Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2012, 11:36 AM   #1
p_monks33
Golden Member
 
p_monks33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tulsa OK.
Posts: 1,120
Default Windows Security Update Problems

Anyone else having issues with Aero and user profiles after security update KB2753842 , I can uninstall it and everything is fine and back to normal, when I shutdown and restart, it automatically reinstalls and screws everything up again.
__________________
Heatware
Corsair 750D , I7 4770K 4.4Ghz , Maximus Formula VI,
EK Water Cooled EVGA GTX 980ti, EK Pump/Res , 500GB Samsung 840, 1000w EVGA SuperNova PSU, 27" Asus 144hz.
p_monks33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:31 PM   #2
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,524
Default

You can always try blacklisting it after you uninstall but before you reboot. When viewing available updates, you just right-click KB2753842 and choose Hide update.

I wouldn't permanently ignore a security update, though. Wait a few weeks and try to reinstall it.
__________________
I often hear from readers that they would prefer a straight, neutral treatment — just the facts. But The [New York] Times has moved away from that, reflecting editors’ reasonable belief that the basics can be found in many news outlets, every minute of the day. They want to provide “value-added” coverage.

Margaret Sullivan, NYT Public Editor
AnonymouseUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 01:20 PM   #3
corkyg
Elite Member
Super Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 25,155
Default

Microsoft has re-released this update. Version 1 causes the above described problems. Version 2 is apparently OK.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

“Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure” - Don Wilder
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 02:23 PM   #4
p_monks33
Golden Member
 
p_monks33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tulsa OK.
Posts: 1,120
Default

I need to check out Rev. 2 the 1st one ruined my PC when installed. Terrible slow load times. How can I blacklist an update?
__________________
Heatware
Corsair 750D , I7 4770K 4.4Ghz , Maximus Formula VI,
EK Water Cooled EVGA GTX 980ti, EK Pump/Res , 500GB Samsung 840, 1000w EVGA SuperNova PSU, 27" Asus 144hz.
p_monks33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 05:29 PM   #5
p_monks33
Golden Member
 
p_monks33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tulsa OK.
Posts: 1,120
Default

Still can't make this patch work, and it automatically re-installs as soon as I restart. I see nothing about a re-release, just the standard 20 December 2012 version.
__________________
Heatware
Corsair 750D , I7 4770K 4.4Ghz , Maximus Formula VI,
EK Water Cooled EVGA GTX 980ti, EK Pump/Res , 500GB Samsung 840, 1000w EVGA SuperNova PSU, 27" Asus 144hz.
p_monks33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:38 PM   #6
denis280
Diamond Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 3,236
Default

try running sfc /scannow
__________________
i3-4150|H97-D3H|16gb hyper x|Gt-640|kingston ssd|1tb wd Black|Antec psu
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.