Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2012, 07:24 AM   #1
foxdie222
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default Toshiba Satellite L300 PSLB0A-08L022 booting problem

Hello, I have Toshiba Satellite L300 PSLB0A-08L022 (Australian version), problem started few weeks back and i have been trying to resolve it since then but no luck.

ISSUE:
Laptop boots fine, POST fine, but can't boot into windows, it just shuts down and restarts automatically and this thing keeps repeating.

MEASURES:
Changed hard drive = no luck
Changed RAMS = no luck
Tried Windows Setup without hard drive = no luck
Tried reinstalling Windows 7 and Windows 8 = restarts at "windows loading files"
Cleaned the processor grill and fan and reapplied thermal paste = no luck
Turned off all features from bios and set Hard drive to "compatibility mode"=no luck.
Tried disconnecting wifi and modem cards = no luck.

However when i booted it to portable windows xp through Hiren's boot cd it did boot up and that windows was working fine, i took it as advantage and i updated my bios too but still NO LUCK.

Now its like just heavy paper weight, it Post fine, but it get restarted when trying to boot in windows or reinstalling it, but it does get into SAFE MODE correctly. Any help would be deeply appreciated.
foxdie222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:45 AM   #2
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,670
Default

Your L300 is setup with a recovery partition that's accessibile by tapping the F8 key as soon as you power on. Select the repair option to enter the windows recovery environment, and the Toshiba factory restore is one of the options available, in addition to the normal windows recovery options (unless you've inadvertently formatted that partition).


.

Last edited by Bubbaleone; 12-17-2012 at 10:47 AM.
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 01:08 PM   #3
foxdie222
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubbaleone View Post
Your L300 is setup with a recovery partition that's accessibile by tapping the F8 key as soon as you power on. Select the repair option to enter the windows recovery environment, and the Toshiba factory restore is one of the options available, in addition to the normal windows recovery options (unless you've inadvertently formatted that partition).


.
I have switched to a new hard drive and its completely (low level) formatted so i don't think recovery partition still exists. Though i tried pressing f8 on startup but nothing happens. The problem is i can't install any os, it gets hangs or some times get restarted on windows setup.

My friend has the exact same model of l300 series and its working perfect, i switched his hard drive into mine but the windows get hangs on initial loading. SAFE MODE works though. Please help.
foxdie222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 01:26 PM   #4
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,670
Default

Ok... backup a bit and clearly describe the steps you've taken to ensure that the BIOS is configured correctly, whether or not you initialized and formatted the new drive prior to installing the OS, how you installed the OS and what version you're installing, and the exact point where the installation failed including any error messages.
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:45 PM   #5
paul878
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 823
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxdie222 View Post
I have switched to a new hard drive and its completely (low level) formatted so i don't think recovery partition still exists. Though i tried pressing f8 on startup but nothing happens. The problem is i can't install any os, it gets hangs or some times get restarted on windows setup.

My friend has the exact same model of l300 series and its working perfect, i switched his hard drive into mine but the windows get hangs on initial loading. SAFE MODE works though. Please help.

You have hardware problem, run memory test and report back.
paul878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:10 PM   #6
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Try reloading the chip set and display adapter drivers from safe mode...
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 06:34 AM   #7
foxdie222
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubbaleone View Post
Ok... backup a bit and clearly describe the steps you've taken to ensure that the BIOS is configured correctly, whether or not you initialized and formatted the new drive prior to installing the OS, how you installed the OS and what version you're installing, and the exact point where the installation failed including any error messages.
1. I have loaded the default settings for my bios, didn't work.
2. Then i disabled all the devices from bios (sound,lan,wifi,usb) and set HDD mode from AHCI to COMPATIBILITY, that didn't work either.
3. Then i boot into "mini xp" from "Hiren's Boot CD" and updated my bios, didn't work.
4. HDD is low-level formatted before installing the os so there is no way for recovery partition.
5. I tried installing Win7, Win8, Win XP both from USB and dvd but everytime it gets hang or get restarted at the point where windows setup initializes the files for installation.

Do you think it is a mobo issue ?
foxdie222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 06:37 AM   #8
foxdie222
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul878 View Post
You have hardware problem, run memory test and report back.
I tried replacing rams from a working laptop but nothing happens
foxdie222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 08:34 AM   #9
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,670
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxdie222 View Post
1. I have loaded the default settings for my bios, didn't work.
2. Then i disabled all the devices from bios (sound,lan,wifi,usb) and set HDD mode from AHCI to COMPATIBILITY, that didn't work either.
3. Then i boot into "mini xp" from "Hiren's Boot CD" and updated my bios, didn't work.
4. HDD is low-level formatted before installing the os so there is no way for recovery partition.
5. I tried installing Win7, Win8, Win XP both from USB and dvd but everytime it gets hang or get restarted at the point where windows setup initializes the files for installation.

Do you think it is a mobo issue ?
In your OP you stated:

Quote:
Now its like just heavy paper weight, it Post fine, but it get restarted when trying to boot in windows or reinstalling it, but it does get into SAFE MODE correctly. Any help would be deeply appreciated.
So tell me if I've got this right:

1. The original problem that started a few weeks ago was when you tried to boot into Windows 7 it would get to the "Starting Windows" screen and hang, and then reboot itself?

2. But, if you tapped the F8 key Windows 7 would boot into safe mode?

3. You decided the original HDD was bad so you got a replacement, then performed a low-level format on it, and now you can't install Windows because the installation restarts when it begins loading files?

If the answer to these 3 questions is "yes", then I suggest the following steps:

A. Download the free EaseUS Partition Master 9.1.1 Home Edition and burn it to CD. Then boot from the Easeus CD and initialize, partition, and NTFS format the new HDD. (If all you've done to your new HDD is a low-level format, trying to install Windows will fail with a restart every time the installer begins loading files.)

B. After you've initrialized, partitioned, and NTFS formatted your new HDD, go back into the BIOS and enable AHCI, check your boot order priorities, and return any other settings to optimum values, save and exit BIOS.

C. Load up your Windows installation disk and run the installation.
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 04:32 AM   #10
foxdie222
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubbaleone View Post
In your OP you stated:

So tell me if I've got this right:

1. The original problem that started a few weeks ago was when you tried to boot into Windows 7 it would get to the "Starting Windows" screen and hang, and then reboot itself?

2. But, if you tapped the F8 key Windows 7 would boot into safe mode?

3. You decided the original HDD was bad so you got a replacement, then performed a low-level format on it, and now you can't install Windows because the installation restarts when it begins loading files?

If the answer to these 3 questions is "yes", then I suggest the following steps:

A. Download the free EaseUS Partition Master 9.1.1 Home Edition and burn it to CD. Then boot from the Easeus CD and initialize, partition, and NTFS format the new HDD. (If all you've done to your new HDD is a low-level format, trying to install Windows will fail with a restart every time the installer begins loading files.)

B. After you've initrialized, partitioned, and NTFS formatted your new HDD, go back into the BIOS and enable AHCI, check your boot order priorities, and return any other settings to optimum values, save and exit BIOS.

C. Load up your Windows installation disk and run the installation.
Done, no results , windows installation still gets restarted everytime.
foxdie222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:04 AM   #11
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Let's rewind ....if you tried swapping a HDD from a friends PC, and still have the same issue...then it would have to be hardware or bios related....most likely weak power supply, bad motherboard, or ram issue...

try swapping in your friends battery as well, to see if that helps....if not, then it could be a bad board or bios cutting, as previously suggested
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 10:15 AM   #12
ixelion
Senior Member
 
ixelion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 982
Default

I suspect you have mainboard failure, I suppose it's possible it may be the LCD but unlikely.

Try disconnecting the LCD from the unit (you will have to do some surgery here), and then use external monitor. I have had a variety of Satellites where the LCD cable was shorting the board and causing all kinds of paranormal activity.

If it fails again you have to replace the mainboard, under ideal conditions you would perform component isolation.

I have to say the L300 is extremely old and a new mainboard and headaches involved in diag/testing is not economical at all, I strongly suggest you invest in a new laptop.

Last edited by ixelion; 12-21-2012 at 10:19 AM.
ixelion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 12:32 PM   #13
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,403
Default

Boot from a Linux LiveUSB (not LiveCD) or try installing Windows from USB. I suspect a SATA issue.
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco ISIL Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric ISIS Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State Liberation Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock
AnonymouseUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 03:22 PM   #14
foxdie222
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default

thank you all for quick response. Tried swapping the battery as well as the adapter, even tried installing windows without the battery connected but it didn't help. Lastly i tried disconnecting the LCD cable from the mainboard but that too failed to help. Now i believe that the problem is in the main board, most likely in the hard drive (SATA) controlling circuitry.
foxdie222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:21 PM   #15
ixelion
Senior Member
 
ixelion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 982
Default

If you feel confident in doing this, you can completely remove the mainboard from the case and have only ram, HSF, external VGA and hard drive connected, and then try triggering the failure symptom again. This will tell you for sure if the mainboard is toast, provided of course you use known good ram/hard drive. If you can trigger the failure without the hard drive even better.
ixelion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 04:44 AM   #16
cipibau
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Default

foxdie222 you resolve the problem? tell me how, because I have the same problem. Thanks!
cipibau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:25 PM   #17
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,937
Default

Take screenshots of the bios of the known good machine. Set your bios exactly the same. If the HDD from the known good machine does not work then yes the motherboard is probably bad. This is of course assuming that the two motherboards are indeed exactly the same (same rev).
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 12:09 PM   #18
ferreira100
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cipibau View Post
foxdie222 you resolve the problem? tell me how, because I have the same problem. Thanks!

Please help i have the same problema too!!!!
ferreira100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 03:46 PM   #19
paul878
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 823
Default

If you have done all that and you still can't load up an OS then it is a motherboard failure.
paul878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.