Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Peripherals

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2012, 01:07 PM   #1
zCypher
Diamond Member
 
zCypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,604
Default Is $629 a deal for the U2713HM?

Dell Canada has it for $629 right now, wondering if this is a decent deal? Currently using a somewhat ordinary but not too horrible Samsung 2343BWX (2048x1152). It has been good to me but I've been itching to upgrade to either dual/triple screens of this type/size, or a single 27-30" IPS panel. I saw a friend's laptop that apparently had an IPS panel in it, and it looked amazing to me. I always hear nothing but praise on this forum about these Dell panels.

I don't have professional requirements for this type of panel, but I can appreciate a quality display. Plus, a higher resolution will give me a good excuse to upgrade my computer as I will no longer want to play any games in "only" 2048x1152.

Speaking of games, I'm not a hardcore gamer by any stretch of the imagination. Actually, I admit to being quite horrible at most games and I give up/lose interest quickly due to how much I suck. Is this panel acceptable for games, given I am that type of person? Games are definitely not top priority for me, nor the sole reason I would upgrade my display either. I want more real estate!
__________________
1100T, Biostar TA870U3+, 16GB DDR3, 240GB Mushkin Chronos Deluxe, 2x1TB Black, 2x3TB Green, 3GB XFX 7970, Antec 650W, CM690, Dell U2713HM & Samsung 2343BWX
zCypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:40 PM   #2
zCypher
Diamond Member
 
zCypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,604
Default

Well I ordered it, expected delivery date is tomorrow. Can't wait!
__________________
1100T, Biostar TA870U3+, 16GB DDR3, 240GB Mushkin Chronos Deluxe, 2x1TB Black, 2x3TB Green, 3GB XFX 7970, Antec 650W, CM690, Dell U2713HM & Samsung 2343BWX
zCypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:31 PM   #3
snoylekim
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 101
Default

You probably know this already,but JIC .. I think that's a high gamut monitor, so choose your settings accordingly .. sRGB will be the most applicable for most work ..it will have an Adobe RGB option for a wider gamut, which might be a bit extreme for most applications .. The high end Dell also handle calibration very nicely . enjoy !!
snoylekim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:54 PM   #4
bigsnyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 1,567
Default

The U2713HM is the "standard" gamut with 8-bit panel. The U2713H (minus the M) is the wide gamut with 10-bit panel - the true successor to the U2711.
bigsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:49 PM   #5
snoylekim
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 101
Default

ahhh .. Thanks for the info .. I'm running with a U2410 now ..might need an addition this year ..good to know ..
snoylekim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:19 AM   #6
zCypher
Diamond Member
 
zCypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsnyder View Post
The U2713HM is the "standard" gamut with 8-bit panel. The U2713H (minus the M) is the wide gamut with 10-bit panel - the true successor to the U2711.
Just received mine today. At first I thought it didn't seem that huge as I unpacked it, but seeing it side-by-side with the Samsung 2343BWX, it does seem quite massive.

The cable that came with this monitor was a bit longer than what I had on the old one, seems a bit beefier too. Since I want my old monitor on the right side, and its cable is a bit short, I tried using the U2713HM with the old cable since it's closer to the computer. HA! Entire image is all pink and hideous with that. Put it back on the old monitor - looks fine on it. I guess they are not all created equally and the old one can't really handle this high of a res or something.

Here's a pic of the monitor with old cable attached: http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/2960/2713oldcable.jpg

And with proper cabling: http://imageshack.us/a/img197/9576/screensh.jpg

For now I still have my GTX 460SE 1GB. Seems to be fine for desktop use with both monitors attached. Haven't done much other than post here and browse though. Let's see how the this card handles 2560x1440 hehe.
__________________
1100T, Biostar TA870U3+, 16GB DDR3, 240GB Mushkin Chronos Deluxe, 2x1TB Black, 2x3TB Green, 3GB XFX 7970, Antec 650W, CM690, Dell U2713HM & Samsung 2343BWX
zCypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 03:21 PM   #7
zCypher
Diamond Member
 
zCypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,604
Default

Playing Borderlands in 2560x1440 with max settings, cpu usage is mostly under 40%, GPU load according to GPU-Z is 98% come on 7970, get here already.
__________________
1100T, Biostar TA870U3+, 16GB DDR3, 240GB Mushkin Chronos Deluxe, 2x1TB Black, 2x3TB Green, 3GB XFX 7970, Antec 650W, CM690, Dell U2713HM & Samsung 2343BWX
zCypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:45 PM   #8
saratoga172
Golden Member
 
saratoga172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,333
Default

Old cable is probably a single link DVI cable. The new one with the U2713HM is probably a dual link DVI cable.

Single link only supports up to 1920x1200 I believe. Dual link will support up to 2560x1600. The other thing you'll notice is the ability of the cable to carry the entire signal to the monitor which you saw by plugging in the single link cable to the monitor.
__________________
Workstation/Gaming: i7-4770k, Kingston DDR3-1600 32gb, Crucial M500 960gb, 256gb M4, 2x GTX 780ti, 2 x Dell U3011
Work: Dell Precision M3800 i7-4702HQ, 16gb, 256gb SSD, NVidia K1100M
Phone: AT&T iPhone 6 64gb Space Grey (Personal), AT&T iPhone 6 Gold 16gb (Work)
saratoga172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:18 PM   #9
dagamer34
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,546
Default

Also make sure you plug your monitor into the dual-link DVI port on your GPU otherwise you will be stuck at 1290x1200.

I wish I could drop some dough on a new GPU, but with HD 8xxx and GTX 7xx only a few months away, I'm stuck waiting. =/
dagamer34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:20 PM   #10
zCypher
Diamond Member
 
zCypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,604
Default

I dunno about that one, I just tested the small monitor on both ports of the GPU and in both cases the monitor runs in its native resolution, 2048x1152. Unless the limitation is the 1200 part and not the 1920 part of 1920x1200... I really have no idea about any of this though, first I hear of this stuff.
__________________
1100T, Biostar TA870U3+, 16GB DDR3, 240GB Mushkin Chronos Deluxe, 2x1TB Black, 2x3TB Green, 3GB XFX 7970, Antec 650W, CM690, Dell U2713HM & Samsung 2343BWX
zCypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:35 PM   #11
zCypher
Diamond Member
 
zCypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,604
Default

On a side note, anyone see ridiculous lag when resizing a gmail window?

ridiculous lag when resizing a gmail window

don't seem to see any significant CPU or GPU usage when this happens either, so it has to be something with the way firefox handles the page, or with the way the page is coded?
__________________
1100T, Biostar TA870U3+, 16GB DDR3, 240GB Mushkin Chronos Deluxe, 2x1TB Black, 2x3TB Green, 3GB XFX 7970, Antec 650W, CM690, Dell U2713HM & Samsung 2343BWX
zCypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.