Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2012, 06:50 PM   #1
UptheIrons
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 55
Default Have some questions about tv tuner from experienced users

Hi guys, I can't seem to find the answers to my questions so I thought I'd ask here, hope you all can help.

1. If I buy a tv tuner, does the PC have to be powered ON in order to record like a dvr? If so can it be in sleep mode? If it has to be on what power setting should I use?

2. Can I set up windows media center so that I can list movies in the library, but store them on an external hard drive?

3. Can I setup WMC so it records to an external hard drive.

I have limited space on my primary drive so I was trying to find out

Thanks guys, your help is much appreciated

specs: intel g645, 4gb ddr3, 200gb main drive, foxconn rm2-h2 barebones, bluray rom, windows 7 64but ultimate.
__________________
fx 8320, gtx 660 2gb, 8gb DDR3, W7 64bit
UptheIrons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:25 AM   #2
Dirigible
Diamond Member
 
Dirigible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,609
Default

Disclaimer: I'm not a computer guy. I know enough to get my stuff to work (central main computer that records, a few htpcs, nas/media server). My knowledge is not complete.

1) yes, computer must be on. Sleep mode ok. Don't understand your last question.

2) If the movies are of a type media center can recognize, yes. On a USB drive or mapped drive on the LAN.

3) don't know for sure. I believe you can record to a USB drive. Maybe not to a drive on the LAN. Worst case, record to a folder that is monitored and have recordings moved off your system. There is free software that will do this.
__________________
Looking for catsup. PM me if you see it for sale!

Been missing from my area for years.

Last edited by Dirigible; 12-29-2012 at 09:28 AM.
Dirigible is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:27 AM   #3
OILFIELDTRASH
Lifer
 
OILFIELDTRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,126
Default

3. Yes. Its in the settings options.
OILFIELDTRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:47 AM   #4
TastesLikeChicken
Lifer
 
TastesLikeChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 4th fairway
Posts: 15,461
Default

1. The computer can be in sleep mode and WMC will wake it up to record, then return to sleep mode when done recording, assuming you aren't currently using it. The power setting isn't important since recording is not a CPU-intensive process.

2. Yes.

3. Yes, if by external hard-drive you mean one that is locally attached to the HTPC.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed...skydiving is probably not for you.
TastesLikeChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 11:44 AM   #5
LoveMachine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 359
Default

Movies, music, etc. can be accessed on a network drive, but recorded TV shows must go onto a drive physically attached to the computer (including USB), and HD programs will eat up space quickly since they aren't compressed much as WMC records them. I generally have ~10-20 hours of recorded stuff, and the folder takes up over 100GB.

WMC is pretty good as a TV DVR, and is pretty easy to set up and very easy to use.
__________________
Intel i5-3570K@4.2/ Asus P8Z77-V (1805 Bios)
Samsung 1.35V 1600mhz DDR3 2x4GB at 1866 / Samsung 840 128GB Boot Drive
WD Green EZRX 3TB media drive / CM Hyper212+ AS5
HIS iSilence fanless 7750 13.6 / SeaSonic Fanless 460Watt Gold
Fractal Designs Arc Midi / LG BluRay burner / Win7 Home 64bit
LoveMachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.