Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2012, 08:46 AM   #1
Steeda
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Default Asus Sabertooth Z77, rear USB 3.0 not working

I've read several threads about people's front USB 3.0 ports not working, however my problem is the exact opposite. Anything I plug in the front (using a Fractal Design Define XL) works great, however I can't get my Razer Naga, keyboard, gaming headset, anything to work in the rear USB 3.0's. I just got done downloading the latest Intel USB 3.0 drivers, I'm not sure where else to go from here.
Steeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 10:11 AM   #2
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

two of the rear are Intel 3.0 two are ASM 3.0
front two are Intel
4 Intel USB 3 on Z77 Southbridge
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?

bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 10:44 AM   #3
icy1007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Asus says that you can only use storage devices in the USB 3.0 slots on the back.
icy1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 02:01 PM   #4
BonzaiDuck
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7,217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icy1007 View Post
Asus says that you can only use storage devices in the USB 3.0 slots on the back.
Pardon . . . but maybe I'm naive. What do all or most of those devices gain for use of USB 3.0 ports? Wouldn't USB 2.0 be perfectly sufficient? I have the Z68, and it has both port specs in about equal number.

For only a quick read of the Z77 specs many months ago, I wouldn't know if both types of ports are included. Or why wouldn't a USB 2 device work on the 3 port-spec?
BonzaiDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 04:22 PM   #5
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icy1007 View Post
Asus says that you can only use storage devices in the USB 3.0 slots on the back.
UNIVERSAL serial bus. Apparently Asus didn't get the memo, if the above turns out to be true.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 10:12 AM   #6
nature1ders
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bolingbrook, IL USA
Posts: 58
Default

Defective motherboard, RMA
nature1ders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:01 AM   #7
MontyAC
Diamond Member
 
MontyAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,051
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nature1ders View Post
Defective motherboard, RMA
I agree. Time to do an RMA.
MontyAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 12:47 PM   #8
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,330
Default

Have you installed the drivers for the Asmedia ports? Is device manager saying you have anything not installed? Is the Asmedia controller enabled in the BIOS? I believe it has a separate option from the Intel USB.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.