Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2012, 01:35 AM   #1
FearoftheNight
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4,910
Default 2007 Santa Rosa Macbook freezes occasionally...

Hey guys...my MBP works great 5 years in...only thing is that for the past few months or so it tends to freeze/lock up for 30 seconds or so when I'm using it. Any idea what could be causing this? I'm on Lion if that matters. At first I thought it was the hdd being so but it continued to happen after I upgraded to an SSD. Any idea what could be causing this?
__________________
Apple Macbook Pro 2.6 gighz C2D (Santa Rosa)/4 gig memory/Geforce 8600m GT 256mb/Seagate 320 Gb 7200 rpm hDD

dell xps 8300/sandy bridge i5 2300/6gb memory/1tb seagate hdd
/sapphire radeon hd 6850
FearoftheNight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:10 AM   #2
joshhedge
Senior Member
 
joshhedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 597
Default

Yep, I had this on my early 2008 MBP in Lion. No idea what causes it, it just happens. Either downgrade to SL or put up with it. In my opinion SL is just better. Make sure you have trim enabler installed - http://www.groths.org.

I did some research of my own into what happens in the freezing and it appears the I/O just drops to zero for that period, but I was unable to find the root cause of it.

Note this only happens in Lion, for me ( I think, didn't own the laptop with ML for long enough), it wasn't present in SL or ML.
__________________
Intel Core i7 2600k o/c 4.8GHz at 1.35v Corsair H80
Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3
Kingston HyperX 2x4GB 1600MHz
Sapphire 6970 2GB @ 965/1400/1250
120GB OCZ Agility 3
2TB WD Caviar Black

Retina Macbook Pro, 2.6GHz, 16GB, 256GB.
joshhedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:56 AM   #3
FearoftheNight
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4,910
Default

Hmm... So maybe ml will fix the issue?
__________________
Apple Macbook Pro 2.6 gighz C2D (Santa Rosa)/4 gig memory/Geforce 8600m GT 256mb/Seagate 320 Gb 7200 rpm hDD

dell xps 8300/sandy bridge i5 2300/6gb memory/1tb seagate hdd
/sapphire radeon hd 6850
FearoftheNight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:05 AM   #4
joshhedge
Senior Member
 
joshhedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 597
Default

Potentially, or downgrading to Snow Leopard.
__________________
Intel Core i7 2600k o/c 4.8GHz at 1.35v Corsair H80
Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3
Kingston HyperX 2x4GB 1600MHz
Sapphire 6970 2GB @ 965/1400/1250
120GB OCZ Agility 3
2TB WD Caviar Black

Retina Macbook Pro, 2.6GHz, 16GB, 256GB.
joshhedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:40 PM   #5
FearoftheNight
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4,910
Default

I imagine there's no way to downgrade without having a fresh install?
__________________
Apple Macbook Pro 2.6 gighz C2D (Santa Rosa)/4 gig memory/Geforce 8600m GT 256mb/Seagate 320 Gb 7200 rpm hDD

dell xps 8300/sandy bridge i5 2300/6gb memory/1tb seagate hdd
/sapphire radeon hd 6850
FearoftheNight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 02:52 AM   #6
joshhedge
Senior Member
 
joshhedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 597
Default

Correct, but a fresh install does wonders for performance. Consider upgrading to an SSD such as an M4 if you happen to go ahead doing it.
__________________
Intel Core i7 2600k o/c 4.8GHz at 1.35v Corsair H80
Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3
Kingston HyperX 2x4GB 1600MHz
Sapphire 6970 2GB @ 965/1400/1250
120GB OCZ Agility 3
2TB WD Caviar Black

Retina Macbook Pro, 2.6GHz, 16GB, 256GB.
joshhedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 03:02 AM   #7
FearoftheNight
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4,910
Default

Already have the m4 :-) just got ml earlier today. So far so good... Thanks!
__________________
Apple Macbook Pro 2.6 gighz C2D (Santa Rosa)/4 gig memory/Geforce 8600m GT 256mb/Seagate 320 Gb 7200 rpm hDD

dell xps 8300/sandy bridge i5 2300/6gb memory/1tb seagate hdd
/sapphire radeon hd 6850
FearoftheNight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:19 PM   #8
Kadarin
Lifer
 
Kadarin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: /dev/random
Posts: 43,644
Default

When I had mine I had to drop it back to Snow Leopard for similar issues. I think it just doesn't like running Lion.
__________________
Eject, Buckaroo! Eject!
Kadarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 05:15 PM   #9
FearoftheNight
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4,910
Default

Hope mountain lion works okay. Really don't want to fresh install..
__________________
Apple Macbook Pro 2.6 gighz C2D (Santa Rosa)/4 gig memory/Geforce 8600m GT 256mb/Seagate 320 Gb 7200 rpm hDD

dell xps 8300/sandy bridge i5 2300/6gb memory/1tb seagate hdd
/sapphire radeon hd 6850
FearoftheNight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 05:39 PM   #10
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearoftheNight View Post
Hope mountain lion works okay. Really don't want to fresh install..
You could always try doing a fresh install on the HDD you swapped out if you still have it. Could be a hardware issue.
__________________
HeatWare
Email
Kenmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 11:41 AM   #11
Rottie
Diamond Member
 
Rottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,670
Default

I have Santa Rosa 2007 MBP and I have no problem with Lion when I installed SSD. Now I am with ML.
__________________
Main Laptop:
15" rMacBook Pro Intel i7 Quad 2.3 8GB ram 256GB SDD Maverick 10.9
iPad Air
32GB Space Grey WIFI + Cellular
Rottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 01:59 PM   #12
Theb
Diamond Member
 
Theb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,338
Default

Whether you upgrade or downgrade I would do a clean install. Upgrading an OS that has issues is a recipe for trouble.

I would go back to 10.6 on your 2007, but I'm a fan of 10.6.
Theb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:25 PM   #13
manly
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,138
Default

It's probably Safari 5.1 which caused significant thrashing issues IMO. Essentially if Safari runs long enough, it'll occupy most of your real memory and never release it.

I switched to Chrome which is also a memory hog (with the number of tabs I have open), but significantly better than Safari 5.1.

Note that Safari 5.0 was not as bad, and I can't tell you how ML's Safari 6.0 is relatively.

On an unrelated note, I had a DIMM slot somehow go bad in a 2009 MBP and that caused random hard crashes. The Genius Bar couldn't figure it out within a day but offered a logic board replacement for $300.
manly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:34 PM   #14
FearoftheNight
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4,910
Default

Quick update. Runs flawlessly on ML
__________________
Apple Macbook Pro 2.6 gighz C2D (Santa Rosa)/4 gig memory/Geforce 8600m GT 256mb/Seagate 320 Gb 7200 rpm hDD

dell xps 8300/sandy bridge i5 2300/6gb memory/1tb seagate hdd
/sapphire radeon hd 6850
FearoftheNight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.