Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2012, 10:09 PM   #1
fustercluck
Diamond Member
 
fustercluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,402
Default Hassle-free upgrade?

Getting some new computer parts, and my old computer parts I'll be giving to someone else in desperate need of an upgrade (their computer is super slow). They want everything else (such as programs and settings) how it is now, just not running extremely sluggish. Basically I gotta upgrade/switch out their cpu/mobo/ram while keeping their OS/Programs/Settings and everything intact.

I don't know how I can achieve that. Plus it's going from an AMD system to an Intel system which could make things a little trickier, or maybe not. They are running XP.

Trying to keep the upgrade as hassle free (for them and me) as possible.
fustercluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:59 AM   #2
Deders
Golden Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,081
Default

Unfortunately it is usually the disk that is the slowest link in the chain, as the OS demands more from it, the more work it has to do, the more the heads move and the more the data queues up. Moving it to another system or even disk wouldn't really help matters, unless the hardware is already really out of date. If it would fit onto an SSD on the other had, things would be very different.

The other issue is that XP's licensing wouldn't allow you to change too much hardware, although you may be able to get around that with a call to Microsoft, depending on whether the version of XP installed on the system was a retail version with a disk or on an OEM License only to be installed on the one machine.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microso...uct_Activation

What hardware is already in the system and what do you intend to upgrade it to?

Also what does the system get used for?
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.

Last edited by Deders; 12-18-2012 at 01:30 AM.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:05 AM   #3
Smoove910
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 1,104
Default

Are you able to make an image of your disc, assemble all your new hardware, then add the image to the new drive? Not sure since I have never tried it.
__________________
Mobo: Biostar TA880GU3+ uATX
Proc: AMD Phenom II 960T unlocked/6 cores @ 3.5ghz
Ram: (4) 4gb GSkill 1600mhz (16gb total)
HDDs: (2) 640GB WD AAKS, (1) 750GB Seagate Ext
Vid: Sapphire 6870 1gb DDR5 1000mhz core, 1100 mhz mem
Camera: Pentax K5, I'm not a Canikon fanboy.
Smoove910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:51 PM   #4
fustercluck
Diamond Member
 
fustercluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,402
Default

Yeah that doesn't sound hassle free, as I expected it can't be done! I'll see what I can do.
fustercluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.