...hlight=Asustek

As of Sept. 2012 ASUS mobo are no longer made in Pegatron factory.

http://www.techpowerup.com/164412/AS...-Pegatron.html
(see comments about ECS QC)

ASUS to buy ASRock???
http://semiaccurate.com/2012/09/28/a...s-an-offer-to-
http://www.overclock.net/t/1310750/s...-to-buy-asrock

Ultimatum by Apple to Pegatron:
http://www.macworld.co.uk/apple-business/news/?newsid=3336950

http://www.tweaktown.com/news/23694/end_of_times_asus_to_completely_end_odm_production _of_motherboards_by_pegatron/index.html

With the intro of Haswell, when all mobo "features" can be placed on die, mobo brands will mean little any more - if not at first, then rather quickly after.

Haswell effect (registered only for article)
"Intel Haswell processor design may cause motherboard players to exit market" (Sep 27)
http://www.digitimes.com/news/a20120926PD228.html
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?


Last edited by bankster55; 01-04-2013 at 01:27 PM.
bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:28 PM   #27
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

wow. thanks, bankster55. I'm hesitant to pop off the heatsink until i hear back from iBuyPower and get the RMA going. let them confirm it, i suppose. hopefully they understand the situation and stand by their sale with good customer service! amazing situation. lucky me
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 03:13 AM   #28
Bman123
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bottom of the map
Posts: 2,735
Default

Wow this is crazy, never would I of thought about this happening
__________________
Xbox one GT- Cmonv1deogame
Psn id- Comeonvideogame
Galaxy Mega
Vizio E60LI-A3 tv
Bman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 09:13 AM   #29
Pneumothorax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 870
Default

Wow. This is nasty. I really doubt OP's mobo is a one-off mistake. There's potential for hundreds if not thousands with this issue and just don't know it, yet.
__________________
Heatware
Pneumothorax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 09:23 AM   #30
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 6,303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pneumothorax View Post
Wow. This is nasty. I really doubt OP's mobo is a one-off mistake. There's potential for hundreds if not thousands with this issue and just don't know it, yet.
And 99.9% of them will never notice, either. *emo*
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05. NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / Mess 'o Toshiba Drives, / APEX MI-008.
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 09:36 AM   #31
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 10,584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pneumothorax View Post
Wow. This is nasty. I really doubt OP's mobo is a one-off mistake. There's potential for hundreds if not thousands with this issue and just don't know it, yet.
Lacked drama?
__________________
Anandtech forums=Xtremesystems forums
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 12:00 PM   #32
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default RMA'd

Well, no real fuss from iBuyPower this morning when I called about this issue. They didn't seem too surprised by my claim of the wrong chip on the board, but the tech wasn't sure how prevalent the problem was.
They'll swap out the board and check the new one prior to returning it. Even paying for return shipping. Stinks I'll be without a rig for a couple weeks, though.

Thanks again for your help folks. Top notch!
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 06:55 PM   #33
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pneumothorax View Post
Wow. This is nasty. I really doubt OP's mobo is a one-off mistake. There's potential for hundreds if not thousands with this issue and just don't know it, yet.
It made me wonder if this was a special, "low-cost" production run, using a cheaper chipset for a newer (but still budget) motherboard, for specific customers to build OEM systems with (therefore they could control the component selection).
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 07:14 PM   #34
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
It made me wonder if this was a special, "low-cost" production run
One would hope they'd advertise that fact if it's the case. Not sure if there's any legal obligation to do so. Obviously it's disappointing when the specs list one chip, but then you get another!
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:05 PM   #35
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

I called ibuypower - they have an 888 number
But after 30 min I gave up

I initially suspected hanky panky - but they have a very good resellerrating. (However the first comment currently listed said "dont deal with them, they are poison" and said all the 5 star ratings are fake posts! Dunno anything bout that).

It also makes no sense to go to all that trouble for a few bucks.

For ASUS the bios has 3 mobo I.D's and one unique MAC address for the Intel GBe. Realtek MAC are on the LAN chip.
The mobo ID's are locked and stick during flashing, unless you do an erase and program (GBe has own section, but are also lost during all sector flash)

The Intel chipset utility is the DETECTOR utility that tells Win 7 all the system devices relevent to your mobo for device manager enumeration. If as you say you used the 9.3 X utility (latest) and it said C200 devices then you indeed had an H67 (or related) Southbridge. I see no way to get around that.

Spoofing the mobo model is easy by inputting other mobo ID's into bios for subsequent flash. CodeRush's Intel FD44 Editor is perfect for that. He created it to add back lost mobo IDs and MAC addresses after a (total) reflash previous attempt. In other words you can program or wipe and program.
http://forums.overclockers.ru/viewto...76728#p9776728

Once again, this all makes no sense whatsoever.
Welcome to the Twilight Zone.
Just hope they didnt load wrong chipset stack for feed bin for mobo machine
**sigh**
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?

bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:12 PM   #36
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 512atx View Post
I'm hesitant to pop off the heatsink
You shouldn't pop it off. Don't give them any reason to deny warranty.

The motherboard should have the model information printed on it. Take the side panel off the computer and see what the motherboard says. It will probably be just below the top PCIe x16 slot, so you may have to remove your graphics card. See the image below, where it clearly states P8Z77-V LX below the blue PCIe x16 slot.

source of image


Windows can report wrong information if older (or stock Microsoft) drivers are installed. Some software that claims to "read" that information just parrots what the drivers tell it. Also, if the somehow the wrong BIOS was flashed to it...
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 10:51 PM   #37
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
You shouldn't pop it off. Don't give them any reason to deny warranty.

The motherboard should have the model information printed on it.
Yeah, i'm not going to mess with the heatsink on the southbridge. I did have a look behind the video card, though (pics below). Definitely a P8Z77 board.

http://imgur.com/j3sAA
http://imgur.com/2NCWM (sorry, couldn't keep username and mobo both focused)
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 10:56 PM   #38
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankster55 View Post
I called ibuypower - they have an 888 number
But after 30 min I gave up
took me about that long to get from fourth in the queue and speak to a rep (i called just before 9 a.m. (PST)). The conversation was fairly painless from there. While i did get an RMA number, I'm still awaiting the shipping label they promised as of this posting.
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:39 AM   #39
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

Since you are not going to remove the heatsink to see exactly what Southbridge is soldered to the obviously Z77 motherboard, further comment on my part about this situation is now pointless.

CPU-Z 1.62 says you have an H67 Southbridge, as does the Intel chipset utility (C200), so if I had to bet, I would say it was indeed a mistake of some sort. Obviously you dont want to ruin your RMA and i can appreciate that. If you had a pic of the wrong Southbridge on an ASUS mobo, as I am a mod on the ASUS VIP site, I would bring it up to Admin. HHC for input from ASUS themselves.

Hope things work out better in 2013 - heh.

Block diagram

Edit:
Cougar Point
P67 SLJ4C (B3)
H67 SLJ49 (B3)
Z68 SLJ4F (B3)

Panther Point
Z75 SLJ87 (C1)
Z77 SLJC7 (C1)
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?


Last edited by bankster55; 01-03-2013 at 01:48 PM.
bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:01 AM   #40
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,089
Default

You sir may just be the unluckiest person here for the year so far. I'm flabbergasted that Asus could screw up like this, but I'm glad to hear that iBuypower isn't giving you any grief about taking care of it. And good catch; I don't think I would have ever thought to verify the chipset.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 08:02 AM   #41
cantholdanymore
Senior Member
 
cantholdanymore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 423
Default

Did you pack the PC yet? You can give the TurboV a go as see if it actually overclocks the CPU :-)
Since your RMA is approved you could also try to flash to the latest bios from ASUS and see what happens.
__________________
Fractal Design Define Mini using 2 front fans (fractal) and one rear (noctua), Asus Maximus IV gene-z, Intel 2500k, Noctua NH-D14, G.Skill Ripjaws 16GB, Samsung 840 pro 256Gb SSD, NZXT HALE90 750w, Firepro v4900, Asus BD burner, Seagate Barracude 2T.

Switching between 4.0GHz @ 1.2V and 4.6Ghz @1.30v.

4.9 stable using 1.46

Last edited by cantholdanymore; 01-03-2013 at 08:04 AM.
cantholdanymore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:41 PM   #42
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cantholdanymore View Post
Did you pack the PC yet?
Haven't packed it yet. Also haven't received shipping label/email from iBuyPower, yet.
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 08:55 PM   #43
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

Bit curious -
What are first 3 ser #'s letters at top of box label?
For example -
CAM = 2012/Oct/Motherboard
B6M = 2011/Jun/Motherboard
C = 2012 B = 2011 A=2010
C=Dec B=Nov A=Oct
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?

bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:52 PM   #44
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankster55 View Post
What are first 3 ser #'s letters at top of box label?
I don't have the box as iBuyPower put the pieces together. According to SiSoftware Sandra, the first 3 characters of the Mainboard Serial # are MT7.
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:22 AM   #45
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

No thats not it
If you dont have box, it will be on top SIDE of PCI (or PCIe) slot as a sticker (at bottom)
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?

bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:03 AM   #46
dawp
Diamond Member
 
dawp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: here until I move again
Posts: 6,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankster55 View Post
No thats not it
If you dont have box, it will be on top SIDE of PCI (or PCIe) slot as a sticker (at bottom)
asus puts the SN label on the power jack, it may be easier to see than the bottom slot depending on case. at least that's where it was on several boards when I looked a pics on newegg.
__________________
We Have Met The Enemy and He Is Us

ASUS p8z77 v, i7 3770k, crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB, XFX HD7970 Black Edition
dawp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:48 AM   #47
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankster55 View Post
top SIDE of PCI (or PCIe) slot as a sticker (at bottom)
bankster55, please have a look at this pic http://imgur.com/j3sAA and you can see the sticker over on the edge of the board by the southbridge heatsink. The SN itself starts with 0240**** but you can see a place for three characters prior to the 0240**** There are only three "O" characters where it looks like the designation you mentioned should be. This is the only sticker on the board. Cross reference this with the Sandra output, Sandra lists the SN as MT70240*****

over by the battery, there's also an alphanumeric string of sorts, but that's printed on the board and it looks like an extended model number or something.
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:35 AM   #48
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

My last attempt here:
There is a white sticker on the SIDE WALL of the (usually) uppermost PCI light blue slot. You will have to pull vidcard to see it. I assumed your mobo was already out of case waiting to be packed for ship. You cant see it from looking down like your camera angle.
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?

bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:33 PM   #49
512atx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankster55 View Post
There is a white sticker on the SIDE WALL of the (usually) uppermost PCI light blue slot. You will have to pull vidcard to see it.
Got it. First three characters are C4M.
512atx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:12 PM   #50
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

Good. Thats all i wanted to know
April 2012
Which means Pegatron still made your mobo
So that leaves out that issue
I am stumped - how can this happen?
Factory rejects?
iBuyer crossflashed bios somehow?

If you are still hooked up maybe you can make a screenshot of the device manager/system devices exactly like this:


__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?

bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.