Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2012, 06:40 PM   #26
KentState
Diamond Member
 
KentState's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5,286
Default

The few times that D*TV stopped working we just caught up on recorded shows. It only seems to affect the HD channels so it's not like we are completely out.
KentState is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:51 AM   #27
Pr0d1gy
Diamond Member
 
Pr0d1gy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Where I want.
Posts: 7,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KentState View Post
The few times that D*TV stopped working we just caught up on recorded shows. It only seems to affect the HD channels so it's not like we are completely out.
Mine has gone out maybe 2 or 3 times in 18 months and it has been raining here this summer like I'm in Seattle. Unfortunately, some people still think it is 1985, but I've not been bothered at all even the couple of times we did lose signal. Like you, I just went into my multi-TB dvr and watched one of my hundreds of shows/movies...lol
__________________
And there comes a time when one must take a position that is neither safe, nor politic, nor popular; but one must take it because it is RIGHT. -MLK, Jr.
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=35504
Pr0d1gy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 05:40 PM   #28
BurnItDwn
Lifer
 
BurnItDwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 18,279
Default

I pretty much only watch AMC, IFC, TCM, Sundance, BBC America, and Comedy Central.

Last I heard, Dish doesn't even carry AMC any more, and they were losing IFC too.

I'll stick with my Uverse simply for AMC since I like Hell on Wheels & Breaking Bad better than anything else right now.
BurnItDwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:02 PM   #29
Don Vito Corleone
Elite
 
Don Vito Corleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 28,757
Default

Yeah, I simply could not and would not pay for a cable/dish provider that didn't give me AMC. Breaking Bad and Mad Men are the best shows of their generation, and I'm not going to miss them because Dish Network doesn't want to pay for them. Totally down to one's priorities, but this is not negotiable for me.
__________________
The best lack all conviction, while the worst are full of passionate intensity. The Second Coming, William Butler Yeats
Don Vito Corleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:33 PM   #30
Pr0d1gy
Diamond Member
 
Pr0d1gy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Where I want.
Posts: 7,426
Default

Dude, Breaking Bad is all over the internet. It really isn't worth living with an inferior service just to hang onto one good show.
__________________
And there comes a time when one must take a position that is neither safe, nor politic, nor popular; but one must take it because it is RIGHT. -MLK, Jr.
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=35504

Last edited by Pr0d1gy; 08-29-2012 at 01:57 PM.
Pr0d1gy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 01:45 PM   #31
Raswan
Senior Member
 
Raswan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackBurton View Post
Let me know how that picture looks like when it starts raining.
Pretty sure I've had it for almost a year now here in OK, where we get wicked storms, and only had it go down once. I just watched something on the DVR. So shut yer face.
__________________
GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD3 // Intel i5-760 and Hyper 212+// Sapphire Radeon 5870 @875/1200 // G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) // SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 1TB internal // Phantom Greendrive 1TB external // Antec Neo550 watt psu // Antec 902 // Logitech G500 mouse // Das Pro (typing) and Logitech G110 (gaming) keyboards // Logitech Z506 5.1 sound // ASUS 27-inch 2ms LCD

www.rangevoting.org
http://www.ecosia.org/
Raswan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:15 PM   #32
MikeL DISH
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 77
Default

IamDavid,

We love to hear that! That's awesome you're enjoying the features of the equipment so much and I hope that continues. Please let me know if you have any questions as I'd be happy to help!
MikeL DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 03:29 AM   #33
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,378
Default

My Dish would quit working just before it rained and start working about the time the rain really got going good...

Got a UHF antenna with an amp in the attic and NetFlix now...
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 10:12 AM   #34
Celeryman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeL DISH View Post
IamDavid,

We love to hear that! That's awesome you're enjoying the features of the equipment so much and I hope that continues. Please let me know if you have any questions as I'd be happy to help!
MikeL, if you work for Dish, which I assume you do, what is the best deal on the TOP 120 package right now? I have 4 TVs I would like to hook up to the service.
Celeryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 09:12 AM   #35
IamDavid
Diamond Member
 
IamDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 5,583
Default

After 4months of usage I can still say its the best service available. I haven't had one minute of outage.

If I had to gripe about anything I would say:
1- renting movies suck compared to att. We used to rent 4 or more movies a month, now maybe 1. I prefer now just to rent off my ps3 or amazon prime.

2- networked connection needs reset all the time off both of my Hoppers. No big deal but annoying.

Overall still a 9\10. Poor VOD service cost you allot of money if other people are like me.
IamDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:54 PM   #36
MikeL DISH
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 77
Default

We were very happy to have reacquired that network for our customers viewing pleasure and would love to add you as our customer! Were you ever considering giving Dish a try? Please let me know if you have any questions about the service and check us out at dish.com for some information about our pricing and promotions!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnItDwn View Post
I pretty much only watch AMC, IFC, TCM, Sundance, BBC America, and Comedy Central.

Last I heard, Dish doesn't even carry AMC any more, and they were losing IFC too.

I'll stick with my Uverse simply for AMC since I like Hell on Wheels & Breaking Bad better than anything else right now.
MikeL DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 07:24 PM   #37
MikeL DISH
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 77
Default

Since we've gotten the network restored, our customers are now able to watch their favorite shows on it! Have you had our service, or do you have it now? We'd love to have you with us, so please let me know so I can answer any questions you may have. Please feel free to check us out at dish.com for some information about our pricing and promotions! Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Vito Corleone View Post
Yeah, I simply could not and would not pay for a cable/dish provider that didn't give me AMC. Breaking Bad and Mad Men are the best shows of their generation, and I'm not going to miss them because Dish Network doesn't want to pay for them. Totally down to one's priorities, but this is not negotiable for me.
MikeL DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 07:35 PM   #38
MikeL DISH
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 77
Default

Raswan,

That's good to hear that everything's been working well for you without any significant issues. Please let me know if you have any questions about the service and enjoy!
MikeL DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 07:49 PM   #39
MikeL DISH
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 77
Default

We hated to have seen you go and I appreciate your feedback about the signal! Had we ever gotten a technician out there to take a look at it and try to fix it? Was any type of troubleshooting done? Please let me know so I can get some more details from you. Thank you very much for your efforts and I hope to hear from you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lakedude View Post
My Dish would quit working just before it rained and start working about the time the rain really got going good...

Got a UHF antenna with an amp in the attic and NetFlix now...
MikeL DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 07:59 PM   #40
MikeL DISH
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 77
Default

It would be my pleasure to assist you with that! Do you currently have our service? Our current promotional offer for that package is $24.99 per month, which you can check out some more information about at http://www.dish.com/entertainment/pa...ricas-top-120/. If you have any questions or would like to proceed in getting you set up, please let me know!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celeryman View Post
MikeL, if you work for Dish, which I assume you do, what is the best deal on the TOP 120 package right now? I have 4 TVs I would like to hook up to the service.
MikeL DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:23 PM   #41
MikeL DISH
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 77
Default

I'm very glad to hear you've been enjoying your experience here with DISH! If you have internet or a phone line hooked up to your receiver, you should be able to purchase as many VOD movies as you wish up to your credit limit on your account. I can check this for you, as well as what we can do about the issue with the connectivity of your Hopper, if you could please private message me your account number. I appreciate your efforts and look forward to hearing from you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by IamDavid View Post
After 4months of usage I can still say its the best service available. I haven't had one minute of outage.

If I had to gripe about anything I would say:
1- renting movies suck compared to att. We used to rent 4 or more movies a month, now maybe 1. I prefer now just to rent off my ps3 or amazon prime.

2- networked connection needs reset all the time off both of my Hoppers. No big deal but annoying.

Overall still a 9\10. Poor VOD service cost you allot of money if other people are like me.
MikeL DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 01:16 PM   #42
goobernoodles
Golden Member
 
goobernoodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackBurton View Post
Let me know how that picture looks like when it starts raining.
I live in Seattle and have yet to have my dish crap out due to rain. We rarely see storms here though - just constant drizzle.
__________________
Case/PSU: Fractal Design Arc Midi R2 w/ Corsair HX750
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme 4
CPU: i7-4770K w/ PH-TC14PE
RAM: Crucial Ballistix 16gb DDR3 1866
Video: EVGA GTX 780TI w/ Monoprice 27" IPS-ZERO-G 2560x1440
Drives: 2x Crucial M4 128Gb SSD in RAID-0
goobernoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 12:39 AM   #43
MtnMan
Senior Member
 
MtnMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackBurton View Post
Let me know how that picture looks like when it starts raining.
Looks fine, and we have had some very heavy rain, with heavy cloud cover, and the picture has been perfect.
__________________
"The most foolish mistake we could possibly make would be to allow the subject races to possess arms. History shows that all conquerors who have allowed their subject races to carry arms have prepared their own downfall by so doing."- Adolf Hitler
MtnMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.