Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2012, 01:28 PM   #1
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default Freeze/Crash in Battlefield 3 MP

I have a new problem I'm hoping you can help diagnose.

Note I never had this problem when I was running Vista, however, since I have changed over to Windows 8, I am having some issues.

I can play BF3 for a couple hours and then in the middle of playing my guy will start lagging, then freeze and then I can't get out of the screen. I control/alt/delete and end up getting a black screen, at that point I have to push the reset button on my case and re-boot. Once in a while I am able to get it back to the desktop, but then I have no mouse. After reboot, computer works fine again.

It doesn't happen everytime, but most time, usually about an hour into playing. Which seems to point to an overheating problem, but that's not the case.

I've run Intel Burn Test at Maximum and my cpu only hits 60c. I wonder if there is a similiar stress test for my video card? I keep the video card at 40% fan normally, but when I play BF3 I turn it up to 75%, which is quite loud, but it keeps the card at 90c or less.

Do you think 90c for an extended period of time would cause this? Keep in mind this NEVER happened under Vista. I have not tested any other games, as I only play BF3 right now.

Thanks for any help in advance. I'm running Catalyst 12.1

Windows8
Asrock H61
Intel i3-2100
8GB DDR3-1333
HD5850 OC (small overclock, but problem occurs even at stock speeds)
Antec EA380w 80+ bronze
22" Monitor at 1680x1050

Last edited by jfelano; 12-11-2012 at 01:33 PM.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 05:02 PM   #2
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

90c seems borderline high... Try removing the card and blowing out any dust that may have accumulated.. Also try running with case open to see if air flow improves, keeping temps down..

I would also try removing the fan/heatsink from the gpu and try reapplying some thermal paste to see if that helps..
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 07:06 PM   #3
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,408
Default

To test if the GPU is overheating, underclock it 10% and play your game. If it crashes, it's not the GPU, but if it doesn't you'll need to reapply the TIM under the heatsink. FWIW, I have a 9600GT that hit ~130C before crashing, and after applying new TIM temps hit max ~75C.
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco ISIL Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric ISIS Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State Liberation Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock
AnonymouseUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:08 PM   #4
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

Well if you think 90c is high, I will just turn the fan up. I had a 9800GT that idled at 90c so I don't see that being the problem.

I've already blown all the dust out of the entire computer.

The cpu is only 6 months old so I'm not going to re-apply thermal paste. 60c is well under spec for this processor.

I've had this video card for 4yrs and it's always run those temps, which I thought was a major improvement from my 9800GT.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:21 PM   #5
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

We're talking about the paste on the graphics card (GPU), not the processor(CPU)
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 09:55 PM   #6
RU482
Lifer
 
RU482's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 12,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfelano View Post
I have a new problem I'm hoping you can help diagnose.

Note I never had this problem when I was running Vista, however, since I have changed over to Windows 8, I am having some issues.
having the exact same problem. i5-3570K, HD6870, 8GB, SSDs. cleaned the heatsinks thoroughly before installing. Temps are no higher than they were with Win7. Getting ready to install Win7 again (getting rather annoyed with Win8 anyway, guess I can't adjust to change)

Installed Win7 - no more problem

Last edited by RU482; 12-31-2012 at 08:58 PM.
RU482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:00 AM   #7
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlc View Post
We're talking about the paste on the graphics card (GPU), not the processor(CPU)
Ok but like I said, my 9800GT "idled" at 90c, so I didn't think 90c was an issue. I'll run the fan speed higher and see what happens first.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:30 AM   #8
Puppies04
Diamond Member
 
Puppies04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfelano View Post
Ok but like I said, my 9800GT "idled" at 90c, so I didn't think 90c was an issue. I'll run the fan speed higher and see what happens first.
How long did it last like that? with medium to heavy usage I wouldn't give any GPU much more than 12 months of 90c at idle before something gave up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
If you have kids, you need to kill them
My weddding pic http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/d...ps224f2a90.png
Puppies04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:55 PM   #9
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

The 9800GT I had for 2 years before I sold it. It's pretty common for them to run 115c, I've heard many people say there's ran that hot.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:01 PM   #10
hondaf17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 654
Default

I know what the problem is as I had the same thing when I went from W7 to W8.

Install AMD's 12.11 beta drivers. Will fix your problem. From what I learned the 12.10 drivers weren't 100% stable with W8 and caused a memory leak while playing BF3.

I have been 100% stable since I went to the beta drivers. Good luck.
__________________
My Rig:
i5 3570k @ 4.4 Ghz | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ HSF
8GB (4x2gb) DDR3 1600 RAM | MSI Twin Frozr II 2GB 6950
AuzenTech X-plosion DTS Sound Card
1 TB WD Caviar Black HDD | Corsair 650tx PSU
hondaf17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:55 PM   #11
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaf17 View Post
I know what the problem is as I had the same thing when I went from W7 to W8.

Install AMD's 12.11 beta drivers. Will fix your problem. From what I learned the 12.10 drivers weren't 100% stable with W8 and caused a memory leak while playing BF3.

I have been 100% stable since I went to the beta drivers. Good luck.
Good news. However I can only find 12.1 on AMD's site. Below that there is a "AMD Catalyst Application Profile" that says 12.11 CAP 2, whatever that means. Is that what I download?
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:47 PM   #12
hondaf17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 654
Default

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...etadriver.aspx

report back if this works for you.
__________________
My Rig:
i5 3570k @ 4.4 Ghz | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ HSF
8GB (4x2gb) DDR3 1600 RAM | MSI Twin Frozr II 2GB 6950
AuzenTech X-plosion DTS Sound Card
1 TB WD Caviar Black HDD | Corsair 650tx PSU
hondaf17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 08:26 PM   #13
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

Ok I played about 3 hrs with the new beta 12.11 thinking it was all fixed and them bam. I start lagging then freeze. After about 2 minutes the computer unfreezes and I can get on the desktop but then it runs real slow and says my memory usage is 80%, this must be the problem, something is taking up all the memory.

Even as I type this it says my memory usage is 80%. I don't get it I have 8GB.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 08:30 PM   #14
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

So I rebooted the computer and now it says my memory usage is 15%. So I have come to the conclusion that something is randomly sucking up all my memory, which is causing my game to crash.

I'm stumped.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:09 PM   #15
hondaf17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 654
Default

The 12.10 drivers caused memory leaks in BF3 MP. Updating to 12.11 beta solved it for me and lots of other people. Bing search BF3 windows 8 memory leaks and you'll find some threads.

Sorry that it didn't work for you. I'd try completely uninstalling the 12.10 and doing a fresh install of 12.11.
__________________
My Rig:
i5 3570k @ 4.4 Ghz | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ HSF
8GB (4x2gb) DDR3 1600 RAM | MSI Twin Frozr II 2GB 6950
AuzenTech X-plosion DTS Sound Card
1 TB WD Caviar Black HDD | Corsair 650tx PSU
hondaf17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:45 AM   #16
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

Ok I uninstalled all the AMD catalyst and drivers and removed all AMD folders, re-installed 12.11.

Now should I also install 12.11 CAP 2 also? It says hotfix application profile exe.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 02:28 PM   #17
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

yes
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 11:57 PM   #18
hondaf17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 654
Default

Did the OP ever find a solution, report back after the driver suggestions? I have to admit that I seem to be wrong. I thought my problem was fixed with the new drivers, but just this weekend I had two memory leaks again. Much less often and I can play a lot longer sessions before it happens, but it still happens. Makes me think it is a driver issue and will be resolved once a solid driver is released.
__________________
My Rig:
i5 3570k @ 4.4 Ghz | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ HSF
8GB (4x2gb) DDR3 1600 RAM | MSI Twin Frozr II 2GB 6950
AuzenTech X-plosion DTS Sound Card
1 TB WD Caviar Black HDD | Corsair 650tx PSU
hondaf17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 09:20 PM   #19
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

Hey guys, it definitely was overheating, which likely is what caused the problem. I tried to play BF3 today for the first time in 11 days and it crashed right away.

So today I took the video card apart and it was completely clogged with dust inside. Canned air wouldn't even remove it I had to use a toothbrush. I also took off the heatsink and cleaned the hard gunky thermal paste off and put on fresh thermal paste.

The video card maxes at 45c now in BF3, about half what it was running. So far after 2 hours of BF3 I haven't had any crashes yet. Will keep you updated.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 01:25 PM   #20
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

Played a couple hours today, card up to 50C, but that's because I'm only running 55% fan speed now instead of 85%.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 05:58 PM   #21
hondaf17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 654
Default

Nice. Good work.
__________________
My Rig:
i5 3570k @ 4.4 Ghz | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ HSF
8GB (4x2gb) DDR3 1600 RAM | MSI Twin Frozr II 2GB 6950
AuzenTech X-plosion DTS Sound Card
1 TB WD Caviar Black HDD | Corsair 650tx PSU
hondaf17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:18 PM   #22
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

Well so much for that. An hour into BF3 today it did it again.

Did a hard restart, started playing again and about 20 min later, bam, crashed again.

It always starts the same way, you lag a little bit then you start freezing and then then you either just get a in game freeze screen or it crashes to a black screen.

I'm frustrated at this point.

Last edited by jfelano; 12-26-2012 at 03:49 PM.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:41 PM   #23
p0rkguy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 119
Default

Locate bf3.exe and change it to Windows 7 compatibility.
EA still hasn't fixed this issue with its memory leak in Windows 8.
p0rkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:46 AM   #24
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p0rkguy View Post
Locate bf3.exe and change it to Windows 7 compatibility.
EA still hasn't fixed this issue with its memory leak in Windows 8.
I did that and so far after about 10hrs of playing I haven't had a single crash. Thanks, fingers crossed.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:13 PM   #25
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 230
Default

Thanks pOrkguy, haven't had any crashes since I did that.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.