Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2012, 01:28 PM   #1
oldsmoboat
Elite Member
 
oldsmoboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Kaliforniastan
Posts: 46,763
Default Enough PSU? (edited title)

EDIT:
Not getting the Dell.

Edited post:
Decided to build one myself after deciding I wanted a HTPC case.
Will my Corsair HX520 PSU work with these parts or should I get a new PSU?

Specs:
GTX 660Ti
i7 3770
16 GB PC1600
ASRock Z77 USB 3.0 Motherboard
1x SSD
2x HDD
Blu Ray Drive
Might add a tv card



Original post
Looking at a Dell, yes I know it's cheaper to build but I don't want to even though I can't configure it exactly like I want.

Anyone know if a GTX 660Ti or GTX 670 will work with that PSU?

Does Dell use a standard PSU or do they have something different?

TIA

Last edited by oldsmoboat; 12-31-2012 at 01:16 PM. Reason: Changed specs
oldsmoboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 01:55 PM   #2
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,960
Default

Pretty sure it's a standard ATX PSU. According to PCmag it's 460W and capable of powering a 225W graphics card, so a GTX 660 Ti or 670 should work without any issues. I don't know what number of PCIe connectors is supplied though. If only one, better go with a 7850 or 660.

Why don't you want to build it yourself?

I would look at other pre builts though. Digital Storm, maybe. Also heard good about Maingear.
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 12-16-2012 at 02:00 PM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:14 PM   #3
oldsmoboat
Elite Member
 
oldsmoboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Kaliforniastan
Posts: 46,763
Default

Decided to build one myself after deciding I wanted a HTPC case.
Will my Corsair HX520 PSU work with these parts or should I get a new PSU?

Specs:
GTX 660Ti
i7 3770
16 GB PC1600
ASRock Z77 USB 3.0 Motherboard
1x SSD
2x HDD
Blu Ray Drive
Might add a tv card
oldsmoboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:15 AM   #4
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,960
Default

It's easily enough for those components but what case are you planning to get? You should also post in GH about your new build to get advice on the parts
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:42 AM   #5
oldsmoboat
Elite Member
 
oldsmoboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Kaliforniastan
Posts: 46,763
Default

Thanks.
This is the case I am getting:
http://www.amazon.com/Silverstone-Al.../dp/B007UIX1ME
oldsmoboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:44 AM   #6
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,960
Default

That looks nice, never seen it before. It's pretty big though, almost like a mid tower case turned on its side.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:55 AM   #7
oldsmoboat
Elite Member
 
oldsmoboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Kaliforniastan
Posts: 46,763
Default

I have the room in my entertainment center and I didn't want to deal with a cramped case.
This pc is hooked to my plasma tv and I game on it, watch netflix and blu rays, post on AT...
oldsmoboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.