Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2013, 11:03 AM   #1
Xerin7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 155
Default No DVI signal

I'm having a problem with periodically losing the DVI signal to my monitor. Everything works fine for a few hours, then it will go out. Once that happens, I can shut down the computer and unplug/plug the DVI cable and the signal will eventually come back.

What I've done so far:

1) Removed and reinserted the graphics card to ensure it's seated properly

2) Moved RAM to other slots

3) Tried a different monitor (same problem with another monitor)

4) Tried a different DVI cable (same problem with another cable)

5) Tried a VGA cable (same problem with VGA)

6) Updated graphics card driver to latest version

This is a new build that I bought from Cyberpower for my son, and the problem has been there since he opened it on Christmas morning.

Any suggestions on what to try next?

Here are the specs:

CPU: Intel(R) Core™ i7-3770 3.40 GHz 8MB Intel Smart Cache LGA1155

MEMORY: 8GB (4GBx2) DDR3/1866MHz Dual Channel Memory (Corsair Vengeance)

MONITOR: 24" Widescreen 1920x1080 ASUS VS247H-P LCD

MOTHERBOARd: [CrossFireX] GIGABYTE Z77-DS3H Intel Z77 Chipset DDR3 ATX Mainboard w/ IRST, 7.1 HD Audio, GbLAN, 2x Gen3 PCIe x16, 2 PCIe x1 & 2 PCI (Pro OC Certified)

OS: Microsoft(R) Windows 8 (64-bit Edition)

POWERSUPPLY: 350 Watts - Antec Basiq BP350 Power Supply

VIDEO: AMD Radeon HD 7870 2GB 16X PCIe 3.0 Video Card
__________________
Intel 5820k | Noctua NH-U12S | Asus Strix GTX 970 x 2 | Asus X99-A | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 850w | Crucial 16GB DDR4 2133 | Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD | Asus ROG Swift 27 inch monitor | Corsair Gaming K70 RGB | Windows 8.1 64-bit

Last edited by Xerin7; 01-03-2013 at 11:12 AM.
Xerin7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 12:16 PM   #2
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

it could be a power or heat issue...

Try running the PC on a different circuit in the house... to see if that helps... and if you're using a UPS , take that out of the equation....

My suspicion is that the power supply may not be rated high enough for the setup... That psu is only 350w... and depending on how many amps its putting out on the 12v rails.. vs what the graphics card is drawing.. bit could be right on the edge.. just a guess...

you'd need to do the calculation, factoring in periperal components, the cpu, whether you overclock, etc.. to see what size psu is needed.. If you have a another you can swap in to test, that would be the best bet...

assuming that is all ok... check for bios upgrades for the motherboard, and check the temperatures of the grapics card as well...
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 02:46 PM   #3
DSF
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,876
Default

Does the signal loss seem related to anything in particular? In other words, does it happen only while your son is playing games or watching movies, or does it sometimes happen randomly even when the computer is idling?

My first inclination would be to talk to Cyberpower.
DSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:31 AM   #4
Xerin7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 155
Default

Thanks for the suggestions. My son says that the pc doesn't actually lose DVI signal when playing a game. It's only when the pc has been sitting idle for a while.

Last night, I tried removing a wifi card that was adjacent to the video card. I updated the motherboard drivers. I also changed the power settings so the pc and monitor never sleep.

However, during the night the pc lost DVI signal again.

I was thinking it might be happening when the pc goes into sleep mode, but apparently not since I changed the settings.

Any other ideas?
__________________
Intel 5820k | Noctua NH-U12S | Asus Strix GTX 970 x 2 | Asus X99-A | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 850w | Crucial 16GB DDR4 2133 | Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD | Asus ROG Swift 27 inch monitor | Corsair Gaming K70 RGB | Windows 8.1 64-bit
Xerin7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:44 PM   #5
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

could be a bios sleep state related issue.... try changing the settings to see if that helps (e..g S1 vs S3, etc.)... or update to latest bios to see if that helps...
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:09 AM   #6
Xerin7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 155
Default

I haven't made any additional changes since my last post, but for some reason the pc seems to be working fine now. If we do start having issues again, I'll check out the bios settings for sleep state.

Thanks again for the help.
__________________
Intel 5820k | Noctua NH-U12S | Asus Strix GTX 970 x 2 | Asus X99-A | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 850w | Crucial 16GB DDR4 2133 | Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD | Asus ROG Swift 27 inch monitor | Corsair Gaming K70 RGB | Windows 8.1 64-bit
Xerin7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.