Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2012, 06:36 PM   #1
Wall Street
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Default Room Lights Flicker when Advancing Turn in TW: Shogun 2

The Antec Neo 520 I am using should be plenty of juice for mysystem with an i5-750 and a GTX 570, both at stock. My issue however, is that with only my rig, two CLF bulbs and three LED bulbs on in my apartment, the CLF lights flicker very slightly when I advance the turn in Total War: Shogun 2. I am pretty sure that the age of my apartment is at issue. Our building has old-school fuses and ratty looking wiring. It is certainly not up to modern standards but there is little I can do about this. I am pretty sure that my whole apartment is on one circuit but am unsure powerful that circuit is and have never blown the fuse.

The computer hasn't crashed (yet, knock on wood), but how bad is this for the computer? Do you guys think a power reconditioner can do anything to remedy this?
Wall Street is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:06 PM   #2
Red Squirrel
Lifer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 25,439
Default

It's normal for high draw stuff to cause some flickering, but never seen a computer do it. I'm guessing there is some loose wiring somewhere. Or sub par wiring in general.

Do you have access to your own electrical panel? See if you can rule out those lights being on the same circuit or not. If they're not, then the issue could be upstream. The feeder wire needs to be thick enough that the voltage would not drop unless the draw is very high. The computer is probably not drawing more than a few amps at most...
__________________
~Red Squirrel~
486dx2 @66Mhz turbo, 8MB ram, 512MB HDD, sound blaster 16 + 2x cdrom, Trident 1MB video card @ 640*480, 56k high speed modem.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:48 PM   #3
tracerbullet
Golden Member
 
tracerbullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,254
Default

A good size UPS comes to mind right away, as something you could use.
__________________
ebay / Heat
tracerbullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:50 AM   #4
Deders
Senior Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 709
Default

Maybe don't click the mouse so hard at the end of your turn, can be hard to resist I know.
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX670 DirectCU II 2GB @1215 & 6980 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - LG Flatron W2252TQ - Razer Deathadder - Thermaltake Contac 29.
Deders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:59 AM   #5
Vinwiesel
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Default

Some CFL's are pretty touchy. Mine flicker when I turn the computer on, or when the laser printer is on. I've never had the computer affect them once it's already running though.
Vinwiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 05:14 PM   #6
Wall Street
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinwiesel View Post
Some CFL's are pretty touchy. Mine flicker when I turn the computer on, or when the laser printer is on. I've never had the computer affect them once it's already running though.
Good to know. I wish I had a power monitor to know what kind of Vdrop I am getting on my mains. That being said, nothing bad has happened to the computer as of yet so I will just avoid overclocking and should be safe (knock on wood).
Wall Street is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.