Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2012, 08:26 AM   #1
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Smile ASUS M5A97 R2.0 FSB max @ 300 Mhz?


I have managed to overclock the ASUS M5A97 R2.0 to a bus speed (FSB) of 300 MHz
using the phenom x6 1045T.

But the second I try and set the bus speed (FSB) a bit higher like 305 MHz,
windows keeps crashing!

Would this be a limitation of the board since it's a 4+2 power phase design?

Or are there other options I can try to stabilize the higher bus speeds


1- would increasing the mobo related voltages in bios help? i tried a bit of that didn't seem to

2- Remove the stock thermal pads of the default mobo heatsinks and replace them with AS5?

3- Add more heatsinks on the mobo to strategic components?

Any ideas will be appreciated.

AMD Phenom X6 1045T @ 4GHz
ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Radeon XFX HD 4890
Cooler Master HAF X
Corsair AX850 GOLD
Windows 7 64bit
PAPADOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 03:54 PM   #2
VirtualLarry's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 29,767

300Mhz is at the upper end of AMD FSB speeds. You're lucky to be able to hit that high of an FSB, to be honest. Be happy with what you get.
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
Bingo. Larry, if you want to do this just for s**** and giggles, then go for it. Just don't try to rationalize it.
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 05:58 PM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1

My ASUS M5A97 with amd 1055T will run at 300 but wont do much higher neither
doodle6721 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.