Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > *nix Software

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2012, 02:36 AM   #1
Red Squirrel
Lifer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 27,972
Default Is there a way to pass the video card directly to a VM?

I use Linux as my main OS but there are some apps that only work in Windows that I use occasionally such as AutoCAD, Google Sketchup and some basic games. For more intensive games I dual boot.

Most of the basic apps like Google Sketchup will not start in a VM as I usually get an error related to video, depends on the app. Is there not a way to pass a video card directly so I can install the real drivers? I think most apps don't like the Virtualbox drivers so it just conks out. Would be nice if I can use some of these apps in a VM rather than dual boot all the time.

Any way to do this? Or is there another virtualization solution that works better? I imagine complex apps like Autocad wont work in Wine so probably not worth trying.
__________________
~Red Squirrel~
486dx2 @66Mhz turbo, 8MB ram, 512MB HDD, sound blaster 16 + 2x cdrom, Trident 1MB video card @ 640*480, 56k high speed modem.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 03:13 AM   #2
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

KVM and Xen support VGA passthrough, but not in a way that would useful in a desktop use case.

I believe VMware Player has decent 3D acceleration, although I've never tried it with a Linux host. Couldn't hurt to try.
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:25 AM   #3
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

VMware Workstation has decent 3D acceleration, I use it daily for a Win7 VM but I have no idea if something like AutoCAD would be too much for it.

Also be aware that if you use something like KVM or Xen pass through, your host OS loses access to that device so you'll need to buy another card if you want both active at once.

Did you even give WINE a real look? http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...ication&iId=86
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 03:55 PM   #4
Red Squirrel
Lifer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 27,972
Default

I'll give VMware workstation a try, I forgot they also had a Linux version. Good to know about KVM and Xen having that option too. Willing to sacrifice a video card slot for that if I do find myself needing it more.

Audocad was a bad example given I had not tried it, just assumed if sketchup did not work, that would not work either, but I just tried it for fun and it actually DOES work, so that's good. I can always give up Sketchup and just stick to AutoCAD. I don't really use CAD that often but it is useful when planing a home project or something.
__________________
~Red Squirrel~
486dx2 @66Mhz turbo, 8MB ram, 512MB HDD, sound blaster 16 + 2x cdrom, Trident 1MB video card @ 640*480, 56k high speed modem.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 08:23 AM   #5
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Huh? Google Sketchup is listed as working pretty well.

http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...ation&iId=1815
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.