Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Distributed Computing

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2012, 12:11 AM   #151
Ken g6
Elite Member
 
Ken g6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,088
Default

Well, that's stupid. What's the point of an enthusiast dual-processor system if you can't overclock it?

Anyway, I get the feeling the way to go now is GPUs. I'd guess three GTX 570s would get 150,000 PPD. And that's before they implement a quick-return bonus. Edit: Though I might be off by a factor of two somewhere.
__________________
Look for really BIG primes with TeAm AnandTech PrimeGrid!
Next race: January 3-11

Last edited by Ken g6; 12-13-2012 at 12:13 AM.
Ken g6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:46 AM   #152
PCTC2
Diamond Member
 
PCTC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
That will be 12 cores total, 24 threads, vs 24 real cores. and 2.4 vs 2.0 speed. Now I know the intel is faster per ghz, but enough to make 24 threads on 12 cores faster than 24 cores ? and with a significant speed difference ?

and my PSU is a Corsair AX850. It will have 2 GTX460's in it also, and 4 hard drives.
You'll be fine on power.

But what I was saying is that the dual Opterons WON'T really have 24 "real" cores. They only have 12 FP cores, so in Folding@Home and other distributed computing projects, Intel CPUs will perform the same, if not better (probably). Folding@Home is very Float-Point heavy.


Quote:
Originally Posted by petrusbroder View Post
Very interesting. Can those two boards really take i7-3930 (or similar) CPUs?
Only Xeons have dual QPI-links needed for dual socket operation.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken g6 View Post
Well, that's stupid. What's the point of an enthusiast dual-processor system if you can't overclock it?

Anyway, I get the feeling the way to go now is GPUs. I'd guess three GTX 570s would get 150,000 PPD. And that's before they implement a quick-return bonus. Edit: Though I might be off by a factor of two somewhere.
You can overclock dual Xeon systems now! The SuperMicro X9DAX boards support their "Hyperspeed" technology, which is their Dummy OC settings for Xeons.
__________________
-E3200,DG45FC,4GB,SSD - Q6600,GT240,eVGA 680i SLI,4GB - Q9400,8800GTS G92,EP45-UD3P,4GB
-Ci7 920,U2711,GT240,X58 FTW3,12GB,SSD - Ci7 860,HD5670,eVGA P55M,8GB,SSD
-17" MBP Ci5 - Mac Mini Server C2D - Mac Mini Server Ci7
-2x Xeon E5520,SM X8DTH-6F,24GB,ESXi5 - Xeon E3-1220,8TB RAID5,SM X9SCM-F,8GB,SSD -E3300,G43ITX,4GB,7.5TB RAID-Z+SSD
HEATWARE

Last edited by PCTC2; 12-13-2012 at 01:36 AM.
PCTC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:33 AM   #153
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZipSpeed View Post
Only Xeons have the extra QPI links to run in multi processor configurations. The 3930K is basically a consumer Xeon with a QPI link disabled thus it can't be used in 2P configs.
Yeah, you need the E526xx series processors for a dual socket LGA2011 motherboard.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux

Last edited by biodoc; 12-13-2012 at 05:36 AM.
biodoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:40 AM   #154
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCTC2 View Post

You can overclock dual Xeon systems now! The SuperMicro X9DAX boards support their "Hyperspeed" technology, which is their Dummy OC settings for Xeons.
Didn't Intel explicitly lock down SB based Xeons?

Which is pretty dumb because I would think the number of people who passed on expensive Xeons to buy cheap ones and OC them is a very, very, very small percentage of Xeon buyers.

I mean, you had one motherboard to choose from... you just called it the "SR2" and everyone in the know knew what you were talking about immediately.

TheAnimal had to clue me in!

http://forums.servethehome.com/showt...rom-Supermicro

Eh, blck OC. Nothing like the near 100% the SR2 enabled with the unlocked Xeons - think 3-5% with a lot of tuning and luck.
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM

Last edited by blckgrffn; 12-13-2012 at 09:43 AM.
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:45 AM   #155
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken g6 View Post
Well, that's stupid. What's the point of an enthusiast dual-processor system if you can't overclock it?

Anyway, I get the feeling the way to go now is GPUs. I'd guess three GTX 570s would get 150,000 PPD. And that's before they implement a quick-return bonus. Edit: Though I might be off by a factor of two somewhere.
That's the thing - its not considered enthusiast, but Enterprise.
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:18 PM   #156
ZipSpeed
Golden Member
 
ZipSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 1,151
Default

You guys are dangerous folks to hang around with. All this talk about Opterons and Xeons is making me want one. I even have a few wishlists made on Newegg!
__________________
PLAY, WORK & CRUNCH
(1) i7 3770K | 7950 (2) i7 2600K | 7870 XT (3) i7 950 | GTX 580 (4) i3 540 | GT 240
CRUNCH
(1) i5 2500K | GTX 480 (2) i7 970 | 5870 (3) Q9550 | 5850 (4) X6 1055T | 2 x GTX 460 (5) i7 3770K | 7950
ZipSpeed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:20 PM   #157
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,980
Smile Thursday's stats

Here are the stats for the 11th day of folding:

__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9
petrusbroder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:34 PM   #158
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
Well, I am kind of screwed, as I its already shipped.

Damn.
Still going to be awesome, man

Are you going to run Linux on that beast? Wasn't there something about big-adv being all linux or scoring better on Linux or some such thing?

I don't have a rig capable so I sort of tuned that out
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:10 PM   #159
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blckgrffn View Post
Still going to be awesome, man

Are you going to run Linux on that beast? Wasn't there something about big-adv being all linux or scoring better on Linux or some such thing?

I don't have a rig capable so I sort of tuned that out
well, not sure. First I am going to try the plain client, since its my new gaming box (I want to use the current HD). But it will only use 4 of the 32 gig of ram. I may then try Oracle VM. But if memory is a problem, I will probably need biodoc to get me setup on linux.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:58 PM   #160
Ken g6
Elite Member
 
Ken g6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,088
Default

The V7 client on Linux seems to be a lot easier to use than the V6 client. Unless you want to use a graphics card too. For that I fell back to the V6 cli client with Wine. (The V7 client still runs my CPU.)
__________________
Look for really BIG primes with TeAm AnandTech PrimeGrid!
Next race: January 3-11
Ken g6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:46 AM   #161
PCTC2
Diamond Member
 
PCTC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,862
Default

Hmmmm.... I have done in 11 days what took me a month 2 years ago. Peter... what happens if I have an odd number of points?

If any of you want to know the hardware I've been throwing around:

Permanent Hardware:
Quad-socket AMD Opteron 6176 (4x12 cores) with... 16GB of RAM (yes, it's pathetic).
Dual Xeon E5-2650 with 64 GB of RAM

Temporary Hardware (comes and goes over days):
Dual Xeon E5-2609/2620/2637/2640/2643 with 32GB to 256GB of RAM (over 10 systems)
Quad AMD 6272/6376 with 128GB to 512GB of RAM (more than 3 systems)
Quad Intel E5-4617 (4x6 cores) with 256GB to 768GB of RAM (3 systems)
GPU systems with between 2 and 4 GTX 690's each (4 GPU systems so far)
__________________
-E3200,DG45FC,4GB,SSD - Q6600,GT240,eVGA 680i SLI,4GB - Q9400,8800GTS G92,EP45-UD3P,4GB
-Ci7 920,U2711,GT240,X58 FTW3,12GB,SSD - Ci7 860,HD5670,eVGA P55M,8GB,SSD
-17" MBP Ci5 - Mac Mini Server C2D - Mac Mini Server Ci7
-2x Xeon E5520,SM X8DTH-6F,24GB,ESXi5 - Xeon E3-1220,8TB RAID5,SM X9SCM-F,8GB,SSD -E3300,G43ITX,4GB,7.5TB RAID-Z+SSD
HEATWARE

Last edited by PCTC2; 12-14-2012 at 12:52 AM.
PCTC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:57 AM   #162
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,980
Default

Well, that most certainly explains your success in folding ... very nice and some very nice results!
Odd number of points is split too ... and then rounded down ... I doubt very much that one point more or less matters
__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9
petrusbroder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 05:35 AM   #163
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
well, not sure. First I am going to try the plain client, since its my new gaming box (I want to use the current HD). But it will only use 4 of the 32 gig of ram. I may then try Oracle VM. But if memory is a problem, I will probably need biodoc to get me setup on linux.
I guess I would be shocked if XP even boots on this hardware but it might. As Ken_g6 mentioned, the v7 client looks the same on Ubuntu as it does on windows.

My 3930k is a dual boot system with openSUSE and windows 8. I don't see a difference in ppd. I'm running windows so my daughter can play SIMS.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:50 AM   #164
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biodoc View Post
I guess I would be shocked if XP even boots on this hardware but it might. As Ken_g6 mentioned, the v7 client looks the same on Ubuntu as it does on windows.

My 3930k is a dual boot system with openSUSE and windows 8. I don't see a difference in ppd. I'm running windows so my daughter can play SIMS.
Yeah, you need to figure out if XP is going to even see all of the cores - I think that XP pro is good for dual sockets, but I can't imagine the scheduler can handle that many threads.

When Server 2003 came out, a 24 thread box was the domain of the *nix boys, not something for lowly Windows admins to play with. Or even Novell admins
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:39 PM   #165
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blckgrffn View Post
Yeah, you need to figure out if XP is going to even see all of the cores - I think that XP pro is good for dual sockets, but I can't imagine the scheduler can handle that many threads.

When Server 2003 came out, a 24 thread box was the domain of the *nix boys, not something for lowly Windows admins to play with. Or even Novell admins
OK. XP pro 32 bit sees all the cores. doing drivers now, stay tuned
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:25 PM   #166
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,874
Default

Well, I have everything up and running under my old XP install. F@H detects 24 cores, but gives me a uniprocessor client, and its running 20% CPU. CRAP. I redid the client setup, and cleaned everything out of the F@H dir, and it still keeps giving me a uniprocessor client.

BTW at 20% util and both video cards going, its drawing 550 watts. How much more do you think it would take @100% processor ? 650 ? on an AX850 Corsair ? should be OK 24/7 ?

Below is my screen

__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8

Last edited by Markfw900; 12-14-2012 at 11:36 PM.
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:05 AM   #167
PCTC2
Diamond Member
 
PCTC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
Well, I have everything up and running under my old XP install. F@H detects 24 cores, but gives me a uniprocessor client, and its running 20% CPU. CRAP. I redid the client setup, and cleaned everything out of the F@H dir, and it still keeps giving me a uniprocessor client.

BTW at 20% util and both video cards going, its drawing 550 watts. How much more do you think it would take @100% processor ? 650 ? on an AX850 Corsair ? should be OK 24/7 ?

Below is my screen
I'd probably guess 700-750W. It'll be fine for 24/7.
__________________
-E3200,DG45FC,4GB,SSD - Q6600,GT240,eVGA 680i SLI,4GB - Q9400,8800GTS G92,EP45-UD3P,4GB
-Ci7 920,U2711,GT240,X58 FTW3,12GB,SSD - Ci7 860,HD5670,eVGA P55M,8GB,SSD
-17" MBP Ci5 - Mac Mini Server C2D - Mac Mini Server Ci7
-2x Xeon E5520,SM X8DTH-6F,24GB,ESXi5 - Xeon E3-1220,8TB RAID5,SM X9SCM-F,8GB,SSD -E3300,G43ITX,4GB,7.5TB RAID-Z+SSD
HEATWARE
PCTC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 06:21 AM   #168
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
Well, I have everything up and running under my old XP install. F@H detects 24 cores, but gives me a uniprocessor client, and its running 20% CPU. CRAP. I redid the client setup, and cleaned everything out of the F@H dir, and it still keeps giving me a uniprocessor client.
8068 is an smp WU but it looks like you only have 4 cores maxed out.

EDIT: Have you tried -smp 24 as a switch?

I've had this WU on all four of my machines:

Project ID 8068
Core: GRO-A4
Credit: 197
Frames: 100


Name: 1090T Slot 02
Path: 192.168.1.20-36330
Number of Frames Observed: 300

Min. Time / Frame : 00:01:57 - 9,622.8 PPD
Avg. Time / Frame : 00:02:05 - 8,714.0 PPD


Name: 2600K Slot 00
Path: 192.168.1.4-36330
Number of Frames Observed: 300

Min. Time / Frame : 00:01:00 - 26,203.2 PPD
Avg. Time / Frame : 00:01:01 - 25,561.5 PPD


Name: Q9550 Slot 02
Path: 192.168.1.5-36330
Number of Frames Observed: 300

Min. Time / Frame : 00:02:13 - 7,939.7 PPD
Avg. Time / Frame : 00:02:39 - 6,074.1 PPD


Name: x12 Slot 01
Path: 127.0.0.1-36330
Number of Frames Observed: 300

Min. Time / Frame : 00:00:50 - 34,445.0 PPD
Avg. Time / Frame : 00:00:54 - 30,689.5 PPD
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux

Last edited by biodoc; 12-15-2012 at 06:40 AM.
biodoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:31 PM   #169
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biodoc View Post
8068 is an smp WU but it looks like you only have 4 cores maxed out.

EDIT: Have you tried -smp 24 as a switch?

I've had this WU on all four of my machines:

Project ID 8068
Core: GRO-A4
Credit: 197
Frames: 100


Name: 1090T Slot 02
Path: 192.168.1.20-36330
Number of Frames Observed: 300

Min. Time / Frame : 00:01:57 - 9,622.8 PPD
Avg. Time / Frame : 00:02:05 - 8,714.0 PPD


Name: 2600K Slot 00
Path: 192.168.1.4-36330
Number of Frames Observed: 300

Min. Time / Frame : 00:01:00 - 26,203.2 PPD
Avg. Time / Frame : 00:01:01 - 25,561.5 PPD


Name: Q9550 Slot 02
Path: 192.168.1.5-36330
Number of Frames Observed: 300

Min. Time / Frame : 00:02:13 - 7,939.7 PPD
Avg. Time / Frame : 00:02:39 - 6,074.1 PPD


Name: x12 Slot 01
Path: 127.0.0.1-36330
Number of Frames Observed: 300

Min. Time / Frame : 00:00:50 - 34,445.0 PPD
Avg. Time / Frame : 00:00:54 - 30,689.5 PPD
I was getting like 490 ppd, so now I am trying Win XP pro 64, but it seems to lock up examining my large hard drives, 1,5 tb is the smallest.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 01:23 PM   #170
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,980
Default Saturday's stats

Yesterday I did not have the time to collect the stats - RL, you know ... .
But here are the current stats:



Here is the production plot for the whole TeAm:



Well done, TeAm-mates!
__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9
petrusbroder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 03:20 PM   #171
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
I was getting like 490 ppd, so now I am trying Win XP pro 64, but it seems to lock up examining my large hard drives, 1,5 tb is the smallest.
That's a bummer. I did a little searching and there's a lot of information for setting up 2P and 4P systems for running FAH out there.

If you want to give linux a try, here's a detailed setup guide for 2P and 4P systems.

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1601608

Thanks for the stats, Peter!
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:06 PM   #172
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,874
Default

OK, its running the v7 client,and configured for bigadv and running a 8069 unit and going 16k ppd on that. Waiting until it finishes this unit to see if it uses bidadv, but at least it using 100% cpu and has 40k ppd for the GPU clients.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:27 PM   #173
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,874
Default

OK, question, on hfm.net client 7.x I used 0.0.0.0/24 for allowed and allowed with password, and 10.0.0.0 for denied, but I still can't see the stats.

Help lease, my googleness is lacking.

Edit: setting the client to 127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24 for allowed, and adding a password worked.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8

Last edited by Markfw900; 12-15-2012 at 09:59 PM.
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 05:21 AM   #174
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
OK, its running the v7 client,and configured for bigadv and running a 8069 unit and going 16k ppd on that. Waiting until it finishes this unit to see if it uses bidadv, but at least it using 100% cpu and has 40k ppd for the GPU clients.
Do you have 4 sticks of RAM per CPU? I've read this is necessary for quad channel RAM and maximum PPD.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 08:58 AM   #175
Thump553
Diamond Member
 
Thump553's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 9,303
Default

I haven't gotten a GPU unit (nvidia) since roughly noon yesterday. Anyone else experiencing this problem? "no appropriate work server was available, will try later". My already anemic stats have plummeted even further.
Thump553 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.