Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 04:36 PM   #1
plummer66
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 456
Default failing psu?

So i rebooted my machine yesterday to find out that i will not reboot.
-new parts about a week old (asus p8z77-v), i3570k.
-older parts 8 gigs of mushkin ram -ati 5870 vid
-antec 750 watt psu (as far as I can remember).

Machine tries to boot...but does not. Sounds like my CPU fan starts up on a regular speed and then slows down, goes up and then down. Mouse and keyboard power up....and then power off, continue to do this.

I am thinking it is PSU....but I would like anyone guesses to make sure I am going down the right path.

Thanks!
__________________
A64 3500+
MSI K8N Neo4-f
2x512 OCZ EL Gold PC4000
256mb ATI x800XL PCI-e
160gig 7200rpm 8mb Seagate
80gig 7200rpm 8mb SATA WD
EBAY
Heat
plummer66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 05:03 PM   #2
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,284
Default

Clear the CMOS and try again. Have you updated the BIOS recently?

Could be the power supply, but lets try this first. Sounds like you're stuck in a boot loop.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 04:14 PM   #3
plummer66
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 456
Default

thx dude. Good idea. I will try tonight and report back my findings. Yes it has the latest BIOS as well.
__________________
A64 3500+
MSI K8N Neo4-f
2x512 OCZ EL Gold PC4000
256mb ATI x800XL PCI-e
160gig 7200rpm 8mb Seagate
80gig 7200rpm 8mb SATA WD
EBAY
Heat
plummer66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 05:43 PM   #4
Fallengod
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: so-cal
Posts: 5,582
Default

Sounds like boot loop issue to me. That issue plagued many motherboards.
__________________
heatware
Fallengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 07:52 PM   #5
riva2model64
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallengod View Post
Sounds like boot loop issue to me. That issue plagued many motherboards.
My motherboard would have the boot loop issue when it lost power. . I went to sleep during a storm and when I woke up, the computer was still restarting! Yeah I had to unplug the computer from the wall to get it working again.

When diagnosing comp issues, it usually helps to test the computer with just one stick of ram in it (to eliminate variables).
riva2model64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:15 PM   #6
Fallengod
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: so-cal
Posts: 5,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by riva2model64 View Post
My motherboard would have the boot loop issue when it lost power. . I went to sleep during a storm and when I woke up, the computer was still restarting! Yeah I had to unplug the computer from the wall to get it working again.

When diagnosing comp issues, it usually helps to test the computer with just one stick of ram in it (to eliminate variables).
You know why that issue happens right?

It happens because motherboards have a backup bios that is older than the bios flashed. So when an issue happens, like losing power, it like trys to revert to the wrong bios which has things changed which causes it to loop over and over.

I think one of the fixes for that was updating the backup bios (if possible) to the same bios which is currently loaded.
__________________
heatware
Fallengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 04:48 AM   #7
dawp
Diamond Member
 
dawp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: here until I move again
Posts: 6,739
Default

just had a antec psu go out on me, would boot loop at first and stopped even that in short order.

opened it up and it had several bulging caps.

if possible, try another power supply.

how old is this power supply? if it's 5+ years old, it would definitely be suspect.
__________________
We Have Met The Enemy and He Is Us

ASUS p8z77 v, i7 3770k, crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB, XFX HD7970 Black Edition

Last edited by dawp; 12-14-2012 at 04:53 AM.
dawp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 01:16 PM   #8
riva2model64
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallengod View Post
You know why that issue happens right?

It happens because motherboards have a backup bios that is older than the bios flashed. So when an issue happens, like losing power, it like trys to revert to the wrong bios which has things changed which causes it to loop over and over.

I think one of the fixes for that was updating the backup bios (if possible) to the same bios which is currently loaded.
I didn't know that, but it makes sense. I have a dual-bios mobo, and I have flashed the bios twice. It completely slipped my mind to update the back-up bios.

I "fixed" the issue though, by telling the computer to remain off after a power-loss (it was on a resume state setting before).

I'm just worried that my hard-drive lost some years off its life after restarting several hundred times in a loop O_o

Last edited by riva2model64; 12-14-2012 at 01:22 PM.
riva2model64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 06:41 AM   #9
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweakboy View Post
Mines going strong since 2007.

This is why I always recommend Thermaltake PSUs. thx gl
FTFY
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.