Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2012, 08:27 PM   #1
Salamander
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 166
Default problems connecting wireless printer

I have a Canon MP640 printer. It has wireless capability, but I've been unable to connect it wirelessly to my Netgear WNDR4500 (N900) router. Any ideas?
Salamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 08:39 PM   #2
Smoove910
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 1,127
Default

have you installed a print driver on the PC you want to print from?
__________________
Mobo: Biostar TA880GU3+ uATX
Proc: AMD Phenom II 960T unlocked/6 cores @ 3.5ghz
Ram: (4) 4gb GSkill 1600mhz (16gb total)
HDDs: (2) 640GB WD AAKS, (1) 750GB Seagate Ext
Vid: Sapphire 6870 1gb DDR5 1000mhz core, 1100 mhz mem
Camera: Pentax K5, I'm not a Canikon fanboy.
Smoove910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:59 PM   #3
Salamander
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoove910 View Post
have you installed a print driver on the PC you want to print from?
Yes. That was the first thing I did.

I've had to hook it up via USB to my desktop in order to access it.
Salamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:22 PM   #4
Smoove910
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 1,127
Default

I have the same printer. So you will have to go into the menu and enable the wireless portion of the printer.

Device Settings > LAN settings > change wireless/wired. (set wireless as active). Then you'll go to Wireless LAN settings and choose between WPS or WCN setting. I do the WPS, then choose the push button method, or the PIN method. PIN works well for me since it's displayed by my router.

Hollar if you get hung up
__________________
Mobo: Biostar TA880GU3+ uATX
Proc: AMD Phenom II 960T unlocked/6 cores @ 3.5ghz
Ram: (4) 4gb GSkill 1600mhz (16gb total)
HDDs: (2) 640GB WD AAKS, (1) 750GB Seagate Ext
Vid: Sapphire 6870 1gb DDR5 1000mhz core, 1100 mhz mem
Camera: Pentax K5, I'm not a Canikon fanboy.
Smoove910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:51 AM   #5
Salamander
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoove910 View Post
I have the same printer. So you will have to go into the menu and enable the wireless portion of the printer.

Device Settings > LAN settings > change wireless/wired. (set wireless as active). Then you'll go to Wireless LAN settings and choose between WPS or WCN setting. I do the WPS, then choose the push button method, or the PIN method. PIN works well for me since it's displayed by my router.

Hollar if you get hung up
I couldn't get that to work. But I did get it once I figured out I had to enter the printer's IP address when I was searching for the printer.
Salamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:54 PM   #6
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salamander View Post
I couldn't get that to work. But I did get it once I figured out I had to enter the printer's IP address when I was searching for the printer.
Wireless capable Network Printers have Utility/Drivers that will look to a Wireless connection during installation.

Your mistake was connecting it to a single computer and configuring it first for USB.

It is unnecessary step that often leads to a problem as you experienced.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.