Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2012, 11:19 AM   #1
Chrishuff1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,764
Default Streaming SUCKS on my HTPC

I can't for the life of me figure out what is going on, the problem started a month or so ago. No changes have been made. Streaming videos (via Hulu, TLC etc) is just fine on my iPad and other desktops / laptops in the house, there's just something with the HTPC that isn't working right. I've tried everything I could think of. Spyware and rootkit scans reveal nothing, as do virus scans. Windows is up to date (Windows 7), Flash player is current. I use Chrome for streaming, things get marginally better in IE. I've uninstalled / reinstalled Chrome. Firefox is no better. I have 20Mb Comcast, and consistently get those or faster speeds. Help!

Thanks in advance!
__________________
"For a whore is a deep ditch; and a strange woman is a narrow pit." - Proverbs 23:27

Heatware: Chrishuff1 (112 - 1 - 0)
Chrishuff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:21 AM   #2
Smoove910
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 1,106
Default

without knowing what your system specs are, there's not a chance in Hades anyone can say for sure what the issue is...
__________________
Mobo: Biostar TA880GU3+ uATX
Proc: AMD Phenom II 960T unlocked/6 cores @ 3.5ghz
Ram: (4) 4gb GSkill 1600mhz (16gb total)
HDDs: (2) 640GB WD AAKS, (1) 750GB Seagate Ext
Vid: Sapphire 6870 1gb DDR5 1000mhz core, 1100 mhz mem
Camera: Pentax K5, I'm not a Canikon fanboy.
Smoove910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:30 AM   #3
Chrishuff1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,764
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoove910 View Post
without knowing what your system specs are, there's not a chance in Hades anyone can say for sure what the issue is...
Knew I was forgetting something.

I believe the mobo is a Asus P5N, with a P4 3Ghz, 2GB ram. Using onboard video (Geforce 7100 /nforce 630i 128mb). It's performed flawlessly for 4 years...
__________________
"For a whore is a deep ditch; and a strange woman is a narrow pit." - Proverbs 23:27

Heatware: Chrishuff1 (112 - 1 - 0)
Chrishuff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:16 PM   #4
Smoove910
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 1,106
Default

Since you are having streaming issues, are you streaming through ethernet, through wireless? What wireless card are you using if wireless? Do you have an ethernet card? Using onboard ethernet?

So much missing info...
__________________
Mobo: Biostar TA880GU3+ uATX
Proc: AMD Phenom II 960T unlocked/6 cores @ 3.5ghz
Ram: (4) 4gb GSkill 1600mhz (16gb total)
HDDs: (2) 640GB WD AAKS, (1) 750GB Seagate Ext
Vid: Sapphire 6870 1gb DDR5 1000mhz core, 1100 mhz mem
Camera: Pentax K5, I'm not a Canikon fanboy.
Smoove910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 06:06 PM   #5
fralexandr
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,382
Default

are you running adblock?
there have been a ton of random flash ads that utilize a bunch of CPU lately, one of them even seems to bog down my core i7 860 system for some reason, there must be something wrong with that ad...

you're set to use standard def video only right? I don't think HD decode was added until halfway through the 8 series, and your P4 won't be sufficient for that.

Last edited by fralexandr; 12-28-2012 at 06:10 PM.
fralexandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:43 AM   #6
Chrishuff1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,764
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fralexandr View Post
are you running adblock?
there have been a ton of random flash ads that utilize a bunch of CPU lately, one of them even seems to bog down my core i7 860 system for some reason, there must be something wrong with that ad...

you're set to use standard def video only right? I don't think HD decode was added until halfway through the 8 series, and your P4 won't be sufficient for that.
Yes I am running adblock and better popup blocker. Yes only standard def.

I am currently connected via built in ethernet. My network is as follows:

Surfboard SB5101 -> Linksys WRV200 -> DLink DES-1024D -> PC
__________________
"For a whore is a deep ditch; and a strange woman is a narrow pit." - Proverbs 23:27

Heatware: Chrishuff1 (112 - 1 - 0)
Chrishuff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:08 PM   #7
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Just an idea.

Download FatDog-64 and boot from FatDog on your HTPC. If it works with FatDog64 the problem is your software. If it is slow with both Windows and FatDog your issue is more likely to be hardware related.

I've had trouble with the Firefox edition but SeaMonkey works just fine.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82611
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:42 AM   #8
Chrishuff1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,764
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lakedude View Post
Just an idea.

Download FatDog-64 and boot from FatDog on your HTPC. If it works with FatDog64 the problem is your software. If it is slow with both Windows and FatDog your issue is more likely to be hardware related.

I've had trouble with the Firefox edition but SeaMonkey works just fine.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82611
The problem has only recently popped up so I wouldn't think it is hardware related...my older and slower computers stream just fine on wireless or directly connected.
__________________
"For a whore is a deep ditch; and a strange woman is a narrow pit." - Proverbs 23:27

Heatware: Chrishuff1 (112 - 1 - 0)
Chrishuff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:34 PM   #9
daveybrat
Diamond Member
 
daveybrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 3,452
Default

No offense meant and i'm only trying to be constructive here but.....

A P4 3GHz with old onboard graphics should be pretty choppy on most online streaming.

Your processor is extremely outdated and the onboard graphics have no hardware acceleration or offloading abilities.

We used to have a system exactly like yours in our lunchroom at work and i could barely watch Hulu videos without stuttering and choppiness. Upgraded it to an older AMD 2.3GHz dual-core and it plays just fine.

Now days i'd say a dual-core is pretty much required for smooth playback.
__________________
Heatware

Gaming Rig: Intel i5-4690K @ 3.5GHz (CM Hyper 212 EVO)| ASRock Z97 Pro4 | 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 1866 DDR3 | Crucial MX100 256GB SSD | WD 640GB Black | MSI GTX 660 Twin-Frozer III | Asus Xonar DG | Corsair CX750 Watt | Windows 8.1 64-Bit
daveybrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:01 PM   #10
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,275
Default

I wonder if the sites you are going to recently started offering higher definition material, which you system is having more trouble with.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:24 PM   #11
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveybrat View Post
No offense meant and i'm only trying to be constructive here but.....

A P4 3GHz with old onboard graphics should be pretty choppy on most online streaming.

Your processor is extremely outdated and the onboard graphics have no hardware acceleration or offloading abilities.

We used to have a system exactly like yours in our lunchroom at work and i could barely watch Hulu videos without stuttering and choppiness. Upgraded it to an older AMD 2.3GHz dual-core and it plays just fine.

Now days i'd say a dual-core is pretty much required for smooth playback.
This. Time to upgrade, or throw in a video card. Do you have a PCI-E or an AGP slot?
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:09 PM   #12
hoorah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 603
Default

FWIW, I just bought a Socket 775 P4 925, Dual Core 3.0ghz from ebay for $7 shipped. This was to upgrade a small fileserver from a single core 3.0ghz to get a little more life out of it, and because the time spent migrating the server would cost more than the hardware upgrade.
__________________
Main: CyberpowerPC i7-3770K / 16GB / ATI7850 / Win 8.1
HTPC x 6: HDHRprime + ASTC tuners, WMC + Mediabrowser
Server: i5-2300 / 8GB / WS2012 R2 Essentials
NAS: Dlink DNS 323 NAS - 2x1TB
Portable: HP DV7 - T6600 / 8GB
hoorah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 06:05 PM   #13
MrWizzard
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveybrat View Post
No offense meant and i'm only trying to be constructive here but.....

A P4 3GHz with old onboard graphics should be pretty choppy on most online streaming.

Your processor is extremely outdated and the onboard graphics have no hardware acceleration or offloading abilities.

We used to have a system exactly like yours in our lunchroom at work and i could barely watch Hulu videos without stuttering and choppiness. Upgraded it to an older AMD 2.3GHz dual-core and it plays just fine.

Now days i'd say a dual-core is pretty much required for smooth playback.
Yep pretty much this, with flash upgrades it takes more processing power to decode flash now. (or a new architecture slower processor) I have a old AMD 64 3500+ that can't play flash videos smoothly. Your machine didn't slow down it just can't meet the new flash decoding requirements like it used to. MAYBE you can get it to work if you disable other services and processes but this problem will just keep coming up. Should be able to pick something up really cheap on ebay. GL

Last edited by MrWizzard; 02-01-2013 at 06:08 PM.
MrWizzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 06:13 PM   #14
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

op, you really dont have a streaming pc. the reason it used to work is because the streaming protocols were lighter on systems because a lot of people had what you had.

now quality is in demand, and if you dont have hardware video accelleration youre pretty screwed. p4 3ghz has been boarderline for quite some time now, and i wouldnt be surprised if the bitrates passed those chips by.

your onboard 7 series graphics doenst do 2d video accelleration. that is the real reason why your pc wont be good for streaming.

the only chance that computer has is a working AGP port. if it has that, then there are video cards out there, like the 3800 from ati, that will let you stream everything under the sun on p4 systems. problem is they are hard to find less then $80. for that money, you can get a crappy used core 2 duo machine and stream everything in your cpu again, for less power consumption.
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 07:04 PM   #15
daveybrat
Diamond Member
 
daveybrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 3,452
Default

I'm assuming this is your motherboard:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131230

If so, you have an available PCI-e slot for expansion.

This is a cheap and worthy upgrade:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131339

PowerColor Go! Green AX5450 512MK3-SH Radeon HD 5450 (Cedar) 512MB 64-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card $28.99 w/free shipping!

80 Stream processors and supports full offloading capabilites.
__________________
Heatware

Gaming Rig: Intel i5-4690K @ 3.5GHz (CM Hyper 212 EVO)| ASRock Z97 Pro4 | 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 1866 DDR3 | Crucial MX100 256GB SSD | WD 640GB Black | MSI GTX 660 Twin-Frozer III | Asus Xonar DG | Corsair CX750 Watt | Windows 8.1 64-Bit
daveybrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:54 AM   #16
Matt1970
Lifer
 
Matt1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 11,087
Default

^^ Not to mention for $20-$30 on ebay you can get a good Core 2 Duo that will run circles around that P4 chip. If that is your motherboard listed above then just be careful what bus speed any chip you get has.
Matt1970 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.