Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2012, 04:07 PM   #1
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default Remote login to 10.7

I want to be able to log in to my computer running 10.7.4 at home from a different location using a Windows client.

I've tried built in VNC Screen Sharing, but it just doesn't work. I can get a login screen, but it won't allow the input of a password.

I've tried VINE server, but I could never get a windows client to connect to it.

I'm pretty sure I have all the router stuff set up right. I have ports 5900-5901 forwarded to my Mac box. I have a Virtual Server setup forwarding public side to my Mac box.

I've looked through lots of articles on Apple forums, but I can't seem to find a solution.

Anybody have this working?
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:05 PM   #2
KeithP
Diamond Member
 
KeithP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 4,200
Default

Logmein.com has a free version that should do what you want. You install their software on the computer you want to access remotely. Then, you go to their web page, sign in to your account and you should be able to to start a remote session.

Windows to Mac, Mac to Windows, Linux probably works as well. They also have iOS and Android apps.

I have been using the free version for a number of years and it works well.

-KeithP
__________________
Heat 64-0-0

Hoodies don't have zippers, chili doesn't have beans, the plane won't take off...deal with it.
KeithP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:01 PM   #3
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default

Thanks that seems to be working locally, we'll see how the performance is from over the net.
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 07:20 PM   #4
jalaram
Lifer
 
jalaram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Posts: 12,904
Default

Another vote from me. I've used it many times over the local network and the internet to connect to my SL, Lion, and ML Macs.

I'm hoping to try Splashtop for local network remote control soon since I've heard that it's performance is pretty good.
__________________
Take care,
JC

"My friends call me Keith, but you can call me John."-Keith Moon
Heatware: 2xx-0-0
jalaram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 08:23 PM   #5
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 6,548
Default

...do you have the firewall on the mac turned off? Built-in VNC works fine for me.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05. NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / Mess 'o Toshiba Drives, / APEX MI-008.
dave_the_nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:05 PM   #6
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default

Yeah, I had tried it with the firewall and little snitch turned off as well. The problem is from connecting from a windows vnc client to the machine. It's widely reported to be broken. You can get the login screen to pop up, but you will be unable to enter the password or you'll be able to login once, but not subsequent times, also not being able to log in if there is a console session (which is the whole point!).
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:11 PM   #7
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default

I tried both logmein and TeamViewer, both are great services. TeamViewer is completely free but requires an install. Where logmein is through any browser and costs 50/year, which for the elegance of it is probably worth it.
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 11:33 AM   #8
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 6,548
Default

Try finding a third-party VNC server that also supports web connections.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05. NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / Mess 'o Toshiba Drives, / APEX MI-008.
dave_the_nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 12:42 PM   #9
KeithP
Diamond Member
 
KeithP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWestphal View Post
I tried both logmein and TeamViewer, both are great services. TeamViewer is completely free but requires an install. Where logmein is through any browser and costs 50/year, which for the elegance of it is probably worth it.
Do you need the Pro version of Logmein? I have always found the free version to be adequate.

-KeithP
__________________
Heat 64-0-0

Hoodies don't have zippers, chili doesn't have beans, the plane won't take off...deal with it.
KeithP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 02:12 PM   #10
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default

Maybe they don't off a full free version anymore. There is a 30-day free trial, unless I'm missing something.
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 07:36 PM   #11
umrigar
Platinum Member
 
umrigar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,088
Default

chicken
http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/36208/chicken
__________________
HEATWARE : davedecay
umrigar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:00 AM   #12
dawks
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWestphal View Post
Maybe they don't off a full free version anymore. There is a 30-day free trial, unless I'm missing something.
They certainly do offer a free version. I'm using it on 70 computers. Normally they ask when you download if you'd like to trial the Pro version. After the 30 day trial is up, it down-grades to the free version and continues to work.

The pro offers system statistics, and higher bandwidth for 'HD streaming'. If you just need remote access, free is fine.
dawks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 12:17 PM   #13
GWestphal
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,113
Default

Cool, that's all I really need. Thanks for clearing that up.
GWestphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 01:50 PM   #14
Theb
Diamond Member
 
Theb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWestphal View Post
I tried both logmein and TeamViewer, both are great services. TeamViewer is completely free but requires an install. Where logmein is through any browser and costs 50/year, which for the elegance of it is probably worth it.
TeamViewer has a portable executable so it doesn't have to be installed, but you do have to carry it around with you or copy the executable onto every computer you want to connect from.
Theb is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.