Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2012, 05:18 PM   #376
organshifter
Junior Member
 
organshifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbp View Post
Ctrl-I
This is where you create the array
Yep, but I'm trying to figure out what the Intel RAID ROM Utility is that Fernando made reference to. Is it a separate utility, in addition to the IRST application?
organshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 05:28 PM   #377
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by organshifter View Post
Yep, but I'm trying to figure out what the Intel RAID ROM Utility is that Fernando made reference to. Is it a separate utility, in addition to the IRST application?
Yes, that is the DOS based utility you get by hitting Ctrl+I while booting.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 05:57 PM   #378
organshifter
Junior Member
 
organshifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
Yes, that is the DOS based utility you get by hitting Ctrl+I while booting.
I had a feeling that that's what you were referring to. It lists the array as normal and each drive as being a member disk, but doesn't say whether or not if the array is being detected as a SSD.

organshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:15 PM   #379
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

@ organshifter:
Thanks for the pictures. Everything seems to be fine regarding the RAID arrays.
So it's obviously just the "Optimizer" (= Win8 Defrag Tool?), which doesn't detect all SSDs correctly.
Question:
Did you ever run the Windows-Experience-Index (WEI)?
I ask this, because usually the OS detects the SSDs by running the WEI.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:20 PM   #380
organshifter
Junior Member
 
organshifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
@ organshifter:
Thanks for the pictures. Everything seems to be fine regarding the RAID arrays.
So it's obviously just the "Optimizer" (= Win8 Defrag Tool?), which doesn't detect all SSDs correctly.
Question:
Did you ever run the Windows-Experience-Index (WEI)?
I ask this, because usually the OS detects the SSDs by running the WEI.
I ran it only once, which was right after I installed Windows 8 and fully updated it with all drivers, windows updates, mandatory apps, etc., and then made a clean backup image.

I'll run it now and report right back.

EDIT: Still being listed by Win8 Defrag Tool as a hard disk drive. I wish there was a simple registry entry that I could change to force Windows into seeing it as a SSD.

What's everyone's opinion? Do you all believe that's the reason the array won't TRIM?

Last edited by organshifter; 12-17-2012 at 06:39 PM.
organshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 07:41 PM   #381
spinejam
Diamond Member
 
spinejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lumberton, NC
Posts: 3,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by organshifter View Post
I ran it only once, which was right after I installed Windows 8 and fully updated it with all drivers, windows updates, mandatory apps, etc., and then made a clean backup image.

I'll run it now and report right back.

EDIT: Still being listed by Win8 Defrag Tool as a hard disk drive. I wish there was a simple registry entry that I could change to force Windows into seeing it as a SSD.

What's everyone's opinion? Do you all believe that's the reason the array won't TRIM?


Have you tried an earlier Intel RST Driver? This is what seems to work the best for me:



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

The Intel RST 11.7.0.1013 drivers showed TRIM was present / working on my system but the HxD .jpg method proved otherwise.
__________________
Heatware
Asus P67 Sabertooth | 2700k @4.8 Ghz | H80 Cooler |
2x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @2133Mhz | Corsair ForceGT 180GB x2 RAID0 | Seagate 3TB |
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC (1200c 1600m - Hynix) | Samsung SH-S223Q x2 | CoolerMaster HAF-922 | Antec HCG 900W | Shimian QH270-IPSI 2560x1440 Tempered Glass
spinejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:21 PM   #382
organshifter
Junior Member
 
organshifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinejam View Post
Have you tried an earlier Intel RST Driver? This is what seems to work the best for me:

The Intel RST v11.7.0.1013 drivers showed TRIM was present / working on my system but the HxD .jpg method proved otherwise.
Thanks for the suggestion Spinejam. Yes, I previously had version v11.6.2.1002 installed, and TRIM wasn't working on the Transcend array. The Patriot array works great with both driver versions. I can't remember if the defrag tool listed the Transcend array as a SSD or not with v11.6.2.1002. Do you think I should reinstall that version again, or maybe even v11.6.0.1030? (<-never tried).

The only thing I haven't tried is installing Windows 8 from scratch again. I didn't do this due to it not being needed to get TRIM functioning on the Patriot array.

Initially, I tested TRIM on the Transcend array while Windows 8 was installed using IRST v11.6.2.1002. When it didn't work, I put the older Patriot drives in. With a freshly created RAID 0 array, I ran the TRIM test on them. Worked instantly. I thought, "Okay, cool. TRIM is working!"

From there, I created a fresh backup image of the system, deleted the Transcend array, and restored the image to the Patriot array instead. Not a single problem. Drives were detected as solid state drives right off the bat, and the TRIM test passed with the OS installed exactly as it was just 20 minutes before.

Now that I had the Transcend drives separate again, I tested TRIM on each individual drive. Perfect, instant results! This is still with IRST v11.6.2.1002. I decided to re-created the array directly through the Rapid Storage application (~11-27-2012). Once setup, I immediately ran the TRIM test. It didn't work. I ran win optimize (which makes me think it was detected as a SSD before), logged off/in, and rebooted, but didn't get TRIM working. See here. When IRST v11.7.0.1013 was released, I installed it hoping that it would fix my issue, but no.

So, now I'm just stuck. I refuse to give up though.

Last edited by organshifter; 12-17-2012 at 09:25 PM.
organshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:16 AM   #383
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

@ organshifter:
It is rather strange, that Win8 doesn't detect your Transcend drives as SSDs. This issue obviously is the reason why you don't get the TRIM command into your Transcend RAID array.
I suspect, that either the firmware of your Transcend SSDs or the mainboard BIOS is responsable for your problems.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:50 AM   #384
Ao1
Member
 
Ao1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
AFAIK the big mainboard manufacturers ASUS and Gigabyte haven't yet put the Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702 into their recently released Z77 BIOS versions, although Intel recommends to use their newest RAID ROM version in combination with the actual RST(e) drivers v11.6/11.7.
Just got this from a support ticket I submitted yesterday to Gigabyte...

Currently orom in Z77 models is version 11.1.
We will update to 11.5 soon but no confirmed deadline to finish the update.


Any idea why mobo manufacturers don't generally update the ROMS? Is it because they can't be bothered or is there a more reasonable explaination?

Who has to validate a new ROM on an Intel chipset? Intel and/ or the mobo manufacturer?

Surely it must be easier to deal with validation and not problems related to outdated ROMs and mismatched drivers?

Sorry for all the questions but I 'm just curious why it seems to be such a bid deal to update a ROM.
Ao1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:24 AM   #385
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ao1 View Post
Any idea why mobo manufacturers don't generally update the ROMS? Is it because they can't be bothered or is there a more reasonable explaination?
Generally the mainboard manufacturers are more interested in developing and offering new BIOS versions for actual mainboards than to be up-to-date with the insertion of third party PCI ROM modules. Maybe they are afraid to be bothered by the users more than ever, if they would start a PCI ROM update rallye.
Quote:
Who has to validate a new ROM on an Intel chipset? Intel and/ or the mobo manufacturer?
It's the chipset and OROM manufacturer Intel, which develops, produces and has to validate all new Intel Option ROMs on different Intel chipsets. Nevertheless the mainboard manufacturers do test them too with their boards and may even deny the usage, if they are not satisfied with the test results.
Quote:
Surely it must be easier to deal with validation and not problems related to outdated ROMs and mismatched drivers?
Nobody feels responsable, both sides (the chipset manufacturer and the mainboard manufacturer) are passing the buck.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:39 AM   #386
bbclient
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
@ organshifter:
It is rather strange, that Win8 doesn't detect your Transcend drives as SSDs. This issue obviously is the reason why you don't get the TRIM command into your Transcend RAID array.
I suspect, that either the firmware of your Transcend SSDs or the mainboard BIOS is responsable for your problems.
Trim doesn't work for me, but Win 8 pro detect my two x Vertex 3 V2.25 raid 0 as one SSD drive. Windows shows 100 trimmed and HxD test proves it's wrong.

- Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3
- Controller ID 2822 / alternate ID 1C06
- Last bios (F10) (no UEFI).
- Various modified OROM tested, 11.6.0.1702 included.
- Modifications on Intel module tried (1C06 ON and all others changing ON/OFF).
- Ghost system image made / raid reconstructed.
bbclient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 11:45 AM   #387
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbclient View Post
Trim doesn't work for me, but Win 8 pro detect my two x Vertex 3 V2.25 raid 0 as one SSD drive. Windows shows 100 trimmed and HxD test proves it's wrong.
That is very strange.
Are you absolutely sure,
  1. that your BIOS contains the correctly modified Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702 with enabled TRIM support for Z68 SATA RAID Controllers (Alt. Device ID 1C06) and
  2. that you have done the Hex Editor TRIM test correctly?
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:02 PM   #388
Schmide
Diamond Member
 
Schmide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbclient View Post
Trim doesn't work for me, but Win 8 pro detect my two x Vertex 3 V2.25 raid 0 as one SSD drive. Windows shows 100 trimmed and HxD test proves it's wrong.

- Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3
- Controller ID 2822 / alternate ID 1C06
- Last bios (F10) (no UEFI).
- Various modified OROM tested, 11.6.0.1702 included.
- Modifications on Intel module tried (1C06 ON and all others changing ON/OFF).
- Ghost system image made / raid reconstructed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
That is very strange.
Are you absolutely sure,
  1. that your BIOS contains the correctly modified Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702 with enabled TRIM support for Z68 SATA RAID Controllers (Alt. Device ID 1C06) and
  2. that you have done the Hex Editor TRIM test correctly?
I have a z68xp ud3 with 2x vertex3 v2.25 120s and win7 works fine. Win8 not so much.
__________________
All errors are undocumented features waiting to be discovered.
Schmide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:42 PM   #389
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schmide View Post
I have a z68xp ud3 with 2x vertex3 v2.25 120s and win7 works fine. Win8 not so much.
What does that mean regarding the TRIM support?
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:43 PM   #390
TooYellow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schmide View Post
I have a z68xp ud3 with 2x vertex3 v2.25 120s and win7 works fine. Win8 not so much.
Just to chime in as well, Windows 8 does not TRIM in RAID for me.

Widows 8 Pro - fresh install
ASUS P8P67 Pro
2x Agility 3 240GB
BIOS 3602 with Intel OROM 11.6.0.1702 (modded by garikfox)
Tried RST 11.6.2.1002 and 11.7.0.1013

Windows see the array as an SSD, attempts to trim it, but HxD shows that the data is untouched.

There's some talk about it over at the overclock.net forum.

Last edited by TooYellow; 12-18-2012 at 02:40 PM.
TooYellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:44 PM   #391
spinejam
Diamond Member
 
spinejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lumberton, NC
Posts: 3,408
Default

Windows 8 Pro:

My Hxd .jpg test would fail w/ driver 11.7.0.1013.

Everthing works fine w/ driver 11.6.2.1002 though.
__________________
Heatware
Asus P67 Sabertooth | 2700k @4.8 Ghz | H80 Cooler |
2x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @2133Mhz | Corsair ForceGT 180GB x2 RAID0 | Seagate 3TB |
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC (1200c 1600m - Hynix) | Samsung SH-S223Q x2 | CoolerMaster HAF-922 | Antec HCG 900W | Shimian QH270-IPSI 2560x1440 Tempered Glass
spinejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:11 PM   #392
bbclient
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
That is very strange.

Are you absolutely sure,
  1. that your BIOS contains the correctly modified Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702 with enabled TRIM support for Z68 SATA RAID Controllers (Alt. Device ID 1C06) and
  2. that you have done the Hex Editor TRIM test correctly?
1. I tried your modified ROM v.11.6.0.1702 and others.
2. Yes. The same Offset, tested with HxD and Winhex.

Everything tested, except the UEFI BIOS / new O.S. installation.
bbclient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 02:04 PM   #393
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

As I have already reported >here<, I got full TRIM activity within my 2x128 GB Crucial M4 RAID0 with my Z68 system running Win8 x64 and using Intel's RST(e) drivers v11.7.0.1013 once having flashed a BIOS with the modded Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702.
I don't have any explanation for the different TRIM results posted by Schmide, TooYellow, spinejam and bbclient.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:11 PM   #394
spinejam
Diamond Member
 
spinejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lumberton, NC
Posts: 3,408
Default

@ Fernando 1:

Good news -- I uninstalled driver v11.6.2.1002 and reinstalled driver v11.7.0.1013 and it seems to work just fine now.




Uploaded with ImageShack.us




Uploaded with ImageShack.us
__________________
Heatware
Asus P67 Sabertooth | 2700k @4.8 Ghz | H80 Cooler |
2x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @2133Mhz | Corsair ForceGT 180GB x2 RAID0 | Seagate 3TB |
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC (1200c 1600m - Hynix) | Samsung SH-S223Q x2 | CoolerMaster HAF-922 | Antec HCG 900W | Shimian QH270-IPSI 2560x1440 Tempered Glass
spinejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:06 PM   #395
davidm71
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
Default Weird 1-2 second lockups...

Hi,

Since going to the new 11.7.0.1013 rst driver I get 1-2 second occasional freezes. Only noticed just now and happened on only two random instances. may be unrelated as I also updated the marvel, and every other device to the latest firmware on my Z68 Asus deluxe board. May have to to roll back to last bios version I had but was good on last intel rst release. Any one can suggest what to do to track this down?

Thanks
davidm71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 01:16 PM   #396
Murjuk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Don't pre 5 series chipsets have alternate device ids?
Murjuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:36 AM   #397
jimbill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

I really need some help here, i installed the modded 11.6.0.1702 and the rst driver 11.7 and can not get trim working on my asus p8p67 deluxe on w7 64.I am using hxd and still shows no change after deleting,what am i doing wrong thank you.
jimbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:12 AM   #398
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Murjuk View Post
Don't pre 5 series chipsets have alternate device ids?
They may have an Alternate Device ID, but they probably are not able to let TRIM pass through the Intel SATA RAID Controller.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbill View Post
i installed the modded 11.6.0.1702 and the rst driver 11.7 and can not get trim working on my asus p8p67 deluxe on w7 64.I am using hxd and still shows no change after deleting,what am i doing wrong
1. Which Alternate Device ID of your RAID Controller is Dufus SATA ID Tool showing?
2. Where did you get the modded Intel RAID ROM module resp. the modded BIOS?
3. Are you 100% sure, that the modded BIOS has been flashed correctly?

Last edited by Fernando 1; 12-22-2012 at 05:04 AM.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 01:49 PM   #399
jimbill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
They may have an Alternate Device ID, but they probably are not able to let TRIM pass through the Intel SATA RAID Controller.

1. Which Alternate Device ID of your RAID Controller is Dufus SATA ID Tool showing?
2. Where did you get the modded Intel RAID ROM module resp. the modded BIOS?
3. Are you 100% sure, that the modded BIOS has been flashed correctly?
1. Ok the sata id says controller id#2822 alternate#1c04.
2.from your post #70 of this thread it was the modded 3509 bios.
3.Well i hope i did it right i used the EZ flash on the board,it worked and the raid rom shows 11.7.0.1702.

Last edited by jimbill; 12-22-2012 at 02:23 PM.
jimbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:33 PM   #400
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbill View Post
1. Ok the sata id says controller id#2822 alternate#1c04. 2.from your post #70 of this thread it was the modded 3509 bios. 3.Well i hope i did it right i used the EZ flash on the board,it worked and the raid rom shows 11.7.0.1702.
If you have flashed the BIOS, which I had modified for Brahmzy on 11/24/2012, it is clear why you didn't get TRIM into your P67 chipset RAID0 array. You will understand what I mean after having read >this< post.
This is what I recommend to do:
Garikfox is offering the newest BIOS 3602 for your mainboard, where the special TRIM supporting Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702 (modified by me for 67+Z68 on 11/25) is already integrated. You should flash his BIOS version, which you can get >here<.
Alternatively you can download the BIOS 3509, which I have offered on 11/25 for Brahmzy. It will support TRIM for the Alternate Device ID 1C04. You can download it from >here<.
I am sorry for the inconvenience.

Please report here, if the new BIOS really did enable TRIM for your RAID0 array.

Kind Regards
Fernando

Last edited by Fernando 1; 12-22-2012 at 02:49 PM.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5-series, 6-series, raid0, srt, trim

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.