Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2012, 01:59 PM   #1
benwood
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 92
Default Windows 7 Activation Problem.

I bought a Windows 7 Upgrade Family Pack which is good for use on 3 PCs. The first PC I used it on had it's motherboard (Intel P67) bricked by a bad flash from Intel. I replaced the motherboard and re-used the same CPU and got Microsoft to activate it online. I then built another computer and used the same Product Key from the Windows 7 Upgrade Family Pack and again got Microsoft to activate it online. Now I've built a 3rd computer and when I tried to get Microsoft to activate it online it didn't work. Instead it's asking me to buy another Product Key.

I'm thinking that Microsoft thinks that the 1st computer that I used the Product Key on is still around. How do I get them to remove that 1st computer from the license so I can activate the new one? I'm not spending money to but another license when the license I have is good on 3 computers and I only want to use it on 3 computers. Thanks.
benwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 07:05 PM   #2
cl-scott
ASUS Support
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 457
Default

You'll have to call their activation hotline and get an actual person on the line so you can explain the situation. Since this is a retail product, not OEM, it should have transfer rights and be a pretty simple matter.
__________________
Scott Billings
Asus Customer Loyalty
Email: cl-scott@asus.com

Opinions expressed are not necessarily those of Asus or Anandtech
cl-scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 09:02 PM   #3
benwood
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Thanks for the advice.
benwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.