Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Security

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2012, 01:39 PM   #1
Muse
Lifer
 
Muse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the rainbow over Berkeley
Posts: 14,516
Default WTH, Google can't be trusted? What is this?

I have been fighting some issues, granted. Cleared CMOS an hour ago. I can't see that has anything to do with the fact that I attempted to do a Google search and got this:
- - - -
This Connection is Untrusted


You have asked Firefox to connect
securely to www.google.com, but we can't confirm that your connection is secure.
Normally, when you try to connect securely,
sites will present trusted identification to prove that you are
going to the right place. However, this site's identity can't be verified.
- - - -

What Should I Do?

If you usually connect to
this site without problems, this error could mean that someone is
trying to impersonate the site, and you shouldn't continue.


If you understand what's going on, you
can tell Firefox to start trusting this site's identification.
Even if you trust the site, this error could mean that someone is
tampering with your connection.
Don't add an exception unless
you know there's a good reason why this site doesn't use trusted identification.

- - - -
The URL I had when that message came up was:

https://www.google.com/search?q=bios...ient=firefox-a
__________________
Quotations on happiness!

Last edited by Muse; 12-25-2012 at 01:41 PM.
Muse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 05:01 PM   #2
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,995
Default

Uhm, did you remember to reset your date/time to current? If date/time are not set correctly, SSL certificates will fail.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 06:00 PM   #3
KeithP
Diamond Member
 
KeithP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 4,231
Default

Seems like FF may be having some issues, check this out:
http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/939194

-KeithP
__________________
Heat 64-0-0

Hoodies don't have zippers, chili doesn't have beans, the plane won't take off...deal with it.
KeithP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 11:32 PM   #4
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithP View Post
Seems like FF may be having some issues, check this out:
http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/939194

-KeithP
if you read that thread, the problem was caused by their AV software trying to scan SSL traffic.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:49 AM   #5
Muse
Lifer
 
Muse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the rainbow over Berkeley
Posts: 14,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Uhm, did you remember to reset your date/time to current? If date/time are not set correctly, SSL certificates will fail.
You're right about that. The time was off by many hours. Reset it when I discovered it. Don't remember if it was before or after this problem though. I have a neat freebie called Atomtime.exe that I use to update my computers' clocks. It's not automatic, I have to run it to synchronize. I keep it in my Utilities folder, accessible from my desktop. I only use the Start button when I have to!
__________________
Quotations on happiness!

Last edited by Muse; 12-26-2012 at 09:52 AM.
Muse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.