Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2012, 06:11 PM   #1
steelodon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 394
Default PC Freezing WIth Multimedia and Games

I have the PC configuration below:

AMD Phenom II 920 AM2+
4GB DDR2 6400 Corsair XMS memory
EVGA 730a Motherboard
OCZ GameXStream 600W Power Supply
Point of View 8800GTS 640MB
WD 640GB SATA II HDD
WD 250GB IDE HDD

Whenever I try to play high definition video files and games such as TF2, Batman: AA, etc. the computer freezes or the video/game is very choppy. Any suggestions? Also when the desktop refreshes it goes black for about a second sometimes. Also high def images and streaming video like YouTube also freezes.
__________________
Grab The World!!!
steelodon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 06:37 PM   #2
Smoove910
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 1,128
Default

Do you have the latest Videocard drivers installed? If not, I would update those first
__________________
Mobo: Biostar TA880GU3+ uATX
Proc: AMD Phenom II 960T unlocked/6 cores @ 3.5ghz
Ram: (4) 4gb GSkill 1600mhz (16gb total)
HDDs: (2) 640GB WD AAKS, (1) 750GB Seagate Ext
Vid: Sapphire 6870 1gb DDR5 1000mhz core, 1100 mhz mem
Camera: Pentax K5, I'm not a Canikon fanboy.
Smoove910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 06:55 PM   #3
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,492
Default

Did this start recently, or has the computer always been this way?
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:39 PM   #4
steelodon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 394
Default

I have the setup in a Coolermaster Elite 300 case. The issue started occurring recently. The previous RAM was Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2 x 1GB and Patriot 2 x 1GB 6400 DDR2.
__________________
Grab The World!!!
steelodon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:57 PM   #5
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelodon View Post
I have the setup in a Coolermaster Elite 300 case. The issue started occurring recently. The previous RAM was Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2 x 1GB and Patriot 2 x 1GB 6400 DDR2.
I take this to mean you recently upgraded the memory? Does it still do this with the old memory modules installed?

Are you by any chance overclocking? Also, what are the specific Corsair part numbers for the memory you are now running?

Were it me, I'd try to run an extended MEMTEST86+ session on each module, one at a time. Also, check the module voltages and timings in the BIOS to ensure that they are being detected properly. Another thing to check is to see if you had a recent video card driver update. If so, try to remove the driver and reinstall it. If this doesn't work, roll back the driver to a prior release in case there is a bug in the current driver affecting your system.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 12:27 AM   #6
steelodon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 394
Default

Yes, it was freezing with the old memory as well. I'm not overclocking. I'll have to check the part numbers for the Corsair RAM.
__________________
Grab The World!!!
steelodon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 01:21 AM   #7
Smoove910
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 1,128
Default

RAM voltage set to 1.8 ~ 1.85? How are the RAM timings? Chipset drivers current?
__________________
Mobo: Biostar TA880GU3+ uATX
Proc: AMD Phenom II 960T unlocked/6 cores @ 3.5ghz
Ram: (4) 4gb GSkill 1600mhz (16gb total)
HDDs: (2) 640GB WD AAKS, (1) 750GB Seagate Ext
Vid: Sapphire 6870 1gb DDR5 1000mhz core, 1100 mhz mem
Camera: Pentax K5, I'm not a Canikon fanboy.
Smoove910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:51 AM   #8
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,317
Default

Try getting Prime95 and test using in-place large FFTs.

You mobo's caps might be going bad.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 06:06 PM   #9
steelodon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 394
Default

I believe that my Phenom II 920 was causing the issue. Placed an Athlon 5600+ on the board and no issues. The Phenom II was actually an OEM version. Now I have to figure out if the processor has an issue or the motherboard just didn't agree with the processor.
__________________
Grab The World!!!
steelodon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.